RyanVM Update Pack 2.0.4 - Released March 14, 2006

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
jiji
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:02 am

Post by jiji » Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:41 am

I experience the following issue: when the cd boots, it is showing the messege "Press any key to boot from cd ..". This in normal, but when I press a key, the next screen that says "Setup is inspecting ...bla bla", is overwriting the previous, so I get a dirty screen. I dont know if its a pack issue, but with my original winxp sp2 cd, everything works normal.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:15 am

That's due to an updated setupldr.bin included in the pack. It's a harmless artifact.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:20 am

Finally tested 2.0.4... :D

I used:
  1. Windows XP Professional SP2 ENU
  2. RyanVM Integrator 1.2.2
  3. Update Pack 2.0.4
  4. RVMAddons_1.6.1.cab, RVMAddonsSFC_1.0.cab, RVMAddonsSyssetup_1.0.cab, RVMAddonsTCPIP_1.1.cab, RVMAddonsUxtheme_1.0.cab, RVMAddonsWMP10_2.2.cab
  5. XPize 4.3 MCE
  6. nLite 1.0 RC7
and I must say, not ONE single problem! :)

mindwarper
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by mindwarper » Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:00 am

ViVa wrote:Finally tested 2.0.4... :D

I used:
  1. Windows XP Professional SP2 ENU
  2. RyanVM Integrator 1.2.2
  3. Update Pack 2.0.4
  4. RVMAddons_1.6.1.cab, RVMAddonsSFC_1.0.cab, RVMAddonsSyssetup_1.0.cab, RVMAddonsTCPIP_1.1.cab, RVMAddonsUxtheme_1.0.cab, RVMAddonsWMP10_2.2.cab
  5. XPize 4.3 MCE
  6. nLite 1.0 RC7
and I must say, not ONE single problem! :)
Hey ViVa do you do steps 3 and 4 at the same time, i.e. using the integrator do integrate the UpdatePack 2.0.4 and the other addons you choose ;) ?
Just to make sure... :) Because that is the procedure I tend to follow myself too, for more than 2 months now :D

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:22 am

Hey mindwarper, yeah, I let the RyanVM Integrator integrate both the Update Pack and the Addons. :) I use nLite only to create my answer file and for some regtweaks.

User avatar
maska
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:17 am

Post by maska » Tue Mar 28, 2006 3:24 pm

mionica wrote:Does anybody know if there may be a way to prevent the installation of KB900730?

I'm having problems on XPSP2+RVM2.0.4 when trying to install CorelDRAW X3 which - without even asking - installs that hotfix right away.

I guess things could be fixed by patching msi.dll to show a newer version; however, I would like to have RyanVM's oppinion on this - if there might be a cleaner approach.
Did you try to install Corel on another partition instead of system partition? Or have you found a solution for it?

Ryan, may I know why you remove that fix?

TJHart85
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:15 pm

Post by TJHart85 » Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:49 pm

mionica wrote: KB900730?...Ryan, may I know why you remove that fix?
It freaked MSI files out. http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=18426#18426
Numbers written on restaurant bills within the confines of restaurants do not follow the same mathematical laws as numbers written on any other pieces of paper in any other parts of the Universe.
--Douglas Adams

User avatar
maska
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:17 am

Post by maska » Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:43 am

Grrr, that's the famous one? I've only looked on the main page changelog for it... :oops:

sambenin
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:21 am

Post by sambenin » Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:26 am

Hi sorry but i'm getting an error when i'm trying to install my xp after integrating Update pack 2.0.4
cannot copy "browseui.dll"
Image

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:32 am

Does the MD5 sum in the integrator log match the one given on the website? The only reason that message would appear is if something got corrupted along the way.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

jiji
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:02 am

Post by jiji » Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:14 am

RyanVM wrote:That's due to an updated setupldr.bin included in the pack. It's a harmless artifact.
Can I use the original setupldr.bin from my winxp sp2 CD whitout problems ?

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:41 am

@jiji, just because some text got uglier positioned, you want to use an outdated version?

