Annoying WGA

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
User avatar
ebin25
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:51 am

Annoying WGA

Post by ebin25 » Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:35 pm

I have intigrated RVMAddonsWGA_1.5.540.0 and Kels_WGA_addon_1.5.708.0.cab....Yet, I still get that annoying pop up asking me to install WGA. WHAT DO I DO TO STOP THIS???? I used to pirate xp, but I bought a copy in hopes to avoid these things.... and get my updates. :rolleyes:

Image

Image

Is there another WGA addon I am missing? any help would be greatly appreciated.

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:39 pm

is it just me or does the above picture say windows VISTA????

i might be wrong but i thought that this addon you used was for windows XP not windows VISTA..

TechnoHunter

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:00 pm

Image

LMFAO Yes! :lol:

My guess is its Kels addon :P
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ebin25
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:51 am

Post by ebin25 » Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:01 pm

i am running rista 3.1 theme with icon patcher. no clue why it says i am running vista...... in addition, I was downloading IE7 RC1..... which is included in vista anyway.

I am going to reinstall without patching icons and be back to tell you the results.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:30 pm

Wait, its not your fault or error. I see that Windows vista thing on my computer too. and also that wga thing started to annoy me, as did you. i hava installed wga tray 1,5,540, then it required new legitcheckcontrol.dll file to be downloaded, i denied, then everytime it requires that...
also i havent used ryans or kels addon. just installed the tool...

User avatar
ebin25
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:51 am

Post by ebin25 » Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:32 am

I tried again without vista patch and got same results.

would this help matters at all... installed via runonceex?

swampy
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 2:46 am

Post by swampy » Wed Sep 20, 2006 1:56 am

LegitCheckControl.dll has been updated to 1.5.708.0 18th Sept 06, it has more than doubled in size: 1.41 MB

User avatar
ahmerkhan
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Post by ahmerkhan » Wed Sep 20, 2006 6:35 am

IMO,Just Integrate Kels WGA Addon....Both RyanVM and Kels WGA contains LegitCheckControl.dll files,May be Possible that they are Overlaping eachother with thier Registry Entries....


Kels WGA in the Updated One! :)

PsiMoon314
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 12:55 pm
Location: Haverfordwest, Wales, UK

Post by PsiMoon314 » Tue Oct 17, 2006 4:21 pm

Hi,

Does anyone have the WGA Notification Tool .exe download (or a link to the same) which contains the more recent LegitCheckControl.dll file (v1.5.708.0)?

I am assuming that this is a Windows XP update however :wink:

Kind Regards

Simon

chris.b ®
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:20 pm

Post by chris.b ® » Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:01 pm

Here's the link to the cab you get while installing this dll from internet explorer. It contains 1.5.0708.0
legitcheckcontrol.cab

But when I searched the link I figured out there's a newer Versision out now -> 1.5.0716.0 from here

This is the universal link to always get the newest version of this dll.

And btw : The WGA notifications tool is no longer provided over WU/MU!
there have always been ghosts in the machines

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:32 pm

Wrong, yesterday WGA Notifications popped up here after a fresh install of XP SP2 Ryan 2.1.3.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:28 pm

It must just not be showing in the US ? I never did see any press release or news story as to why it suddenly disappeared here.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:49 pm

My mistake, it doesn't popup on MU, only after I placed in WgaLogon.dll and WgaTray.exe in \system32 myself (was trying something out) and they appeared to be outdated. After I deleted those 2 files, WGA Notifications didn't popup on MU.

Post Reply