RyanVM Update Pack 2.0.3 - Released February 19, 2006

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:27 pm

RyanVM wrote:I've noticed the disappearing window when installing the Virtual PC Addons actually, but figured it wasn't an issue since all my other unattended software (many MSI-based administrative install points) worked fine. Anyway, it's probably the updated msi.dll causing the problem.

I don't think this is worth spinning a new release over, but someone could always create a small addon which restores the original build 2435 of it in the mean time. I'll probably revert back to the original version in the next release.

EDIT: Or, if you feel like trying something else, below is a link to build 2510 of msi.dll which supercedes the version found in the pack. Maybe the problem is fixed in it (or maybe it isn't :P). If you want to try it out and report back here, that would be cool. It's in convenient addon format for you already :). I just updated this one now so QFECheck won't complain about it.
hxxp://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/files/RVMAddonsMSIDLLTest_1.1.cab (811KB)
MD5: 6E05D19EE17859350964D2C569DB2C77

This one doesn't fix the problem.

UPDATE: FEB. 25, 2006 - SOLUTION FOR THE PROBLEM
EDIT2: I answered my own call for an addon restoring the old msi.dll. This addon restores msi.dll back to build 2435 which is the original version that came with Windows Installer 3.1. v1.1 of this addon also includes an updated RVMUpPck.inf which removes all references to KB900730 as well. QFECheck should complain about nothing now.
http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/files/RVMAdd ... ld_1.1.cab (827KB)
MD5: 8135F9F916C8D106BE3D5937C339A49D
THIS ADDON FIXES THE PROBLEM
I got an error with ole32.dll when I tried to install Half-Life 2 (which is a MSI). I replaced my MSI.dll file with the old one from your cab, and now I still get an error, but it's a different one. I tried reinstalling the Windows Installer Service, but that didn't work. Dunno what to do now. :(

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:35 pm

Can anybody else reproduce? I don't have HL2, so I can't test it.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
jessry
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:57 pm
Location: Australia

CAT files

Post by jessry » Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:05 pm

i would like to know what cat files are safe to remove. i have 152 .cat files in the svcpack folder.

Thank you in advance

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Feb 27, 2006 9:49 pm

Half-Life 2: GotY installs fine here using an updated RVMUpPck.inf.

Which edition of HL2 are you installing? Did you check your file hashes?

I only removed KB900730.AddReg from AddReg= and the entire [KB900730.AddReg] section from the original v2.0.3 INF.

Ryan makes a few more changes in MSIDLLOld v1.1:
  • He removes the ;OBSOLETE comment from MSI.DLL in [KB893803.AddReg]
  • He removes this unnecessary line from the [strings] section:

    Code: Select all

    TIMEZONES="SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Time Zones"
EDIT: The errors I reported earlier here were mine. :oops:
Last edited by 5eraph on Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:35 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:29 pm

5eraph: huh? I don't see any of those anomolous entries you point out in either the 2.0.3 CAB or the MSI Addon CAB.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:35 pm

Retracted. You're right. :oops:

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:19 am

does the latest Flash & Shockwave Players are included?

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:41 am

Wesmosis wrote:does the latest Flash & Shockwave Players are included?
'Macromedia Flash Player 8.0.22.0 ActiveX Control' is included in 'Post-SP2 Update Pack 2.0.3', but Shockwave is not.

crass00

Post by crass00 » Tue Feb 28, 2006 4:25 pm

RyanVM wrote:Your worries come from an incomplete understanding of the problem. The 150 CAT file limit isn't a hard limit like you guys think it is. The problems come from too many CAT files protecting the same file. Consider this, the CAT file for each hotfix signs EVERY file included in the package, including the installer. So, you get ~150 duplicate hashes for update.exe, etc. That's where the problem lies. However, not all CAT files include those duplicate hashes ;).

I think we've got a lot of breathing room still, though you are correct that boooggy's WMP addon does get it closer with the increased number of hotfix CAT files.
Just a query about this. since KB898461 - Permanent copy of the Package Installer for Windows version 6.1.22.4 is installed in the pack, if we update using windows update, is update.exe still a part of the download and thus in the cat files?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:32 pm

update.exe is still generally bundled with a hotfixes downloaded as EXEs (though I have seen a few which don't have it bundled). I'm not sure what's done with Windows Update, though. My hunch is that the same CAT file is included regardless.