Sereby
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Germany

Post by Sereby » Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:50 am

i cant use the new setupldr files because the dont show the loading pages at startup and not the F6 option and so on and starts directly with eula/formating (german system)

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:46 pm

They do show up here with 2.0.4 ... both F2 and F6 status messages.

jiji
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:02 am

Post by jiji » Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:57 pm

ViVa wrote:@jiji, just because some text got uglier positioned, you want to use an outdated version?
I don't see where is the update! Basicaly, both are doing the same thing.
Last edited by jiji on Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:09 pm

I take it there were some bugs fixed, support for newer hardware and/or some code/speed-optimization occured, so I'm going for the newer one. ;)

armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Sat Apr 01, 2006 3:22 am

Hi Ryan,
If that is possible, Please do not delete the Windows Update shortcut item in Start Menu in the next update pack. If you disable Microsoft Update, its shortcut will delete from Start Menu. I always disable MU. If you want to delete the Windows Update shortcut, then please let me know that How I can present setup from deleting the Windows Update icon. Should I edit the RVMUpPck.inf file? What section?
Thank you.
With best regards,
Armond.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:13 am

I still don't understand why people are trying to disable MU? It works EXACTLY the same as WU6. The only issue I'm aware of is the office updates bug, but there's nothing stopping someone from still using Office Update if they so choose.

And armond, if you're still intent on doing so, the MU.AddReg section is what you want.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:21 am

That FBI think ... was a joke, right ? :D
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:39 am

Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

LaptopRookie
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 10:34 am

Post by LaptopRookie » Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:20 pm

I integrated pack2.04 with WMP10 into XP Pro SP2 and try to install it...but get the following error on blue screen during installation:

STOP: C0000221 unknown Hard Error
\SystemRoot\System32\ntdll.dll

Whats up? The bare CD slipstreamed with SP2 does seems to work though. Was the ntdll.dll corrupted after the pack2.04 integration? Is there a way to check the integrity of the files before making the final CD from a slipstreamed directory? Thanks.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:23 pm

My pack doesn't touch ntdll.dll, so I'm leaning toward corruption via some other method. Now I need more information (people, ALWAYS give as much information as possible). Are you installing from a CD on a real system or is this a test from an ISO in VirtualPC?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:29 pm

Ryan, what exactly does \system32\wlnotify.dll do? I have extended status messages on during startup, and it gets stuck sometimes for like 20 secs displaying "Executing C:\WINDOWS\system32\wlnotify.dll...".

Windows' description of "Common DLL to receive Winlogon notifications" is quite vague to me.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:33 pm

Your guess is as good as mine
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:41 pm

Your pack doesn't update wlnotify.dll, right? You don't know what exactly happens during startup what may cause a delay?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:04 pm

No, I don't touch wlnotify.dll
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:52 pm

ViVa wrote:Ryan, what exactly does \system32\wlnotify.dll do? I have extended status messages on during startup, and it gets stuck sometimes for like 20 secs displaying "Executing C:\WINDOWS\system32\wlnotify.dll...".

Windows' description of "Common DLL to receive Winlogon notifications" is quite vague to me.
the dll mentioned is what GIVES the extended messages that you have turned on :)
if it is hanging on that file i would check versions and make sure that nothing got stomped during your setup..

TechnoHunter

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Sun Apr 02, 2006 10:03 pm

Well version is 5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158), and I just used what I stated above, a fresh XP Pro SP2 ENU + Ryan's Update Pack, plus some addons (only Ryan's).. XPize/nLite don't have anything todo with it.

So it might go away if I tweak back to normal messages? (First have to find out how :D )

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Mon Apr 03, 2006 5:57 am

ViVa wrote:Well version is 5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158), and I just used what I stated above, a fresh XP Pro SP2 ENU + Ryan's Update Pack, plus some addons (only Ryan's).. XPize/nLite don't have anything todo with it.

So it might go away if I tweak back to normal messages? (First have to find out how :D )

Code: Select all

;Windows will tell you exactly what it is doing when it is shutting down or is booting
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\policies\system]
"verbosestatus"=dword:00000001
Switching the value to 0 should make the trick :wink:

LaptopRookie
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 10:34 am

Post by LaptopRookie » Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:26 am

RyanVM wrote:My pack doesn't touch ntdll.dll, so I'm leaning toward corruption via some other method. Now I need more information (people, ALWAYS give as much information as possible). Are you installing from a CD on a real system or is this a test from an ISO in VirtualPC?
I burned a CDRW and tried to install from the CDRW on to my system. I encountered the error there. I will try to integrate the pack again and make a new CDRW...just strange why it not happened to the XP Home SP2 CD of my laptop?.... Only difference there is that the original XP Home had SP2 already, but my XP Pro was slipstreamed with SP2 by myself.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:18 am

Why not try the ISO in VirtualPC? That'll tell you in less than 5 minutes whether the burn was bad or the source was bad.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:28 am

It is known that disabling the Event Log service causes a big startup delay.
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:32 am

That's exactly what I did, thanks will turn it back on and see.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Mon Apr 03, 2006 3:30 pm

Worked! Now boots a lot faster, thanks for the tip xpmaniac4ever.

