RyanVM Update Pack 2.0.3 - Released February 19, 2006

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:51 pm

The addon I posted takes care of that for you ;)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Tue Feb 21, 2006 8:08 pm

thanx ryan...........but you releases becomes so frequent and planty of bugs in there, I think you rather slow down a bit and expose your release to beta tester before the public release,

we need a solid reliable packs not fast (recent) packs like what K-lite Mega Codec team do! every 6 hours a new release of 32 mbs!

plz it's just a suggestion to make you better coz I've bin a very old fan of yours and I don't want to drift into the mainstream

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Feb 21, 2006 8:45 pm

err...once a month is too fast?

And all my packs do get beta testing by a select group of people. Unfortunately, we all missed the severity of the msi bug. However, I'd hardly call it a showstopper either way.

And if you're referring to your other thread, it's a known issue with nLite. It has nothing to do with my pack. For future reference, follow the guidelines given here before reporting problems with the pack when you're using nLite also.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
digital777
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 10:56 am
Location: Chicago

Post by digital777 » Tue Feb 21, 2006 9:43 pm

[RyanVM]

Thanks for looking into this issue very closely and coming up w/ the problem and cause. Regarding beta testing and others NOT BEING APPRECIATIVE of your freely distriputed packs,
it is so minimal, and probably easily overlooked as your requests probably outway your time to develop new packs as soon as their initial release and the out pouring of requests from users.

If you ever want to add a extra beta tester to your team feel free to add my username and e-mail address as you have access to it. I work on this stuff all the time, and notice the most minimal fluctations, differences, or tweaks that go overlooked or un-noticed by software companies and the ever so hard working consultants (I won't dig in to some of them). I like to integrate the most stable release(s) and make others aware of ab-normalities in packs or products that devs. take their own time to develop and maintain. I like to report issues that will help the public or other techs as I would rather see systems being loaded properly rather than people holding back and bombarding others with problems down the line.

RyanVM let me ask you if I shoud wait until a update of this pack is released or check into a patching method as you indicated earlier in the post. I have not patched one of your update packs to date so please let me know which option I should take as I would ike to implement your update pack asap. If it is the patching method, please point me in the proper direction. Or if I should wait, please advise. Thanks, and look forward to the follow up. Appreciate all being such kind and kool forum members to a recently added user.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:03 pm

Regarding beta testing (and this goes out as a general rule to anybody who's interested): Don't ask me, I'll ask you ;)

To "patch" it, all you have to do is download the addon linked in the post where I explain the problem and add it at the same time you integrate the pack. There's a field specifically for addons. Just include it there and the integrator will take care of the rest.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
digital777
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 10:56 am
Location: Chicago

Post by digital777 » Tue Feb 21, 2006 11:29 pm

[RyanVM]

Regarding your beta testing, I hear ya".

Regarding to "patch" it let me ask if this method is supported by your RVM Integrator only? Or can I use the latest version of Nlite to patch as well?

Also should I wait until your latest update pack gets updated by you with this patch, as it's not an extreme rush, but I would like to receive the full pack. Thanks in advance and let me know, I appreciate it.

TJHart85
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:15 pm

Post by TJHart85 » Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:47 am

For the patch, you can use nLite.

As far as waiting for the "official" update to the pack (ryan includes patch in official update pack), don't wait. The latest and greatest update pack is over 50 megs. In order for him to release a new version, we'd all have to download ANOTHER 50 meg file. That would totally KILL Ryan's bandwidth if he keeps it up.

This is where the update pack comes in handy, he can release an update of only a few Kb and the pack is effectively updated without making us all download a huge pack again.

The addon packs also are nice for those of us that replace files in our i386 directory, or wish to have programs/files integrated directly into the XP disc without using the OEM file structure.

Hope this helps and explains everything correctly :D
Numbers written on restaurant bills within the confines of restaurants do not follow the same mathematical laws as numbers written on any other pieces of paper in any other parts of the Universe.
--Douglas Adams

cybpsych
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:33 am

Post by cybpsych » Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:52 am

IMO, as a general rule of thumb, any packs (updates & addon) created by the authors here should use Siginet's RyanVM Integrator.

perferably, nLite should be used *after* any integration occurs by the RyanVM Integrator.