If someone feels like trying it, try installing a hotfix from WU and compare the installed CAT file for that to the extracted CAT file from the downloaded EXE. It would be interesting to see how they compare :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:20 pm

For the record, expect KB912945 (released today and going into the next Update Pack) to break a bunch of stuff. It's the result of Microsoft's loss of the patent infringement lawsuit they were in over how ActiveX controls are loaded. Read the KB article for more details.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:56 pm

Please don't include that update.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Feb 28, 2006 8:13 pm

The next IE cumulative security update is going to include it anyway. It's inevitable.

alsiladka
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:49 pm

Post by alsiladka » Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:11 am

Ryan how about making a new update pack along with the MSI corrected file , and uploading it onto Rapidshare or some other uploading serive?

that would help everyone out here and save you of your bandwidth for this month too!! :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:15 am

Is it really that hard to include a small addon at the same time as integrating? Honestly, how lazy are you?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Post by DisabledTrucker » Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:14 am

keytotime wrote:Please don't include that update.
I agree, I think this one would be best put off until they release the fix for this, or at least until WMP has been updated to work with this fix as well. Since you'll probably see problems with using sites such as Creative's update site if you use this patch, as well as it breaking Quicktime, (which is the basis for iTunes and highly used,) Google Toolbar, Flash and others. A lot of websites these days rely on Flash and/or WMP controls in some way, not to mention Quicktime, and if this is going to mess them up, then I see this being a potential problem including this in the upcoming update pack, at least until people have had the oppertunity to release fixes for their products in reguards to this issue, or at least make this one so that it can be removed via add/remove when it's installed with this pack. As there are going to be people such as myself that would rather not use this supposed fix until it's better supported by the products it's breaking.
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

[url=mms://wmc1.liquidviewer.net/WNOR]WNOR FM-99[/url] The best station in the world!

User avatar
Fencer128
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:59 am
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland

Post by Fencer128 » Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:29 am

DisabledTrucker wrote:I agree, I think this one would be best put off until they release the fix for this, or at least until WMP has been updated to work with this fix as well. Since you'll probably see problems with using sites such as Creative's update site if you use this patch, as well as it breaking Quicktime, (which is the basis for iTunes and highly used,) Google Toolbar, Flash and others. A lot of websites these days rely on Flash and/or WMP controls in some way, not to mention Quicktime, and if this is going to mess them up, then I see this being a potential problem including this in the upcoming update pack, at least until people have had the oppertunity to release fixes for their products in reguards to this issue, or at least make this one so that it can be removed via add/remove when it's installed with this pack. As there are going to be people such as myself that would rather not use this supposed fix until it's better supported by the products it's breaking.
Much as I dislike the patch, I haven't had it "break" anything - it just means a manual click is required before ActiveX controls can operate on certain web pages.

I can live with it if it goes in now. It might even help us here get to grips with the impact of the change and check our pages ;).

Cheers,

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:42 am

From what I can tell, this is the new reality of the situation (the behavior is exactly what MS said they would have to do in order to comply with the court ruling), so I don't think there's any point in waiting for the "bugs" to be worked out.

And like I said previously, these changes are inevitable, so you might as well start getting used to them now.

EDIT: You guys don't seem to realize that the patch is a full IE Cumulative Update. It's not just one file changing here. What that means is that every subsequent IE update is going to have all of these changes incorporated as well. Sorry, I'm not forgoing all future IE updates because you don't like the way MS was forced to change ActiveX handling. You're going to have to get used to it.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:46 am

Actually This patch might be good, people will start using FF more.

