RyanVM Update Pack 1.0.4 - Released December 15, 2004

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jan 04, 2005 11:27 pm

Either should work. If you want, I can send you a batch file I use to merge driver.cab and sp2.cab and remove the duplicate files that exist in both driver.cab and the i386 directory.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Roy
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:07 pm

Post by Roy » Wed Jan 05, 2005 12:33 am

RyanVM wrote:Either should work. If you want, I can send you a batch file I use to merge driver.cab and sp2.cab and remove the duplicate files that exist in both driver.cab and the i386 directory.
I would really appreciate that.

itsme_4ucz
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:12 pm

Post by itsme_4ucz » Wed Jan 05, 2005 12:57 am

Hi
ryanVM
I figured it out mistake which i was doin .
Yet another one on ur side is that KB884020 needs to be reinstalled.
thx

Paparazzi
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 2:19 am

Post by Paparazzi » Wed Jan 05, 2005 2:36 am

Hi,
Went through the posts here but did not see this. Sorry if its asked before, but if I download the full pack and then delete some files from the cab, will I still be able to use it with nLite without unpacking it?

Basically, I'd like to remove
Microsoft Calculator Plus 1.0 (Replaces calc.exe) 5.1.2600.2180
Sysinternals PsShutdown 2.4.0.0 (Replaces shutdown.exe) 5.1.2600.2180

Hacked sfc_os.dll (As it is taken care of in nLite)
Hacked uxtheme.dll (As it is taken care of in nLite)
ModifyPE

What are these for???
Microsoft Cabarc 1.00.0601 (From CAB SDK)
Qfecheck 5.0.2195.4605
CMDOW 1.4.2.0

Will apprecaite help!
Cheers

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 05, 2005 8:39 am

Paparazzi wrote:Hi,
Went through the posts here but did not see this. Sorry if its asked before, but if I download the full pack and then delete some files from the cab, will I still be able to use it with nLite without unpacking it?
You'll have to unpack the cab archive and repack it.
Basically, I'd like to remove
Microsoft Calculator Plus 1.0 (Replaces calc.exe) 5.1.2600.2180
Not really sure why, since the UI is exactly the same but with extra functionality.
Sysinternals PsShutdown 2.4.0.0 (Replaces shutdown.exe) 5.1.2600.2180
Don't waste your time, it'll be seperate from shutdown.exe with the next release anyway.
Hacked sfc_os.dll (As it is taken care of in nLite)
Hacked uxtheme.dll (As it is taken care of in nLite)
Don't waste your time, nLite ignores the hacked files.
ModifyPE
The file size is 8KB uncompressed, it's not going to kill you.
What are these for???
Microsoft Cabarc 1.00.0601 (From CAB SDK)
CAB Compression
Qfecheck 5.0.2195.4605
Verify that hotfixes are properly installed.
CMDOW 1.4.2.0
Used mainly for hiding command windows. (EDIT: Forgot it was still in the full pack)
Last edited by RyanVM on Wed Jan 05, 2005 8:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Roy
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:07 pm

Post by Roy » Wed Jan 05, 2005 8:42 am

Paparazzi wrote: What are these for???
Microsoft Cabarc 1.00.0601 (From CAB SDK)
Qfecheck 5.0.2195.4605
CMDOW 1.4.2.0
Microsoft Cabarc : CABARC is a compression/archiving program distributed with Microsoft's SDK.

Qfecheck: Used to check if the hotfixes are correctly installed in your computer.

CMDOW: Used to hide the cmd windows from the screen.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 05, 2005 8:48 am

itsme_4ucz wrote:Yet another one on ur side is that KB884020 needs to be reinstalled.
And your evidence that it's on "my end" would be what? Because what I see on every system I install it on is:
Image

That would certainly seem to suggest that things are just fine on "my end". :rolleyes:. Now, would you like us to work together at figuring out why you're having problems on your end?

EDIT: Did you integrate it with nLite? If yes, did you change the maximum number of connections value? Because guess what, that change hacks tcpip.sys, meaning it would have a different checksum. And guess what, qfecheck will report a hotfix as not installed properly if the checksum doesn't match up.

tbone2
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:04 am
Contact:

Post by tbone2 » Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:42 am

Ryan,

its your update...thats why so many of us use it ;)

just K

worked great for me never have had a problem. (yet) ther's always a frist time.