Same goes to Bashrat's Driverpacks; always integrate the DPs *after* Ryan's Integrator.

This way, RyanVM Integrator's procedures does't messed up nLite's and vice versa; and would also reduce lots of mishaps & mistakes.

Yuki
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:44 am

Post by Yuki » Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:53 am

Have 2 problems with 2.0.3:

1) qfecheck says:
[q]KB319740: This hotfix should be reinstalled[/q]

2) in system32 have DtcInstall.log:

[q]DtcInstall.log
02-21-2006 18:16 : DTC Install error = -2147024894, RegOpenKeyExW call failed, d:\qxp_slp\com\com1x\dtc\dtc\adme\uiname.cpp (5432)

Q307419.log
Service Pack started with following command line: /u /q /z
***

The version of Windows you have installed does not match the update you are trying to install.
***[/q]

Yuki
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:44 am

Post by Yuki » Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:57 am

sorry, list lines
Q307419.log
Service Pack started with following command line: /u /q /z
***

The version of Windows you have installed does not match the update you are trying to install.
is my error, i cant' edit message...

User avatar
Fencer128
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:59 am
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland

Post by Fencer128 » Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:33 am

Hi Ryan,

Just a quick question - when you revert the msi.dll version in the next pack update, will you be completely removing KB900730?

I ask because KB900730 uses msi.dll v3.1.4000.2457.

If you revert from v2510 to v2435 that will cause QFECheck to complain (as I've seen on my system using the current workaround add-on) for KB900730.

Please let me know what you think.

Thanks again,

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:22 pm

Yuki wrote:Have 2 problems with 2.0.3:

1) qfecheck says:
[q]KB319740: This hotfix should be reinstalled[/q]
Read the FAQ. It's because you patched uxtheme.dll.
2) in system32 have DtcInstall.log:

[q]DtcInstall.log
02-21-2006 18:16 : DTC Install error = -2147024894, RegOpenKeyExW call failed, d:\qxp_slp\com\com1x\dtc\dtc\adme\uiname.cpp (5432)

Q307419.log
Service Pack started with following command line: /u /q /z
***

The version of Windows you have installed does not match the update you are trying to install.
***[/q]
Err, that's got nothing to do with me.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:25 pm

Fencer128 wrote:Hi Ryan,

Just a quick question - when you revert the msi.dll version in the next pack update, will you be completely removing KB900730?
Yes
If you revert from v2510 to v2435 that will cause QFECheck to complain (as I've seen on my system using the current workaround add-on) for KB900730.
1.) v2457 is what's included in 2.0.3. v2510 was posted in the first workaround attempt.
2.) The (working) posted workaround just includes build 2435 of msi.dll and removes KB900730 from svcpack.inf and the svcpack directory. It doesn't include an updated RVMUpPck.inf without KB900730 entries. I suppose I could do that, but I was in a bit of a rush when I made it :P. Maybe I'll do that tonight when I get home if I think of it.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Wed Feb 22, 2006 2:00 pm

Well spotted Fencer.

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:24 am

Security Update for Windows XP (KB913446)
The update above still detected not installed on my pc... at windows update site
Thanks for the latest update Ryan =)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Feb 23, 2006 4:12 pm

cyberloner wrote:Security Update for Windows XP (KB913446)
The update above still detected not installed on my pc... at windows update site
Thanks for the latest update Ryan =)
KB913446 is an update to tcpip.sys (which you can find out from the KB article). Are you patching tcpip.sys? If so, that's probably your problem ;)

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Thu Feb 23, 2006 4:26 pm

Still doing the dirty work, e' Ryan?
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Feb 23, 2006 4:51 pm

As much as I try to avoid it, yes :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Smith76
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 2:20 am

Post by Smith76 » Fri Feb 24, 2006 2:37 am

I have use fixed :
http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/files/RVMAddonsMSIDLLOld.cab (805KB)

and integrate it with integ 1.1 and do win instal test.