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:28 am

Well, FF doesn't support ActiveX at all... however, I use FF everyday.
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Wed Mar 01, 2006 11:23 am

keytotime wrote:Actually This patch might be good, people will start using FF more.
I don't know what it would take to get me to go back to FF, but this sure ain't it.

hajj_3
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:09 pm

Post by hajj_3 » Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:51 pm

a few updates out today guys, check neowin forums, including new WGA version.

im using the nice new cracked version: Windows.Genuine.Advantage.Validation.v1.5.512.0.CRACKED-ETH0

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:54 pm

We're already aware of those fixes, since they were already posted in the proper thread.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
maska
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:17 am

Post by maska » Fri Mar 03, 2006 5:20 am

I've just made an ISO with Integrator adding Ryan's latest update pack and WMP addon (that's all). I've got the following error in virtual machine's setuperr.log:
Error:
Setup failed to enumerate all component packages.
Software which depends on this package may not function properly. Contact your

system administrator.

***
Everything seems to be fine excepting that.

Should I worry about that error or it's virtual machine's fault (Parallels Workstation)?

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Fri Mar 03, 2006 5:51 am

It is due to integrating the WMP10 addon, another side-effect is the non-playing of music and no intro video if you are not disabling OOBE on first boot. Aside from that, there are AFAIK no issues.

Petr
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 4:09 pm

Wrong KB870981 files and registry entries

Post by Petr » Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:18 pm

Hello Ryan,

it seems RVMUpPck.inf contains KB870981 registry entries for SP1QFE branch, not for SP2QFE, also the files are older. It looks like you don't have v2 of the hotfix integrated.

Or is there any reason to keep the old files?

Petr

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:31 pm

I've got both v1 and v2. v1 only updates 4 files. v2 updates them all.
Image

Petr
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 4:09 pm

Post by Petr » Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:39 pm

RyanVM wrote:I've got both v1 and v2. v1 only updates 4 files. v2 updates them all.
This must be some mistake, v2 updates 4 files too. Please try to extract the files again. sp1qfe contains

Code: Select all

17.03.2005  10:58           133 120 ps5ui.dll
31.01.2005  19:37                62 tty.ini
17.03.2005  19:58           464 896 pscript5.dll
17.03.2005  19:58           201 728 unidrvui.dll
17.03.2005  19:58           248 832 unidrv.dll
17.03.2005  19:58            16 384 ttyui.dll
17.03.2005  19:58             8 704 tty.dll
01.02.2005  04:37            39 936 ttyres.dll
01.02.2005  04:37           676 864 pcl5eres.dll
01.02.2005  04:37           169 472 pclxl.dll
01.02.2005  04:37           792 644 pscript.ntf
01.02.2005  04:37           619 520 unires.dll
sp2qfe contains

Code: Select all

17.03.2005  19:54           133 120 ps5ui.dll
17.03.2005  19:54           464 896 pscript5.dll
17.03.2005  19:54           198 144 unidrvui.dll
17.03.2005  19:54           248 832 unidrv.dll
Please note the file dates too, 2.0.3 contains files dated 09.11.2004.

Petr

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:44 pm

hmm, I think I switched v1 and v2 around. My v2 only has an sp2qfe folder with the older version of ps5ui.dll and my v1 has sp1qfe and sp2qfe folders with sp2qfe containing the newer ps5ui.dll.

I guess I should change that for the next version, eh? :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:33 am

..or make an addon which changes this :D
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:28 am

It's a fix for postscript printing. That's hardly an urgent update :rolleyes:
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:30 am

As you wish :P
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

unreal
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:48 am

Post by unreal » Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:48 pm

RyanVM wrote:It's a fix for postscript printing. That's hardly an urgent update :rolleyes:
What you on about, people will die :rolleyes:

Speaking of update, when the whole new pack out?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:58 pm

...you can't be serious
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Toolman
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:10 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Toolman » Thu Mar 09, 2006 9:35 am

I got a hanging MMC when I look at an eventlog entry and afterwards click Cancel ...

Anyone with the same problem after a WXP-SP2 install with this new pack ?

User avatar
Fencer128
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:59 am
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland

Post by Fencer128 » Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:22 am

Toolman wrote:I got a hanging MMC when I look at an eventlog entry and afterwards click Cancel ...

Anyone with the same problem after a WXP-SP2 install with this new pack ?
Hi,

I don't have that behaviour. I tried the event viewer through control panel as well as launching it as a snap-in for MMC.

Cheers,

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Mar 14, 2006 3:51 pm

Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Locked