RyanVM Update Pack 2.1.5a - Released December 17, 2006

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Tue Dec 19, 2006 3:26 pm

thanx Ryan again! ;)

bugger
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 3:17 pm

Post by bugger » Tue Dec 19, 2006 3:30 pm

Everything seems to work fine for me.. including USB. Then I realized I didn't want to redo everything so I went back to my install that i've had for almost two years.

larciel
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:14 am

Post by larciel » Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:17 pm

bugger wrote:Everything seems to work fine for me.. including USB. Then I realized I didn't want to redo everything so I went back to my install that i've had for almost two years.
2yrs without reinstall? wow . I can't get mine to stay error-free for more than 3 months..

User avatar
ebin25
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:51 am

Re: RyanVM Update Pack 2.1.5a - Released December 17, 2006

Post by ebin25 » Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:45 am

RyanVM wrote: High Definition Audio isn't working right for some people. As a workaround, replace the two hdaudio INFs with the ones from the September Update Pack (or directly extracted from KB888111).
Can someone give me a link to those files? I do not have any old update packs and cannot find a dl link for KB888111. I tried installing without the files, but I ran into issues (SoundMAX Digital HD Audio.)
Image


User avatar
ebin25
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:51 am

Post by ebin25 » Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:34 am

wow. I wish I had that link three hours ago (and many times before.)

thanks
Image

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:54 am

You can get KB888111 from all over the net. Hell, most mobo manufacturers include it with their driver downloads.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
ebin25
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:51 am

Post by ebin25 » Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:25 am

yeah... I noticed that as well. Softpedia has it on every other page.
Last edited by ebin25 on Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

mirecek1965
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 11:58 am

Post by mirecek1965 » Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:16 am

Much thank & Merry Christmas to all.

User avatar
DarkNiteS11
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 7:18 pm
Location: Purgatory

Post by DarkNiteS11 » Fri Dec 22, 2006 2:32 am

Thank you Ryan for another update pack, and the quick 2.1.5a. I love this place.
Image

diabloskeepe
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:26 pm

Post by diabloskeepe » Sat Dec 23, 2006 2:40 pm

Thanks Ryan for another great update pack. Along with all the other addons as well as nlite, im able to feed my (ADHD-OCD) habbit while at the same time ending up with a better version of windows that I started with.

Thanks

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Sat Dec 23, 2006 6:50 pm

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

notice its published Dec 19? But yet RVM2.1.5a was released Dec 17.. and yet KB896256 is included in the rvm list, what does this mean?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Dec 23, 2006 7:11 pm

It was available by request prior to being released publicly
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Dec 23, 2006 7:13 pm

Also, biatche, the current Update Pack includes KB896256-v3. The version Microsoft publicly released on the 19th was KB896256-v4.

User avatar
DarkNiteS11
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 7:18 pm
Location: Purgatory

Post by DarkNiteS11 » Sat Dec 23, 2006 9:42 pm

Every time I try to integrate 2.1.5a to a fresh source (no addons, no patches, just integrating the update pack) using RVM Integrator 1.4.2 I get an error message:

Error: No entries*.ini Found, Exiting

Anyone else encounter this?
Image

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Dec 23, 2006 9:58 pm

I've received that error when there is less than 1 GB of free space on the destination. Free some space and try again.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sat Dec 23, 2006 10:07 pm

Yeah, this may help. Maybe this one. In short its generally solved by not-using spaces or special characters in path's.

User avatar
DarkNiteS11
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 7:18 pm
Location: Purgatory

Post by DarkNiteS11 » Sat Dec 23, 2006 11:24 pm

I have no spaces or special characters involved, 1.7TB free. The one thing that did work for me was setting a path to the folder where the integrator was located.
Image

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Sun Dec 24, 2006 2:33 am

also for your info (your milage may vary) some addons dont play nice with the update pack.. try integrating only the update pack and then exit and go back and integrate the addons.. see if that helps

TechnoHunter

User avatar
DarkNiteS11
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 7:18 pm
Location: Purgatory

Post by DarkNiteS11 » Sun Dec 24, 2006 5:03 am

Thanks for the replies everybody. I really do appreciate it when others are willing to help.