But during win instalation when winxp copying files i get mesage that
msi.dll cant be copyed (abort skip ...) so I skip it and instalation go on.

so where is the problem?

best regards

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Fri Feb 24, 2006 6:31 am

you may have a corrupted download please try redownloading the file and reintegrating it.
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Fri Feb 24, 2006 8:54 am

RyanVM wrote:
cyberloner wrote:Security Update for Windows XP (KB913446)
The update above still detected not installed on my pc... at windows update site
Thanks for the latest update Ryan =)
KB913446 is an update to tcpip.sys (which you can find out from the KB article). Are you patching tcpip.sys? If so, that's probably your problem ;)
LOL.. u catch me man... Thanks for the explaination...

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Feb 24, 2006 10:48 am

Smith76 wrote:I have use fixed :
http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/files/RVMAddonsMSIDLLOld.cab (805KB)

and integrate it with integ 1.1 and do win instal test.

But during win instalation when winxp copying files i get mesage that
msi.dll cant be copyed (abort skip ...) so I skip it and instalation go on.

so where is the problem?

best regards
Do the MD5s check out?

Gurujuge
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:04 pm

Post by Gurujuge » Fri Feb 24, 2006 12:04 pm

I just did a test install to VMware Workstation (v4.5.2) and there seems to be some problem with Windows Installer. MSIEXEC.EXE crashes consistently on VMware Tools installation, right after choosing Typical setup and pressing Next. The exception code is 0xc0000005. MSI.DLL is build 2435.

Maybe worth looking into..?

Anyways, I will try to test other Windows Installer packages, and without the old MSI.DLL addon.

edit: Tested, works without the old MSI.DLL addon..
Last edited by Gurujuge on Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ehabfg
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 8:14 pm

regional sitting not adjustable with winnt.sif

Post by ehabfg » Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:27 pm

regional sitting not adjustable with winnt.sif in 2.0.3&2.0.2

i can not istall right to left support

and asian langauges

but was adjustable in pack 2.0.1

any resolution for this ?????

User avatar
digital777
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 10:56 am
Location: Chicago

Post by digital777 » Fri Feb 24, 2006 2:04 pm

[Gurujuge]
I just did a test install to VMware Workstation (v4.5.2) and there seems to be some problem with Windows Installer. MSIEXEC.EXE crashes consistently on VMware Tools installation, right after choosing Typical setup and pressing Next. The exception code is 0xc0000005. MSI.DLL is build 2435.

Maybe worth looking into..?

Anyways, I will try to test other Windows Installer packages, and without the old MSI.DLL addon.

edit: Tested, works without the old MSI.DLL addon..
*Look at the full thread starting from page 1. You may collide into something while reading.

Gurujuge
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:04 pm

Post by Gurujuge » Fri Feb 24, 2006 2:27 pm

digital777 wrote: *Look at the full thread starting from page 1. You may collide into something while reading.
Um, could you be more specific? I thought the old MSI.DLL addon was supposed to be a fix, not create a problem..

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: regional sitting not adjustable with winnt.sif

Post by RyanVM » Fri Feb 24, 2006 4:55 pm

ehabfg wrote:regional sitting not adjustable with winnt.sif in 2.0.3&2.0.2

i can not istall right to left support

and asian langauges

but was adjustable in pack 2.0.1

any resolution for this ?????
You're using nLite, aren't you.

