how to test the product of rvm integrator before burning it?

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
the_doc735
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:25 am

how to test the product of rvm integrator before burning it?

Post by the_doc735 » Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:43 am

how to test the product of rvm integrator before burning it?

OK, I've created an integrated winxp post sp2 addon image. Is there a way to test this before commiting it to a blank CD please?

what process?
what prog?

many thanks for the help! - you people must be amazing!!!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:44 am

Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:51 am

Mount the image with DAEMON Tools Free virtual CD/DVD Rom

the_doc735
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:25 am

Post by the_doc735 » Wed Aug 16, 2006 12:37 pm

its not an iso yet!

its still a set of folders within xpcd folder. I haven't created the iso file!

I've installed the MS virtual PC though...

NOW WHAT?

THANX!

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:04 pm

You need to make the iso first. by using the makeiso tab on the integrator.

Select your destination on the main tab. Then go to the makeiso tab and choose your settings. Once you have your iso you can use VirtualPC or VMWare to test the iso.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

Bazza
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Bazza » Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:12 pm

I've only used VPC once or twice & I don't have it installed anymore, so I'm going from memory only, but this is what I did:

1. Use CDIMAGE or similar to make a ISO from the XP dir on your HDD,
2. Burn the ISO to a CD (use a CD/RW so that it can be reused if necessary),
3. Start VPC & select a new VM, specify the appropriate OS, drive size, etc.
4. Put the above CD in your CD drive,
5. Start your new VM & install WinXP as you would normally.

I believe you can also use the ISO you created in step 1 above instead of a CD, however, I'm not sure how to do so.

If I got the above procedure wrong then I apologise. I'm sure my mistakes will be corrected in due course.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:36 pm

Bazza wrote:Use CDIMAGE or similar to make a ISO
Whats wrong with the Integrators ISO maker?

@the_doc735: Here is were you make the ISO
Image

-After you have finished integrating go to the make ISO tab and choose were you want the ISO to be saved, examaple: C:\Documents and Settings\User\My Documents\Windows XP SP2 August 06.iso
-Now choose a Volume Label, example: Ryan_XP_SP3

-Now hit Make and you will have your ISO

TIP: If you get an error close the Integrator and delete the integrator.ini file and start over by selecting the I386 source on the Main tab, then closing the Integrator, now reopen the Integrator and go to the Make ISO tab and re-enter your desired save location and volume label

Bazza
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Bazza » Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:50 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:Whats wrong with the Integrators ISO maker?
Nothing. I use CDIMAGE GUI for no other reason than that's what I have always used. As they say ... "old habits die hard".

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Aug 16, 2006 2:37 pm

heh, I still use the original cdimage.exe and a batch file to make my ISOs 8)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:44 pm

Its kinda like Bill Gates admitting to using linux. :)

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:59 pm

cdimage can be used through the integrator as well. just selct external tool and browse for cdimage.exe the select cdimage parameters to use the built in parameters for cdimage. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:17 am

I like to use this inf which gives you a nice context selection with cdimage.

Code: Select all

[Version]
Signature=$CHICAGO$

[DestinationDirs]
DefaultDestDir=11
MyCmdFiles=11,cmd
MyImgFile=11,img

[SourceDisksNames]
55=%DISKNAME%

[SourceDisksFiles]
bootiso.cmd=55
dataiso.cmd=55
xpBoot.img=55
CDIMAGE.EXE=55

[DefaultInstall]
CopyFiles=MyCmdFiles,MyImgFile,@CDIMAGE.EXE
AddReg=Reg.Settings

[MyCmdFiles]
bootiso.cmd
dataiso.cmd

[MyImgFile]
xpBoot.img

[Reg.Settings]
HKCR,Folder\shell\MakeBootISO\command,,,"%11%\cmd\bootiso.cmd ""%1"""
HKCR,Folder\shell\MakeDataISO\command,,,"%11%\cmd\dataiso.cmd ""%1"""

[Strings]
DISKNAME="CDIMAGE Files"
Cheers

MC.
The Man from Aus

Post Reply