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:29 am

Anytime, ViVa ! :D
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

LaptopRookie
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 10:34 am

Post by LaptopRookie » Tue Apr 04, 2006 11:46 am

LaptopRookie wrote:
RyanVM wrote:My pack doesn't touch ntdll.dll, so I'm leaning toward corruption via some other method. Now I need more information (people, ALWAYS give as much information as possible). Are you installing from a CD on a real system or is this a test from an ISO in VirtualPC?
Problem solved!...after fiddling around it seems to be the Fuji CDRW media...i used another one and it installed perfectly. Thanks anyways. Keep up the good work!

superleiw
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:22 am

Post by superleiw » Wed Apr 05, 2006 4:08 am

I would suggest not to use CDRWs which have been overwritten numerous times to test new updaes as quite often the cause for something not working or corrupted is the CDRW media

TJHart85
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:15 pm

Post by TJHart85 » Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:26 pm

superleiw wrote:I would suggest not to use CDRWs which have been overwritten numerous times to test new updaes as quite often the cause for something not working or corrupted is the CDRW media
Or at the very least, do a FULL erase, not that 2 minute quick erase. If you have a problem, and are using a CD-RW, expect that to be the problem and try a CD-R or a fresh CD-RW.

I know I've had many problems using DVD-RWs and DVD+RWs, I just waste the 12 cents a DVD and don't bother with the RWs now.
Numbers written on restaurant bills within the confines of restaurants do not follow the same mathematical laws as numbers written on any other pieces of paper in any other parts of the Universe.
--Douglas Adams

Submariner
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:21 am

Post by Submariner » Fri Apr 07, 2006 7:40 am

Not sure if this has been posted, but there is a new 52MB MS update:
DirectX End-User Runtimes (April 2006)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Apr 07, 2006 10:06 am

Not posted here, but I'm aware of it ;)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:35 pm

Code: Select all

GUID = "{D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000}"
GUIDFACT = "{D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000}"


...

HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\%GUID%",,,"%DefaultName%"
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\%GUID%","ComponentID",,"%ComponentID%"
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\%GUID%","IsInstalled",0x00010001,1
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\%GUID%","Version",,"%VersionNumber%"
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\%GUID%","Locale",,"%LocaleID%"

HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\%GUIDFACT%",,,"%DefaultName%"
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\%GUIDFACT%","ComponentID",,"%ComponentID%"
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\%GUIDFACT%","IsInstalled",0x00010001,1
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\%GUIDFACT%","Version",,"%VersionNumber%"
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\%GUIDFACT%","Locale",,"%LocaleID%"
I don't get it. Isn't that redundant?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:52 pm

dumpydooby wrote:I don't get it. Isn't that redundant?
umm...where the hell is that from?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:54 pm

swflash.ini

I was recompiling your Update pack with an updated version of Flash and I noticed that in yours.

Just outta curiousity, if use the swflash.ini that's in cab posted on the first page, will that work? Or do I need to modify anything?


edit:
BTW, sorry about that. I just realized how out-of-the-blue my post was. rofl. It made sense to me, though. :oops:

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:57 pm

I noticed that too when I made my first addon. But that's the way Microsoft wrote it for SP2... Go figure.

It works fine so I left it.

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:04 pm

Oh snap. I didn't realize someone else had already done it. I probably should have looked first.

I'll still probably redo it since I'm already started. I wanna leave the uninstall info in there anyway. Also, there's a couple of registry settings that are in the MS-provided one that aren't in your pack. Not trying to demean you or your pack ... I just prefer to have that stuff added in. :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:06 pm

I really don't see the point when I've already added 8.0.24 to the update pack for the next release, which will be in a day or so (tomorrow's MS patch day). Kinda late in the game for it, isn't it? ;)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:11 pm

hahahahhahaa. I didn't realize what day it was.

Ugh, I'll go ahead and halt my disc then. Oh man. I'm still cool.

Thanks a bunch man.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:18 pm

:lol:, I aim to please :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
SibTiger
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 9:29 pm

Traffic increase

Post by SibTiger » Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:47 pm

Hey, Ryan, how much does traffic to your site increase starting, say, the second Tuesday of the month? :wink:

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:14 pm

I was wondering the same, although this is the wrong thread to ask SibTiger. :)

Locked