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:00 pm

2.) The (working) posted workaround just includes build 2435 of msi.dll and removes KB900730 from svcpack.inf and the svcpack directory. It doesn't include an updated RVMUpPck.inf without KB900730 entries. I suppose I could do that, but I was in a bit of a rush when I made it Razz. Maybe I'll do that tonight when I get home if I think of it.
Ryan, have you done what you said ? :)
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Feb 25, 2006 2:07 pm

xpmaniac4ever wrote:
2.) The (working) posted workaround just includes build 2435 of msi.dll and removes KB900730 from svcpack.inf and the svcpack directory. It doesn't include an updated RVMUpPck.inf without KB900730 entries. I suppose I could do that, but I was in a bit of a rush when I made it Razz. Maybe I'll do that tonight when I get home if I think of it.
Ryan, have you done what you said ? :)
Done.

http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/files/RVMAdd ... ld_1.1.cab (827KB)
MD5: 8135F9F916C8D106BE3D5937C339A49D

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:48 am

Thanks.
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

Gurujuge
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:04 pm

Post by Gurujuge » Sun Feb 26, 2006 8:21 am

Gurujuge wrote:I just did a test install to VMware Workstation (v4.5.2) and there seems to be some problem with Windows Installer. MSIEXEC.EXE crashes consistently on VMware Tools installation
Same problem with the updated old MSI.DLL addon.

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:23 am

OMG ! Ryan ?
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:00 am

*sigh*, can anybody else confirm it, or do I need to install VMWare and try it myself?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:27 am

The only thing that I can say is that it works properly with VMware 5 after your fix. Before the fix, it exhibited the disappearing window and silent reboot as you reported with Virtual PC.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:50 am

I don't even have VMWare 4.5.2 to test with. All I've got is 5.5.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:53 am

Using your addon to fix the msi file works just fine in VMware 5.5.

EDIT: Works just fine for me on a live machine as well.
Last edited by RogueSpear on Sun Feb 26, 2006 5:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
av8tor_64D
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:57 pm

Post by av8tor_64D » Sun Feb 26, 2006 5:29 pm

techtype wrote:The only thing that I can say is that it works properly with VMware 5 after your fix. Before the fix, it exhibited the disappearing window and silent reboot as you reported with Virtual PC.

Sorry to say, I saw the disappearing window during install using VMWare 5.5 and a full install to my laptop with and without the patch

:(


Doesn't mean I don't love your stuff Ryan.......Thanks for all the hard work

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Feb 26, 2006 6:23 pm

av8tor_64D wrote:Sorry to say, I saw the disappearing window during install using VMWare 5.5 and a full install to my laptop with and without the patch
You're starting with a clean source? And v1.1 of the patch?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:18 pm

I just did a test install in VMWare 5.5 and the tools installed just fine with no disappearing windows.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
av8tor_64D
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:57 pm

Post by av8tor_64D » Sun Feb 26, 2006 8:37 pm

yeah I did a clean install, I don't know, maybe its another addon interfering with it

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:55 am

I have two new problems after "RyanVM Update Pack 2.0.3 plus Fix for MSI 'RVMAddonsMSIDLLOld.cab' <-- not version 1.1".

Problem 1:
Upon trying to install some kids program for my son, 'Reader Rabbit Kindergaten by a company called The Learning Company'. As soon as I insert the CD to setup the program it instead runs the uninstall for 'Power Builder' which I already have installed on my computer. Also a Windows File Protection message pops up saying that Files required by Windows have been replaced by unrecognized versions etc... and to insert the original Windows CD.

Problem 2:
Upon inserting a CD called 'Early Learning Series Begining Sounds: Phonics by a company called Brighter Child', when I click on 'Run Muppets' an error message pops up "Director Player 5.0 : This program requires atleast 3 mb of free virtual memory to run.' considering that I have 1 GB of physical ram and 1535 MB of virtual memory I don't understand why I am having this problem.

Before 'Update Pack 2.0.3' I had neither of the two above problems and the only thing that has changed in my system from before is that earlier I had only 512mb of physical Ram which I have increased to 1GB now.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:00 am

  1. I'm not familiar with the installations of Reader Rabbit or Power Builder so I can't advise. MSIDLLOld v1.1 should solve the Windows File Protection issue. I removed references to KB900730 in Ryan's INF before 1.1 was released and SFC works flawlessly and detects no mismatched file versions.
  2. Check this page concerning Director Player. It suggests changing your Virtual Memory size.
Have you used previous versions of the Update Pack?

