Where's the next version?

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Locked
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:02 am

UPDATE: JULY 12, 2005
READ THIS
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

NDgamer

Post by NDgamer » Tue Jul 12, 2005 12:21 pm

Thanks.... Ill be sure to let my friend know that too.. Well Thanks cant wait till the new update package! :rolleyes:

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Tue Jul 12, 2005 1:20 pm

Ok, well I know I'll probably get yelled at but I'm going to ask anyway.

1. Is nlite integration going to be nearly the same? i.e. install through nlite's hotfix integration and then delete the installer from the i386 folder?
2. Which build of WMP10 will be used? The latest on microsoft's website is 10.00.00.3802 but I found boooggy's pack which is build 10.00.00.3923.

Thank you for all the hard work Ryan. :D

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:34 pm

1.) nLite integration will follow the same methodology as always.
2.) WMP10 will be fully up to date (as it says in the future version todo list thread)

Noxious Ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 6:10 pm

Post by Noxious Ninja » Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:21 pm

Will 1.3.0 include updates for the "extra" components like Process Explorer and Unlocker?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jul 13, 2005 12:03 am

Try reading the thread I referenced in my previous reply

Noxious Ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 6:10 pm

Post by Noxious Ninja » Wed Jul 13, 2005 11:44 am

"optional addons pack for extras"

Oh, sorry. I guess I didn't quite get what that meant the first time around. :oops:

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:39 am

UPDATE: JULY 14, 2005
READ THIS
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:44 am

RyanVM wrote:UPDATE: JULY 14, 2005
READ THIS
Sorry to hear about this. :(

I wonder if this might delay 1.3 or if you and nuhi are still planning to release your new versions at the same time?

User avatar
leviathan
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Iwakuni, Japan

Post by leviathan » Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:01 pm

Hey Ryan,

Sorry to hear about the computer problems. The motherboard on my machine died on Tuesday and I am waiting for a new board to come in today. I'm in straight Macintosh mode now.

Hope all turns out good.

--Leviathan
Manual integration is the only right type of integration!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jul 14, 2005 2:12 pm

Protagonist wrote:Sorry to hear about this. :(

I wonder if this might delay 1.3 or if you and nuhi are still planning to release your new versions at the same time?
I'm not sure how this will affect the release of 1.3.0, because I'm not sure at this point how bad it is. I didn't have much time to work on it this morning because I was already running late for work as it was. Hopefully I'll be able to get things fixed tonight. All I know for sure is that my computer randomly restarted itself last night while I was sleeping and now I've got a bunch of corrupted files on my C: drive (at least my MSFN stuff is on a different drive and backed up frequently to another).

As for nuhi, I can't speak for him. I do know that support for versions <1.3.0 will be dropped with the next release. Thankfully 1.3.0 is moving to a much more robust way of doing things, rather than having stuff change between every release like it seems to have been happening lately.

GraX

The 1.3.0

Post by GraX » Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:08 am

Ryan I know u are full of people who ask u who/when/where.
But without annoying u I would like to know what will be new in 1.3.0 because several people asked u this and u posted a link to the forum which was invalid.
Also I sended u 2 mails whitout response in which I proposed u a program for your pack (PowerShellXP 3.01).
Well I will let u work at the big release.
10x
:D :D :D :D :D :D

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:49 am

The link's not invalid if you're a registered member. Have you even tried it since registering?

As for when 1.3.0 comes out, it's going to depend on how fast Western Digital can send me a new hard drive. My primary hard drive is officially toast. Thankfully (as I said before), MSFN-related stuff is kept on a different drive in the system and is backed up frequently to yet another, so getting back to the point where I was prior to the crash won't be as time consuming as it could have been.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:52 am

UPDATE: JULY 15, 2005
READ THIS
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:39 am

RyanVM wrote:UPDATE: JULY 15, 2005
READ THIS
Yipes, I've never had a hard drive fail on me in my life. I even have an 8 year old Seagate that is still running strong.
I've got 2 Western Digital Caviar SE 80gb SATA150 drives in RAID 0. I really hope one of them doesn't go on me.