Thanks for all the work you have done.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 05, 2005 12:06 pm

Glad to hear things are working well for you.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Roy
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:07 pm

Post by Roy » Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:55 pm

Ryan, thankyou very much for your help. With the batch file you sent me I managed to merge driver.cab and sp2.cab and after installing everything is OK now.
Last edited by Roy on Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

itsme_4ucz
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:12 pm

Post by itsme_4ucz » Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:56 pm

Hi ryanvm

(If yes, did you change the maximum number of connections value? Because guess what, that change hacks tcpip.sys)

i did modified the tcpip.dl_ to unlimited one bcos i use emule .thsi helps me in gettin good speed in downlloadin.

thk u.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jan 06, 2005 12:51 am

If you don't want QFECheck to complain about KB884020, you can use modifype to get the new file's checksum and change the registry entry accordingly.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

itsme_4ucz
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:12 pm

Post by itsme_4ucz » Thu Jan 06, 2005 12:18 pm

how do i do it ? silly question.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jan 06, 2005 3:44 pm

modifype tcpip.sys -c -v

Write down the checksum value it reports (you don't need the zeroes at the beginning). Next, open up regedit and go to HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB884020\Filelist\0 and change the "BuildCheckSum" entry to match what you wrote down.

itsme_4ucz
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:12 pm

Post by itsme_4ucz » Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:20 am

Thankyou.

I can no longer right click and 'Open' or 'Explore' any of the start menu program folders. I try to do it and nothing happens. can u help me in this matter too RyanVM.

once again thankyou.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jan 07, 2005 10:19 am

No, I can't help you because you broke your install. That has nothing to do with my pack.

(seriously, do people think I don't test this stuff at all?)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

itsme_4ucz
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:12 pm

Post by itsme_4ucz » Sat Jan 08, 2005 7:44 am

Hi
again here

I ve just built, a new ISO with nlite and ryanvm 1.4(without reg Tweaks) and the problem is still there...i tested the source without Ryanvm and (without reg Tweaks) the problem does not appear.

Ryanvm Try again.
thku
Last edited by itsme_4ucz on Sat Jan 08, 2005 9:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:58 am

ryan i can confirm tthere is a proble with your pack

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?sho ... ntry247825

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Jan 08, 2005 12:02 pm

Well, others have already posted directions in this very forum on how to unregister DLLs. If you think something I did is suspect, try removing those parts and see what happens.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Jan 08, 2005 12:08 pm

OK, I see the problem. It's being caused by WhoLockMe. It'll be out next release.

EDIT: New release should be out next Tuesday, for the record (Mcirosoft patch day).
EDIT2: To fix the problem for now, open up a command prompt and run the following command:

Code: Select all

regsvr32 /u WhoLockMe.dll

larciel
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:14 am

Post by larciel » Sun Jan 09, 2005 5:38 am

my qfecheck says KB883523 needs to be reinstalled.

anyone get same?[/img]

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jan 09, 2005 1:18 pm

Could maybe give a bit more info? What version of the pack? How integrated?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

larciel
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:14 am

Post by larciel » Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:12 pm

ver 1.04 full by nlite

User avatar
Roy
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:07 pm

Post by Roy » Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:21 pm

@larciel:
Could you please verify the version of imapi.sys located inside windows\system32\drivers directory? I was having the same problem with KB883523 and it was due to an incorrect version of that file.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:35 pm

I'm betting it was copied from sp2.cab instead of i386.

@larciel - try combining the driver cabs and removing duplicate files and let me know if that fixes the problem.

larciel
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:14 am

Post by larciel » Mon Jan 10, 2005 4:36 am

it's ver 5.1.2600.2180

will play w/ nlite about the .cab and deleting duplicate

User avatar
Roy
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:07 pm

Post by Roy » Mon Jan 10, 2005 8:05 pm

@larciel:

If you need help with that I've a batch file (supplied by Ryan) that merges sp2.cab and drivers.cab and then removes the duplicates files that can solve your problem. Your having exactly the same issue as I had.
Please let me know if you need the batch so I can email it to you or ask Ryan for it.

larciel
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:14 am

Post by larciel » Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:58 am

sure thing :)

renoal@hotmail.com

thanks

Locked