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Mon Feb 27, 2006 8:57 am

5eraph wrote:
  1. I'm not familiar with the installations of Reader Rabbit or Power Builder so I can't advise. MSIDLLOld v1.1 should solve the Windows File Protection issue. I removed references to KB900730 in Ryan's INF before 1.1 was released and SFC works flawlessly and detects no mismatched file versions.
  2. Check this page concerning Director Player. It suggests changing your Virtual Memory size.
Have you used previous versions of the Update Pack?
Thanks for the link to the 'Director Player' problem resolution. It solved the problem and thus it is clear now that my increasing the physical RAM to 1GB caused the problem with 'Director Player', sheesh what an outdated & stupid software.

I will try 'MSIDLLOld v1.1' and see how that goes. Now that you mention it, it probably will resolve the 'Windows File Protection' issue.

That would leave only the issue of the uninstall starting up for Power Builder upon inserting the Reader Rabbit CD.

Anyhow let me first try 'MSIDLLOld v1.1' and then take it from there.

PS: Yes, I have used previous versions of the Update pack and did not have these problems earlier.

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Mon Feb 27, 2006 9:05 am

I also have a question regarding Windows/Microsoft update.

'RyanVM Update Pack 2.0.3' includes 'Microsoft Update 5.8.0.2469', is that the latest version? When I run Windows Update from Internet Explorer it shows 'hxxp://update.microsoft.com/microsoftupdate/v6/default.aspx?ln=en-us' in the address bar. Notice the 'v6'. Knowing Ryan I assume it is the latest version and since Microsoft Update has replaced Windows Update then do I need to include an addon that I have been using called 'Windows Update v6 (Full)'?

armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Mon Feb 27, 2006 9:21 am

Hi All,
What about creating an update pack with permission of Ryan?
I do that. I'd make some small changes in RVMUpdatePack2.0.3.CAB's Entries.INI file:
1. revert the MSI.dll to version 3.1.4000.2435. Thank you Ryan for providing the INF without KB900730!
2. Added WGA version 1.5.512.0.
If I could found a high-speed connection, I (with Ryan's permission again.) will upload the updated cab file for you.
Thanks.
With Best Regards,
Armond.

guru777
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:09 pm
Contact:

Freezing on "Gathering Temp Files"

Post by guru777 » Mon Feb 27, 2006 4:57 pm

I am trying to integrate update pack 2.0.3 into clean XP sp2 source. The source is from an ISO that i used last time an update pack came out. So i'm sure the source is clean. I had this problem in the past, because my paths had spaces in them. They do not have spaces this time and i'm still getting the cmd.exe process at 100% cpu usage and the integrator just freezes at "gathering temp files".

Anybody have any ideas?

guru777
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:09 pm
Contact:

never mind

Post by guru777 » Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:00 pm

never mind, i got it working. i'm sure why this had any effect, but i put the integrator and the update pack into a folder by it self and that fixed the problem.

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:04 pm

Image

Take note of the errors during decompression. I'm using 7zip. Shouldn't it be able to handle that? Anyway, just wondering if anyone else has that problem when trying to decompress.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:18 pm

dumpydooby wrote:http://dumpydooby.gooffense.com/files/r ... 3error.png

Take note of the errors during decompression. I'm using 7zip. Shouldn't it be able to handle that? Anyway, just wondering if anyone else has that problem when trying to decompress.
It's a known bug with 7zip. No other CAB decompressers have problems with it. The issue was also reported in previous threads and responded to then.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:19 pm

armond wrote:Hi All,
What about creating an update pack with permission of Ryan?
I do that. I'd make some small changes in RVMUpdatePack2.0.3.CAB's Entries.INI file:
1. revert the MSI.dll to version 3.1.4000.2435. Thank you Ryan for providing the INF without KB900730!
2. Added WGA version 1.5.512.0.
If I could found a high-speed connection, I (with Ryan's permission again.) will upload the updated cab file for you.
Thanks.
With Best Regards,
Armond.
What, you can't wait like two weeks? And there are addons for both of those already, so I really don't see the point in making a new CAB.

Locked