Sorry about your loss :( , but at least it sounds like your warranty was good so free replacement. :)

You might consider getting another 120gb drive and going with a RAID 1 array. I was actually going to put mine in RAID 1, but I really wanted speed. :twisted:
Looks like the WD 120gb is $77 on newegg. :wink:

User avatar
codejunkie
Moderator
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 8:42 am
Location: UK, Cumbria, Nr. Kendal
Contact:

Post by codejunkie » Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:30 am

@suren

Where's the next version? Round 2
Quot "I'm going to say this once here, and I will lock/delete any other threads/PMs/emails/IMs asking me about it. I'm aiming for a Friday release of version 1.3.0. It will be using a graphical installer from Siginet until I can get a full replacement for __integrate.exe in the future. It will contain all of the hotfixes which appear on Windows Update, including the ones released today, along with the other enhancements described in the next version todo list."

And now hes waiting WD for a replacement HD. Hitachi took around 16 days to replace my 185GB (Only drive to fail on me!) so don't expect it anytime soon! a full week at the least
Windows 2003 Update Pack - Current Version 1.3.8 (13 Oct 2006
Currently included more than 80 Updates aswell as extra programs and runtimes such as MSXML 2-6, Microsoft Update, Adobe Flash Player...etc
Based upon RyanVMs Windows XP PostSP2 Update Pack

User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Sat Jul 16, 2005 1:30 pm

Yup im on my 3rd Hitachi desktar (AKA DEATHSTAR!) and also had 2 western digitals fail in a 14month period :S
Ironicaly my samsung drive has been no problem for over 4 years

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Sat Jul 16, 2005 3:08 pm

I must take good care of my hard drives then, since I've never had a failure. :D
I don't rough 'em up very much and I always make sure to cool them well. And I use good power supplies for them.

amirali_esh
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 4:05 pm

Post by amirali_esh » Sun Jul 17, 2005 1:11 am

when is version 1.3 is comeing ???
suren, please read the threads, specially this one http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=288

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Sun Jul 17, 2005 12:21 pm

I also heard that while Ryan was trying to steal a new hard drive to finish 1.3.0 as fast as possible, he was unfortunately attacked by a pack of guard dogs (the mean ones). So he may be out of commission for a while. :(

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jul 17, 2005 2:49 pm

:lol:, nice one Protagonist.

Thankfully, I remembered that I had a couple 20GB Maxtor hard drives sitting around that I've been meaning to sell, so I've got Windows up and running on one of them as a temporary fix until the WD replacement drive comes. It was funny, I ran the WD diagnostic program, and it returned a "Too many errors, call tech support" error message at me :lol:

Anyway, I've got some damage recovery stuff to work on still, but I'll see what I can get done tonight.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:12 pm

Good to hear you have spares until your new drive comes. :) My experience is that the system drive is always the first to go so I use TweakUI to redirect the My Documents folder to another drive. I used to put the Program Files folder on another drive as well but realized it's kinda pointless. Hope you didn't lose too much personal stuff. As far as the errors go, I guess when it rains it pours.
Last edited by 5eraph on Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:20 pm, edited 3 times in total.

GraX

A little offtopic

Post by GraX » Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:12 pm

Ok hi to all and first I'm sorry for wour data loss Ryan.
I have a very wierd kind of question.
I want wo know what windows version do you guys have.
I mean run winver and light me up a little bit.
I mention I have Windows XP SP2 + RyanVM Update Pack 1.2.1.
Winver says: Version 5.1 (Build 2600.xpsp.041130-1728 : Service Pack 2).
The reason for why I am asking this is to know if there is something wrong with my windows or not.
Oh and if u are so kind could u please tell me also the version of ntoskrnl.exe (mine is 2600.2573) and I think it's supposed to be 2180.
Please don't send me to MSFN cause i was there and nothing found.
10x guys.
Please post your versions.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:21 pm

Build 2180 is the default SP2 build. The update pack updates it to a newer build (2573 in your case). There's nothing wrong with your windows.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:35 pm

On my box (Win XP MCE 2005) no UpdatePack:
WINVER: Version 5.1 (Build 2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519 : Service Pack 2)
ntoskrnl.exe (5.1.2600.2622)

On my VPC running Win XP Pro SP2 with Ryan's v1.2.2b UpdatePack:
WINVER: Version 5.1 (Build 2600.xpsp_sp2.050301-1521 : Service Pack 2)
ntoskrnl.exe (5.1.2600.2622)

Hope this helps.

