Regarding the next version...

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Locked
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Regarding the next version...

Post by RyanVM » Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:59 pm

Like Bashrat the Sneaky, I too have final exams next week. As a result, my attentions will be completely focused on that until next Friday evening (I have one a day every day next week). As a result, there will not be an update pack release on Tuesday when the new security updates come out. The earliest I will be able to get the next version out is next weekend, probably Sunday afternoon.

EDIT: For those of you just reading this thread, please read from here down before posting in the thread.
Last edited by RyanVM on Tue Jan 17, 2006 1:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Post by DisabledTrucker » Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:17 am

That's fine, your grades are much more important than these packs. Get to it when it's convienent to you.
Here's to hoping that you pass each one. :)
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

[url=mms://wmc1.liquidviewer.net/WNOR]WNOR FM-99[/url] The best station in the world!

eddiem

Post by eddiem » Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:20 am

Good luck with the exams.
Eddie.

dsp_deep

Post by dsp_deep » Fri Dec 09, 2005 1:47 am

Good Luck for Exams!

User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:12 am

Good luck Ryan im sure you will ace them ;)

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:20 am

Hmm, I think you should pay more attention the the packs than your school, this entire community is expecting an update next wednesday.



































:lol::lol: j/k, good luck with your exams m8!

User avatar
Fencer128
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:59 am
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland

Post by Fencer128 » Fri Dec 09, 2005 6:00 am

Good luck with your exams!

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Fri Dec 09, 2005 8:18 am

I have exams too!! (Pharmacy)...

Good Luck! Packs can wait...

maa

Post by maa » Fri Dec 09, 2005 8:37 am

good luck and wish you get a best result for your school packs

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Fri Dec 09, 2005 9:10 am

Good luck with your exam's.

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Fri Dec 09, 2005 6:04 pm

in spanish its more polite to say "Te deseo exitos" = "I wish you succes", because luck has nothing to do with ones potential. besides, im sure you're gonna ace it. ;)
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Fri Dec 09, 2005 8:40 pm

ViVa wrote:Hmm, I think you should pay more attention the the packs than your school, this entire community is expecting an update next wednesday.



































:lol::lol: j/k, good luck with your exams m8!
lol! I was thinking the same thing! ;)

I find that crossing your fingers works 50% of the time. ;)

Eeney meeny miney moe... tends to work on multiple choice questions sometimes too. :D

Don't worry ryan... you'll do just fine.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Dec 09, 2005 8:45 pm

The answer is 42. :)

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:42 pm

42! wow... didn't expect ppl to know the specialty of it here...

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:46 pm

42 is the answer to life the universe and everything else, never forget that.
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:50 pm

I thought 2 was the answer to everything,

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Dec 10, 2005 12:01 am

3 = success

but what is success... :lol:

User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Post by DisabledTrucker » Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:39 am

Sucess is when you wake up and the woman laying next to you isn't your wife!!!

I wont tell in here what a failure is... ;)
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

[url=mms://wmc1.liquidviewer.net/WNOR]WNOR FM-99[/url] The best station in the world!

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Sat Dec 10, 2005 7:57 am


User avatar
thuun
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:58 pm

Post by thuun » Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:25 pm

~27 is mine.


RVM-good luck wit dem testesez.

PimpSquash

Post by PimpSquash » Wed Dec 14, 2005 4:14 pm

Good Luck Ryan :D

Alanoll
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:19 am

Re: Regarding the next version...

Post by Alanoll » Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:23 pm

RyanVM wrote:Like Bashrat the Sneaky, I too have final exams next week. As a result, my attentions will be completely focused on that until next Friday evening (I have one a day every day next week). As a result, there will not be an update pack release on Tuesday when the new security updates come out. The earliest I will be able to get the next version out is next weekend, probably Sunday afternoon.
Put me on that list as well...stupid exams...

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Regarding the next version...

Post by Siginet » Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:31 pm

Alanoll wrote:
RyanVM wrote:Like Bashrat the Sneaky, I too have final exams next week. As a result, my attentions will be completely focused on that until next Friday evening (I have one a day every day next week). As a result, there will not be an update pack release on Tuesday when the new security updates come out. The earliest I will be able to get the next version out is next weekend, probably Sunday afternoon.
Put me on that list as well...stupid exams...
LoL! Hey what do you know.... I have a bigger post count than Alanoll! ;) :D
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:39 pm

On this forum maybe :P Talk about MSFN...