BTW, I had mentioned I was not using any addons or patches. I had also seen the threads MrNxDmX mentioned, but for some odd reason the path variable did not take effect until after a restart. That really threw me off because I was under the impression that adding entries to path was always an instantly applied change.

What I was still wondering is why the issue cropped up in the first place. I've done hundreds upon hundreds of test builds, and have been using the same folder structure since I began slipstreaming with the release of Win2K SP3. None of the paths had changed since the introduction of the RVM Integrator, when I added the folders \RyanVM_Integrator, \Update_Packs, and \Addons. This same root folder and it's sub directories have been copied across 3 full machine upgrades, 5 storage restructurings, and this is the first issue.

Oh well, another day = another lesson learned.
Image

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:03 am

Just so you know, the path issues are one of the big issues that we're aiming to completely wipe out for the next Integrator release. So, I'm happy you found a solution for now and hope that in the future it won't come to that :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

sokar
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 3:20 am

Post by sokar » Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:54 am

Spot on as always Ryan.

Thanks very much for your continued effort on this project and all the best for you and yours in the New Year mate :D

mantorras
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 9:15 am

Post by mantorras » Wed Dec 27, 2006 9:52 am

I already installed Windows XP from a CD with update pack 2.1.5, and i don't have any problems with USB.
Do i still have to do anything?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Dec 27, 2006 10:31 am

Don't worry about it then. If you want to play it safe, just install the KB918005 hotfix on it to get the CAT file properly installed.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
motokiume
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 7:10 am
Location: England

Post by motokiume » Thu Dec 28, 2006 9:36 am

I have been using the update packs and the integrator for a few months now, and they are much appreciated.

They have all worked well for me, and I want to say thanks to Ryan and everyone else on the forum for all the hard work that has been put into the update packs and the integrator.

JonathanTNeal
Design Guru
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:38 pm
Location: Planet Hollywood

Post by JonathanTNeal » Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:15 am

*rises from the dead*

@Ryan - gee ryan, that's a reeeeal nice torrent tracker, maybe a little buggy, but nice never-the-less.

@Siginet - hi hi hi hi hi *waves annoyingly until siginet mumbles something and turns away*

@TJHart85 - fast(er) than hell.

User avatar
UtCollector
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:31 pm
Contact:

Post by UtCollector » Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:07 pm

Could it be that you're latest addon packs breaks my theme? And i got a change of the coulor to that is used in menu's
I did try the other update packs but they worked fine.

Intergrated the update pack last with Intergrator.

This it how it looks and how it must look.
Image

Well i hope Ryan ore someone els can help me. I do prevere to intergrate Ryans update pack

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:12 pm

Are you using a WMPlayer addon or the WMP 11 Integrator UtCollector?

User avatar
UtCollector
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:31 pm
Contact:

Post by UtCollector » Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:18 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:Are you using a WMPlayer addon or the WMP 11 Integrator UtCollector?
Yes i do use my version of the wmp11 addon. Hmm but the theme still got fucked after using that theme fix

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:50 pm

Is your theme service running? And which theme is it? Let me try.
Edit: Dont think that its about the update pack. It must be sth else.

User avatar
tommy
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:06 pm
Location: South Carolina

Post by tommy » Thu Jan 04, 2007 1:37 pm

I just did download RVMUpdatePack2.1.5a.7z and Integrator 1.4.2. When I integrate an error comes up:

Image

I downloaded the pack again and got the error again. My internet connection is fine. Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Tom

BTW, thanks again for the work and Happy New Year to all. :D

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:00 pm

UtCollector

you need to patch uxtheme.dll again!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:41 pm

tommy wrote:I just did download RVMUpdatePack2.1.5a.7z and Integrator 1.4.2. When I integrate an error comes up:

Image

I downloaded the pack again and got the error again. My internet connection is fine. Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Tom

BTW, thanks again for the work and Happy New Year to all. :D
That error has absolutely nothing to do with my pack or the Integrator. Have you tried searching Google for that error message?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

gsxr
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: +31

Post by gsxr » Fri Jan 05, 2007 5:38 am

tommy wrote:I just did download RVMUpdatePack2.1.5a.7z and Integrator 1.4.2. When I integrate an error comes up:

Image

I downloaded the pack again and got the error again. My internet connection is fine. Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Tom

BTW, thanks again for the work and Happy New Year to all. :D
Seems to me like Windows Defender or a Antivirus product.

gsxr
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: +31

Post by gsxr » Fri Jan 05, 2007 6:39 am

Hi Ryan,

You are giving a lot of people a big smile on there face with this great update pack! I just installed it yesterday for the first time.