GraX

Post by GraX » Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:36 pm

Yeah 10x Ryan but what about winver and that versions and build.
I looged over MSFN forum and learned about the 041130 = Year 2004 Month 11 Day 30.
And what about 1728.
I wait for others versions of Windows XP.

GraX

Post by GraX » Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:46 pm

Yeah 10x Seraph but tonight I searched over MSFN and damn my head is blowing because of all those versions.
I heard about SP2 RTM, 2600.2180, al kinds of versions of ntoskrnl.exe.
If Ryan could clarify all this things out I would be very glad.
10x again for your help.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:51 pm

No idea on the 1728. But I do think you're worrying needlessly.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:57 pm

Considering you last installed WinXP after mid-March this year I think it's most likely something you've installed since then if you're having problems. Have you used Windows Update or Automatic Updates? Are you sure you applied the UpdatePack properly? Did you test it on a virtual machine first? Do you have an antivirus installed?

Sorry for the 20 questions. :)

They may have released something well after the date shown in it. 050301-1521 represents the build date and time, not when it was released. It doesn't look like you've updated your installation lately.

There's no inherent correlation with ntoskrnl.exe as far as I know. It's version number can be broken down like this for 5.1.2600.2573:

OS Major version: 5
OS Minor version: 1
OS build: 2600
File build: 2573

Higher file builds are always more up-to-date.

Hollywood
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 1:13 am

Re: Where's the next version?

Post by Hollywood » Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:34 pm

How goes the system rebuild Ryan? :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:07 pm

Well, my backup install is up and running. I've got VMWare running on it right now :P

I need to get in touch with Siginet to hopefully get things on track for a release soon.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

cybpsych
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:33 am

Post by cybpsych » Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:53 pm

RyanVM wrote:No idea on the 1728. But I do think you're worrying needlessly.
It's the time in 24-hrs format :D

some ppl confused it with the build # :lol:

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sun Jul 17, 2005 11:05 pm

@Ryan

Seeing that the 1.3.0 will have MS Update...have you tested it with Office 2003?

Should I redo my Office 2k3 MST to remore the ActiveX for Office Update?
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Jul 17, 2005 11:17 pm

Keep it in, the MS Update bug hasn't been fixed. I checked yesterday.

Link
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 3:50 pm

Post by Link » Mon Jul 18, 2005 1:51 pm

RyanVM wrote:Well, my backup install is up and running. I've got VMWare running on it right now :P

I need to get in touch with Siginet to hopefully get things on track for a release soon.
That's great to here. It really sucks when your hard drive fails on you. How old was the HDD that failed on Friday?

Link
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 3:50 pm

Post by Link » Mon Jul 18, 2005 1:58 pm

For the 1.3 ipdate pack, which includes Windows Update v6, if I want to remove Automatic Updates and Windows Update, will it still be just as easy to remove with nlite as it was before Windows Update v.6 is integrated?