Alanoll
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:19 am

Re: Regarding the next version...

Post by Alanoll » Thu Dec 15, 2005 1:07 am

Siginet wrote:
Alanoll wrote:
RyanVM wrote:Like Bashrat the Sneaky, I too have final exams next week. As a result, my attentions will be completely focused on that until next Friday evening (I have one a day every day next week). As a result, there will not be an update pack release on Tuesday when the new security updates come out. The earliest I will be able to get the next version out is next weekend, probably Sunday afternoon.
Put me on that list as well...stupid exams...
LoL! Hey what do you know.... I have a bigger post count than Alanoll! ;) :D
Yeah, shit happens when I don't have to moderate and instead of posting on here, I can just call Ryan on the phone and tell him the answer :wink:

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:29 pm

Well, the shit just hit the fan big time. Yesterday, my RAID array which stores all of my music, movies, backups, downloads, MSFN-related stuff, etc decided to spontaneously corrupt itself after rebooting. So now I get the fun job of trying (most likely in vain) to recover the data from the array this weekend instead of getting other work done. This fucking sucks :(
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Post by DisabledTrucker » Thu Dec 15, 2005 5:38 pm

:oops: I hear you there, were you not using a Raid 1 or Raid 5 setup?

I feel for you, I thought I had the same problem but come to find out it was my cables going bad so I replaced it and everything is just fine now... :D

The drive I almost had go had all my backups on it as well as my working files and all my pictures, the music/movies I have on seperate Raid 1 drives just for that problem...


If your cables aren't the problem you can try and use the Support Tool "DiskProbe" to try and restore it with, not sure if it will have any sucess though or not...
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

[url=mms://wmc1.liquidviewer.net/WNOR]WNOR FM-99[/url] The best station in the world!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Dec 15, 2005 8:42 pm

It's a RAID10 array. I restarted my computer and now the RAID controller says it's an invalid drive array. Computer sees the drives just fine, which makes me think the metadata got fucked up or something. I haven't completely lost hope for my data, but I'm not optimistic either.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Post by DisabledTrucker » Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:17 pm

If they're Western Digital Drives you can download their utility for Windows and test them from there... that should inform you of exactly what the problem is and not mess up any data on it... though it is possible that it could I've used it before to test my drives without any problems... Other companies have a disk utility too, but they usually all run from DOS...

It's the Diag software you need, you'll have to go to wdc.com/support and get it from the list... It's near the bottom of the list...
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

[url=mms://wmc1.liquidviewer.net/WNOR]WNOR FM-99[/url] The best station in the world!

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:29 pm

I think you might want Runtime Software's "Raid Reconstructor". It can usually recover a corrupted raid array ......... YMMV.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:31 am

Ryan, after using (successfully) Raid Reconstructor, have a look at the Linux NAS distro at nas.darma.com. I've got 4x 1 TB home-built raid arrays that cost me an average of $700 each using new 2U cases, mobos, and drives. The core filesystem at Darma is the SGI journaled FS. Very nice in terms of performance on cheap hardware and also in terms of recoverability. Nary a problem yet (after 3 years of 24x7 use). Sure, the next 2 years could get interesting as the drives (all Seagates & Hitachis) get close to 5 years old, but I'm encouraged by past experience with the stuff.

Oh, and it looks as though the going price for 200 Gb (7200 RPM, 8 Mb cache) Seagate and Hitachi drives is around $100 at a load of on-line sellers.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Dec 16, 2005 7:12 pm

RAID Reconstructor doesn't support RAID10 arrays.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Fri Dec 16, 2005 7:18 pm

RyanVM wrote:RAID Reconstructor doesn't support RAID10 arrays.
YMDV

hajj_3
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:09 pm

Post by hajj_3 » Fri Dec 16, 2005 9:59 pm

please bring out a new version soon ryan, just got a laptop, need to nlite it, want a nice new pack for it.

Alanoll
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:19 am

Post by Alanoll » Fri Dec 16, 2005 10:15 pm

hajj_3 wrote:please bring out a new version soon ryan, just got a laptop, need to nlite it, want a nice new pack for it.
You seriously don't read do you?

hajj_3
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:09 pm

Post by hajj_3 » Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:50 am

i do read, he said sat or sun prob.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sat Dec 17, 2005 6:10 am

then wait.....

