Lots of SETxx.TMP files in Windows dir after install

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
Bazza
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Australia

Lots of SETxx.TMP files in Windows dir after install

Post by Bazza » Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:18 am

I'm not sure if this is a problem with RVMI 1.4.x, nLite 1.1 or the DP DriverPacks (method 2).

After installing WinXP Pro in VPC2004 & for "real", I have 145 SETxx.TMP files in my C:/Windows dir, eg. SET1A.TMP.

They are all digitally signed by MS & viewing their contents they look like .exe or .dll files that should have been renamed during 1 of the reboots. I looked through the various .log files but can't find any references to these files.

For the "real" install -- RVMI 1.4.0 & RVMUpdatepack 2.1.0 + addons & nLite 1.1 to delete some components.

Since I deleted some stuff via nLite that I shouldn't have, I've built another install DVD & tested it in VPC2004.

This time I used RVMI 1.4.1 to integrate the RVMUpdatepack 2.1.0 + addons. nLite to delete few(er) components & finally DP DriverPacks.

Is the above a problem? If so, any ideas of what/who is causing it?

PS. WinXP Pro is working aOK.

Thanks

decmk_
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:59 am

I have same problem?

Post by decmk_ » Mon Aug 07, 2006 4:01 am

I'm using RVM Integrator 1.4.0 + RVM update pack + Add-ons + nlite 1.1 to integrate textmode drivers for sata controllers, and I get same files in smaller number about 75 files.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Aug 07, 2006 4:17 am

Funny I have them too and have had them for awhile. I just delete them.

Sereby
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Germany

Post by Sereby » Mon Aug 07, 2006 4:38 am

that are tmp files which are created by the registered .cat files. you can delete them without any problems

piXelatedEmpire
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 7:49 am

Post by piXelatedEmpire » Mon Aug 07, 2006 5:02 am

I have the same temp files... :rolleyes:

Bazza
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Bazza » Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:00 pm

OK, will do. I was just a bit concerned that some part of the install process didn't work correctly for whatever reason.

Thanks one & all.

a06
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 2:11 pm

Post by a06 » Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:22 pm

Is this something that will be addressed by the next release of the integrator?

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:33 pm

Same here, but notice the date modified 2004
Image

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Mon Aug 07, 2006 8:12 pm

It has nothing to do with the integrator.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

a06
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 2:11 pm

Post by a06 » Tue Aug 08, 2006 8:02 am

Siginet wrote:It has nothing to do with the integrator.
so....
what is it then?

Sereby
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Germany

Post by Sereby » Tue Aug 08, 2006 8:06 am

Sereby wrote:that are tmp files which are created by the registered .cat files. you can delete them without any problems
that is it -_-

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Tue Aug 08, 2006 4:33 pm

In short, for a06 and anyone else, they're being created by Windows setup during install when it's doing it's thing.

Anything that has a .cat file requires processing of said .cat file. The results of that processing is the creation of the .tmp files.

Why? Because it can't process them directly from a cd/dvd media in the event that it needs to do any manipulation as those medias are write protected. It also cannot retain them exclusively in memory because setup requires the memory for the other things it's processing. It also needs to retain them when rebooting between txtmode setup and guimode setup. So, you get .tmp files.

And yes, you can batch a process to have them eliminated once the initial user account sign's in. Though, just to be on the safe side, you'd probably want to setup a .cmd file that, on initial login it, sets the value in the registry for RunOnce to do it on the SECOND login. I've tsted with both and _so far_ have not noticed any detrimental side effects.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Aug 08, 2006 4:50 pm

tahnx to zacam for explanations..

Bazza
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Bazza » Tue Aug 08, 2006 8:03 pm

@Zacam,

Great explanation, thanks very muchly.

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:24 am

So this should do the trick?

Code: Select all

del /F "%windir%\SET*.TMP"
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:38 am

Yeah, though I may just add that to the next pack to be done on the first login.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

a06
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 2:11 pm

Post by a06 » Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:48 pm

RyanVM wrote:Yeah, though I may just add that to the next pack to be done on the first login.
Nice! :D

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Wed Aug 09, 2006 3:57 pm

Yeah but make it hidden somehow ;)
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

User avatar
nuhi
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 5:29 pm
Contact:

Post by nuhi » Wed Aug 09, 2006 7:27 pm

Yeah I'll do that too automatically....but two files are used on first logon...set3 and set4.
nliteos.com|vlite.net
Remove components and customize Windows

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:03 pm

Ergo why a variable could/should be set that on first boot, the cmb/batch/whatever is then set in to RunOnce to run the deletion on the second login.

User avatar
UtCollector
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:31 pm
Contact:

Post by UtCollector » Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:50 pm

I use this in my cleanup.cmd:

Code: Select all

DEL "%systemroot%\SET*.tmp" /S /f

Post Reply