Also, is the Task Scheduler fix going to be included in 1.3?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:42 pm

Link wrote:For the 1.3 ipdate pack, which includes Windows Update v6, if I want to remove Automatic Updates and Windows Update, will it still be just as easy to remove with nlite as it was before Windows Update v.6 is integrated?
How would I know? Ask nuhi :rolleyes:

And quit spamming this thread. Keep it up and I'll make it considerably more difficult for you to do so in the future. The next version will be out when it's ready, and you constantly asking does nothing to make it come faster.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:57 pm

At least some of us understand your FRIGGIN harddrive blew and you do this shit for free for us so we leave you alone and wait patiently.

gdogg

Post by gdogg » Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am

yeh, like no sh*t
wish some times people wouldn't get on the peoples nerves who do us sooo much

ryan hope everythings going well

cant wait for your next pack

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:00 am

I've run into some real problems with 1.3.0 right now (unrelated to my hard drive issues) that I would have run into last week had I gotten the chance to. I think I've hit a limit as to the number of CAT files svcpack.inf can install :P. It literally won't copy some anymore (though it will if I remove others). While I don't really want to get into the details, I can say I've tried nearly everything.

I wish I could merge CAT files into one big one, or at least figure out another way to mass-install them :(

TJHart85
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:15 pm

Post by TJHart85 » Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:06 pm

Could you possibly put them all in a self-extracting RAR file and call that file?

I'm sure if this was possible you probably would have already thought of it, but sometimes the simple things elude us.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:10 pm

I could be totally wrong, I'm not a hotfix expert or anything, but I'm guessing that when the cat files are processed during setup that something more than just copying them is going on. Some sort of registration?

Of course if I'm wrong it really would be as easy as making sure those files are copied to the proper directory ahead of time (thinking DetachedProgram here).

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:33 pm

You've hit the nail on the head, RogueSpear. The problem doesn't just lie with copying the files to the correct location - if that were it, I could do it with txtsetup.sif - it's that Windows has to properly register the info that's in them.

Also interesting to note is that I can finally reproduce the slowdowns some have noticed at the T39 mark. I've found through a little trial and error that the T39 time goes up rapidly as you get closer to 150 CAT files in svcpack.inf. Once again, here's to hoping for a better way.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Wed Jul 20, 2005 3:58 pm

I assume the info in the cat files is entered into the registry, if so how about putting that info into a reg file?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jul 20, 2005 5:12 pm

No, it's more complex than just registry entries. I wish it were that easy :P

Anyway, nuhi and I are working together to figure out a way to do this, so hopefully we'll get somewhere good in the end :). At least this is an issue that once resolved, we should never see again.

So I apologize for the further delays, but at least you know I'm not rushing out a half-assed release :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Nazgul
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:01 am
Location: Netherlands, The

Post by Nazgul » Wed Jul 20, 2005 5:19 pm

Would it be possible to create our own cat file, based on the information in the individual cat files, using a Microsoft tool called MakeCat?

Another option we could try is using the Microsoft tool SignTool which according to the docs has a 'catdb' option with a description of: Adds or removes a catalog file to or from a catalog database.

Both these tools are part of the Microsoft Windows Platform SDK CD, which can be ordered for free.

Sereby
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Germany

Post by Sereby » Wed Jul 20, 2005 5:59 pm

i have the cd downloaded dont ask from where! but i have the tools! but i really dont know how these works! really shit if you want i can upload makecat and if its there too the signtool

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:13 pm

So I apologize for the further delays, but at least you know I'm not rushing out a half-assed release Smile
:o if i have to wait another month for a well made release... thats fine by me. I only wish i had more knowledge about this to be able to help. :)

Nazgul, interesting links thanx. :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:35 pm

Nazgul wrote:Would it be possible to create our own cat file, based on the information in the individual cat files, using a Microsoft tool called MakeCat?
That was looked into very early into my project, but it's not feasible because you also need the digital certificate from Microsoft, which costs a pretty penny.
Another option we could try is using the Microsoft tool SignTool which according to the docs has a 'catdb' option with a description of: Adds or removes a catalog file to or from a catalog database.
Now THAT sounds promising!

Vid0
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:24 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by Vid0 » Wed Jul 20, 2005 7:12 pm

Some random statistics about most "failable" HDD from one hardware shop:

Fujitsu 483
IBM 377
Maxtor 200
Seagate 136
Quantum 108
Western Digital 94
Samsung 47

( http://www.derstein.ru/cgi-bin/stat.cgi?do=show )

Locked