Noxious Ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 6:10 pm

Post by Noxious Ninja » Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:18 pm

hajj_3 wrote:i do read, he said sat or sun prob.
He also said he's having system issues and it probably won't be this weekend. Just use 2.0.1, there's only a few new updates.

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sat Dec 17, 2005 6:39 pm

Thats right guys its no life or death issue, when Ryan sorts his machine he will surely post it then & who cares how long it takes as its always reliable.

Cya

MC.
The Man from Aus

tbone2
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:04 am
Contact:

Post by tbone2 » Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:41 am

OMG the world is slowing down.....how can I live with out the new pack.....RyanVM take your time SIR ...matter of fact take the month off :)

Acheron
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:05 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Acheron » Sun Dec 18, 2005 3:59 am

Ryan, can you please focus on your update pack. You don't need those big RAID Capacities anyway.

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:29 am

hp38guser wrote:Ryan, can you please focus on your update pack. You don't need those big RAID Capacities anyway.
Hey its christmas everyone likes Toys & Gadgets.
The Man from Aus

User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Post by DisabledTrucker » Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:00 am

Though I'm not familiar with raid 10 arrays, I'd assume that they have some redundancy built in? Or are you talking about 1+0 arrays? IF they have redundancy built in, when you find the faulty drive or controller, it should be rather easy to have them recognize the data and recover it again once you can replace them. Have yourself a Merry Christmas though and worry about the pack afterwards... ;)
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

[url=mms://wmc1.liquidviewer.net/WNOR]WNOR FM-99[/url] The best station in the world!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Dec 18, 2005 8:34 am

hp38guser wrote:Ryan, can you please focus on your update pack. You don't need those big RAID Capacities anyway.
:heart:

Mavericc
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 4:31 am

Post by Mavericc » Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:02 pm

Oh, man... I have my system disk mirrored and this is exactly what happened once when WinXP got screwed and I had to just switch the power off. RAID controller said "invalid RAID array" or something along those lines and I couldn't boot anymore.

But since it was RAID1, it was easy to recover - thank god. I just deleted the array which left the disks blank (partition tables empty) and then used TestDisk to recreate the partition table on the source disk. After that I recreated the RAID1 array.

Dunno if you can do that in your case, though, I'm not familiar with RAID10.
Idiots try to maintain order - A genius can control chaos

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:29 am

Software-driven raid, that is when the RAID controller is driven by the main cpu and under control of a general purpose OS, is pretty dangerous.

Far better to use a RAID controller with it's own firmware and CPU.

A 'poor mans' way around this is to make frequent copies of your primary disk storage to a standby disk, preferably one on the LAN instead of being co-lo'd in the system case.

You can write a VB script to take care of the copies or use something like the KarenWare Replicator that is available as an addon pack.

300Gb SATA drives can be had for about $125 these days. Check via pricewatch.com.

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:41 am

All very interesting shit, but ya always can't have too many backup sources Huh.

Merry Christmas to one & all.

MC.
The Man from Aus

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Mon Dec 19, 2005 8:37 am

RAID failure sucks....
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Dec 19, 2005 9:36 am

There's RAID0 recovery tools (which I might be able to use if I managed to correctly pick two striped drives from the array and not two mirrored drives), but all of those only increase the likelihood of making the data irrecoverable. I'm going to call a few other places today that appear to do data recovery for a more reasonable price. If I can find a place that'll do it for a few hundred bucks, I'll probably just bite the bullet and do that.

In the future, I'm going to change my backup strategy. Instead of 4 drives in a RAID10 array, I'm going to make two RAID0 arrays. One of those arrays will resume the role the RAID10 array played in the past. The other will be a backup array, where I'll have backup software doing copies every night from one array to the other. Secondly, I'm going to be getting an external hard drive to which I can do weekly or biweekly backups as well. Sadly, I was always planning on getting an external drive for backups (for situations exactly like this one), but I just didn't have the funds to do it yet :(.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Mon Dec 19, 2005 10:46 am

Ryan, the last two 1 Tb disk arrays I built cost me under $700 each using new components.

2U case, 300 watt PC, mobo, cpu, ram, and 5x 250 Gb drives.

I've got 4 of these arrays running at home now supporting the freelance photo business. I just picked up a used IBM optical jukebox with 2x DVD-+- drives for $1k from ebay. Once I get the optical jukebox running I'll probably retire at least one of the 1Tb arrays.

Locked