I have read through this thread and noticed your comment on KB926247.
I use your pack for a RIS image in which I have activated SNMP. Most networks use this protocol so I think a small group of administrators will appreciate this patch, however it will be a small thing for them (looking at myself) to add it somewhere along their other software installations inside RIS. So if you leave it out because your focus is on a cd install for people at home I can imagine that you will not implement it.

I noticed however that after my installation is done the KB890859 and KB917953 are still missing and they are in your big list of integrated patches. They are trickered by my internal update server WSUS.

Also 2 patches missing which are not in your pack, KB885835 and KB914389. Any reason for this?

Thanks!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:37 am

gsxr wrote:I noticed however that after my installation is done the KB890859 and KB917953 are still missing and they are in your big list of integrated patches. They are trickered by my internal update server WSUS.
You hacking any files? That's the number one cause of MS thinking a fix needs to be reinstalled. 917953 jumps out at me because many people hack tcpip.sys.
Also 2 patches missing which are not in your pack, KB885835 and KB914389. Any reason for this?

Thanks!
They're both superseded by other fixes in the pack. Compare the file versions from the KB articles to those of the files in my pack.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

gsxr
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: +31

Post by gsxr » Fri Jan 05, 2007 10:22 am

KB890859 and KB917953
I will start from scratch again and then I will have only one file 'hacked' and that would be intl.inf to get rid of the famous kbdbhc.dll message at T39 stage. I'm doing nothing with the tcpip.sys

KB885835 and KB914389
I will compare my WSUS against the Windows Update site to see if they report different.

Let you know.
Thanks for the answers.

Cheers

vecter
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:32 pm

Post by vecter » Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:20 pm

Firstly @Ryan - This update pack rocks, I've been using it for over a year now, and it's never steered me wrong! (Annoyances with nlite excluded :wink: ) So, thanks for everything!

Now- I'm running into an issue with the latest update pack (2.1.5a), and I don't know if it is the "High Definition Audio" problem or not.

I'm installing onto a ASRock ConroeXFire-eSata2 which has the Realtek High Definition Audio... if I do an install w/o the Update Pack, it works great, if I do it WITH the update pack, I run into problems.

Text Mode install has no problem
Graphical Mode install has no problem
Upon first boot (When RunOnceEx would fire off), the system hangs at the splash screen.

I tried disabling varying devices to no avail (Including sound)... I've turned on boot logging, but it doesn't show anything useful.

Could this be the Audio issue? (I only ask because after searching through the forums for an hour, I couldn't find a great description for exactly *WHAT* the HD Audio issue was)

Thanks again!

vecter
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:32 pm

Post by vecter » Fri Jan 05, 2007 4:17 pm

Oh... just to avoid any of the basics: This was done on a clean SP2 install, with RVM Integrator 1.4.2. When I just used the same clean SP2, w/o the UpdatePack, the install went fine.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Jan 05, 2007 5:58 pm

Hi vecter. The HDA issues was about "driver is not signed by microsoft". It shouldnt freeze your windows xp. And, as Ryan has stated before, try using hdaudio.inf and hdaudbus.inf files from the September release. (I am making an addon right now.)

I am using my turkish update pack on a Realtek HDA sound card containing mobo, it doesnt freeze.

Edit: Addon released here: [Release] Original HDA Inf Files Replacer Addon

-DeN-
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:13 pm

Post by -DeN- » Mon Jan 08, 2007 5:49 am

Hi, I'm completely new on the board...but using the pack since a long time already. I've usually used it with nLite..but I stopped using it because i figured out that i have had MANY more problems than gained time! Anyway, I've just registered to thank you for your great pack....so: THANK YOU!

moharamrksalim
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Egypt

Post by moharamrksalim » Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:41 pm

thankyou very much.............

the_guy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 am
Location: PEI, Canada

Post by the_guy » Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:58 pm

@Ryan: New update released since the 2.1.5a. KB925720. Do you plan on including this update in the next version?

the_guy

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:07 pm

Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Locked