RIS and update packs

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
plato2876

RIS and update packs

Post by plato2876 » Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:04 pm

Sorry to bug all, but I'm new to using RIS, though I've used the RyanVM update pack for several months now. Is there any specific trick to getting an updated image to install through RIS? I can get my SP2 slipstream base to install over RIS just fine, but when I attempt to install the update pack version, I get missing file messages regarding xpsp3res.dl_, even when I manually copy said file to the I386 folder in my image directory.

Thanks for the help in advance.

RogueSpear

Post by RogueSpear » Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:54 pm

Something you need to keep in mind with RIS is that when the image is created, many many files are in an uncompressed form. So as an example, the file in the RVM Pack named SWFLASH.IN_ is going to be in your RIS dirctory as SWFLASH.INF. Now both files will exist.

Like a dummy, the last time I manually removed the uncompressed duplicates I never documented which files were dupes. So you're going to have to do the leg work yourself.

While on the topic, I've successfully used nLite and RVM together on a RIS image. You just really need to have an understanding as to what is going on behind the scenes so that when you do run into the inevitable snag, you can work your way through it. I really should have been documenting all of the hard lessons I've learned in the last 6 months of doing this.

RogueSpear

Post by RogueSpear » Wed Jun 08, 2005 2:16 am

For anyone interested I posted a somewhat half assed guide to using RIS w/ RVM, nLite, and BTS over at MSFN in Nuhi's forum.

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=47643

Siginet
Site Admin

Post by Siginet » Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:54 am

Now Rogue... I really think you should watch your language in here. There may be kids hangging around. ;) Hehe... J/K!

Looks pretty helpful Rogue. Thanks a lot. :D
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician