KB905474 and the next update pack

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
Sereby
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Germany

Post by Sereby » Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:30 pm

ryan: do you integrate KB905474 into 2.0.5 (or 6?) or just the new legitcheckcontrol.dll?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 27, 2006 1:21 pm

I haven't decided what I'm going to do yet. I'm really conflicted on the matter since I personally think it's stupid, but I'm also of the opinion that it's only a matter of time before installing it becomes mandatory.

I dunno. :?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Thu Apr 27, 2006 1:46 pm

i say go for it. even if i also think is a stupid crap.....

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 27, 2006 1:53 pm

I think including it is what I'll end up doing. I just have one request with those who don't like my decision - direct your hatred at Microsoft for making it, not at me for including it :P. I honestly hope that the massive outcry coming from this will be enough to get them to change course (not that they really have any reason to listen to people).
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Thu Apr 27, 2006 2:25 pm

Well, if it popped up at random and said "Thanks for Running Genuine Windows", that would be a problem. But, it's totally invisable and really causes no problems that I can see. It seems to be required already. Add it then.

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Thu Apr 27, 2006 2:51 pm

I personally don't like it myself, and I dislike the very idea of it. But add it anyway. As you say, it's only a matter of time before it's mandatory (can we say SP3?) and those who don't like it can learn to pull it out if they want.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Thu Apr 27, 2006 5:40 pm

You could also make it uninstallable like MS does (for the moment anyway) I think i`ll do it that way, not had a proper look at it yet though.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Thu Apr 27, 2006 5:48 pm

do u integrate pre-release softs? when i tried to download it from ms, it opened eula, that was starting "Pre-Release Software".....bla bla bla...
and can this be a reason for not integrating?
i personally agree with Zacam, too... maybe i can post which reg entries i deleted to remove it from startup :twisted:
and it no longer pop up at logon....
Last edited by MrNxDmX on Fri Apr 28, 2006 3:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:49 am

@ MrNxDmx
I suggest you edit your post and remove any mention of the genuiness of your windows.

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:54 am

Xable wrote:You could also make it uninstallable like MS does (for the moment anyway) I think i`ll do it that way, not had a proper look at it yet though.
It is not actually uninstallable. Although you can turn off the notifications.

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:56 am

I personally think that this should not be included in Ryan's Update pack, well atleast not for now. If and when Microsoft makes it mandatory, it can be included in the pack then.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Apr 28, 2006 2:10 am

Looks like Microsoft finally got smart and backed LegitCheckControl.dll with a CAT. I wonder how much longer it will be before MS decides to completely disable non-genuine Windows installations. :rolleyes:

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Fri Apr 28, 2006 2:39 am

never......

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Fri Apr 28, 2006 4:00 am

I personally don`t want it included in next UpdatePack. But it`s Ryan`s decision in the end.
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

User avatar
warrior1109
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by warrior1109 » Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:39 am

I too would prefer it not to be included, but it would not be the end of the world, and as stated before, it is Ryans decision, and it will be mandatory at some point soon.

User avatar
Aserone
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Opioid dependent head.

Post by Aserone » Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:49 am

I wouldn't like to see that crap either, but it will most certainly be mandatory by micro$oft very soon. It's only an annoyance to legit customers. Why the hell would I want to have it running in the background sucking up ram?

Maybe i've missunderstod and it won't even run with a legit copy. But from what I've seen in the kb-pack it will.

I'll make it standard to remove it, atleast from my home computers if you add it to your pack. Maybe release a delete addon...
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Fri Apr 28, 2006 9:38 am

Aserone wrote: Maybe i've missunderstod and it won't even run with a legit copy. But from what I've seen in the kb-pack it will.
There is nothing running in the background for legit users.

User avatar
Aserone
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Opioid dependent head.

Post by Aserone » Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:21 am

techtype wrote:
Aserone wrote: Maybe i've missunderstod and it won't even run with a legit copy. But from what I've seen in the kb-pack it will.
There is nothing running in the background for legit users.
Good to hear, then bring it on! ;)
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Sat Apr 29, 2006 10:39 am

sysinternals proccess explorer (run at boot) shows a brief blip of a exe that starts and exits when this is installed called WGAtray.exe... and trust me.. my version IS legit :)

TechnoHunter

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Sat Apr 29, 2006 11:12 am

TechnoHunter wrote:exe that starts and exits
TechnoHunter
Yes, it's tied in thru winlogon. You're confirming that nothing continues to run in the background ("sucking up ram").

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:33 pm

yup :)
guess i am at that, lol

TechnoHunter

superleiw
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:22 am

Post by superleiw » Sun Apr 30, 2006 5:22 am

There are already several ways of removing it

Read here

nfm
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 5:31 pm

Post by nfm » Sun Apr 30, 2006 4:25 pm

There are already several ways of removing it
Remove this key and see what happens:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\Notify\WgaLogon]

or rename wgalogon.dll and wgatray.exe to wgatray.exe.bak and wgalogon.dll.bak in both system32 and dllcache. Ms failed once again :rolleyes:
DFI LanParty UT SLI-DR, 510-2Mod BIOS
146 Opteron at 3.21Ghz, 1.568v WC, 3.5Ghz on DIce
G.SKILL PC3200 BH-5 DDR540+ 2-2-2-0 twtr=1, 3.68v
OCZ 520W 3.3v at 3.81 5.0v at 5.11v 12v at 12.61v

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Sun Apr 30, 2006 4:51 pm

Kamil wrote:
There are already several ways of removing it
Remove this key and see what happens:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\Notify\WgaLogon]

or rename wgalogon.dll and wgatray.exe to wgatray.exe.bak and wgalogon.dll.bak in both system32 and dllcache. Ms failed once again :rolleyes:
You absolutely don't get it, do you really think they could not lock it in if they wanted to? It's not some lone hacker that they are after. It's sellers. That's the purpose, to get people who bought what they thought was a legit copy to turn in the seller. The buyer even gets rewarded with a free copy of his own for reporting the pirate seller.

nfm
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 5:31 pm

Post by nfm » Sun Apr 30, 2006 4:58 pm

i hope that ms will find those poor sellers, otherwise it will have to arrest internet.

edit: does this update appears on windows update?
DFI LanParty UT SLI-DR, 510-2Mod BIOS
146 Opteron at 3.21Ghz, 1.568v WC, 3.5Ghz on DIce
G.SKILL PC3200 BH-5 DDR540+ 2-2-2-0 twtr=1, 3.68v
OCZ 520W 3.3v at 3.81 5.0v at 5.11v 12v at 12.61v

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun Apr 30, 2006 5:24 pm

in english, yes.but i dont think in other languages (in turkish, not)

Trojan99
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 7:03 pm

Post by Trojan99 » Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:08 pm

it is currently opt-out, but as ryan said, he has a feeling it will eventually become mandatory. it already is if you wish to install ie7b2 [you can download it without it, but the install will force a validation]. the first wga was opt-out for the longest time, then one day, boom! no more updates without it. no doubt this will follow suit. but my 2 cents is to leave it out. no reason to help m-soft spread spyware. im sure you will release several new versions of your update b4 it becomes mandatory.

@ the person who stated it doesnt run on legit machines. this is incorret in my experience. i have a legit install which runs the wgatray.exe at all times. well, it did...it just does not appear in the taskbar. this could be due to some local environmental thing, or it could be across the board, i havent touched enough legit machines to know for sure.

Post Reply