problem in timeline T39 in ryan 1.3.1

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
bhurtel
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:26 pm

problem in timeline T39 in ryan 1.3.1

Post by bhurtel » Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:06 am


my setup screen is stucked for more then 1 hr, so being tired i restart my PC, again the same.
currently i intregated 1.3.1 normally manually.

t39 hangs more then a hour

i have nothing intregated in my xp except ver 1.3.1 and addons

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Fri Aug 26, 2005 10:56 am

this wont fix the problem but it will give you and idea as towhat is causing the problem Click On Me
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:22 am

I doubt it's hung permanently. A hang at T39 is to be expected, but an hour does seem awful long. Did you integrate over a clean CD?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

virgilash
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:36 am

Post by virgilash » Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:29 am

i have exactly the same problem, and even longer (at least an hour and a half) - on a clean SP2 CD (integrated manually with integrator).
Last edited by virgilash on Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:29 am

My longest hang was 27 minutes on a crappy 600 mhz pc with a 4 x cdrom :lol:, so one hour sounds like somehing is really wrong,
oh btw correct me if im wrong ryan but technically the install doesnt hang at t-39 its just that its signing the cats or signing the files defined in the cats i think.
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

virgilash
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:36 am

Post by virgilash » Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:30 am

my pc is a 3 Ghz with 52X CDROM ...

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:37 am

Thats what i said i think something is wrong with your install

RyanVM wrote:I doubt it's hung permanently. A hang at T39 is to be expected, but an hour does seem awful long. Did you integrate over a clean CD?
did you update a clean install?
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

larciel
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:14 am

Post by larciel » Fri Aug 26, 2005 2:05 pm

it does take me about 10min to get through t39 stage now. i have bash's DP (method2) and ryan 1.3.1 along with nlite

comp is sempron @ 2ghz and 1ghz.

probably it's not bad idea to burn your UA cd again with different media and at slow speed. (if you notice that comp has reading your current cd) .. happened to me couple times with my memorex .. after using taiyo cdr .. problem went away

Juzman05
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 2:11 pm
Contact:

Post by Juzman05 » Fri Aug 26, 2005 2:13 pm

I just had the same problem. It "hang" at the T-39 for about 10 minutes, now its upto 36min remaining :D

Im running a Athlon XP 2500+ (barton) / 1GB PC-3200.

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Fri Aug 26, 2005 2:21 pm

its a known issue, the install will hang at t-39
dgelwin wrote:My longest hang was 27 minutes on a crappy 600 mhz pc with a 4 x cdrom :lol:, so one hour sounds like somehing is really wrong,
oh btw correct me if im wrong ryan but technically the install doesnt hang at t-39 its just that its signing the cats or signing the files defined in the cats i think.
hahaha :lol: ive been reduced to quoting myself because of my excesive lazyness. :lol:
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:58 pm

Allways use a freshly slipstreamed SP2 disk or a real SP2 disk with no hotfixes integrated. From my experiances and others it is best to start fresh. If you don't then problems may occur when it tries to install the hotfixes twice. I think that is the issue because I was having the same issues and I used the shift F10 trick and found out that there were multiple hotfixes that were hung.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Paul_365
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 6:38 am

Post by Paul_365 » Sat Aug 27, 2005 7:29 am

I reported this in another topic but i had the same issue last night.

Please can you list your hardware if you have problems.

The chipset and what type of drive ( sata or ide ) I think are very important.

And if you had to use the f6 to add sata drivers or if you slipped in sata drivers so you dont have to f6 where you normaly would.

My Hardware.
Abit VT7, Via Chipset and sata drive with sata drivers slipped in using this http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?sho ... 34440&st=0 method and not the bashrat pack.
Last edited by Paul_365 on Sat Aug 27, 2005 7:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

tbone2
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:04 am
Contact:

Post by tbone2 » Sat Aug 27, 2005 7:33 am

i have a sata drive and slip the drivers in ...vm took about 9 min at the t39.
still as completely install in 25 min far less the the 39 minute window says.
so i have no problem.

User avatar
Paul_365
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 6:38 am

Post by Paul_365 » Sat Aug 27, 2005 7:37 am

Actually you might have sata drive but your vm dosnt, it emulates standard hardware, so your test to VM is the same as installing to real hardware using IDE drives and an intel chipset.

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Sat Aug 27, 2005 7:45 am

not exactly... maybe the emulated hardware is not sata, however it is as fast as one... since the real hdd is actually sata
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

User avatar
Paul_365
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 6:38 am

Post by Paul_365 » Sat Aug 27, 2005 7:51 am

Its not the speed of the drive thats in question, its weather the T39 Delay is exagerated because the install is on a Via chipset or is using a sata drive or drivers.

Installing to a Virtual PC is not a valid test for this, as your install on your VM or VPC should be the same as mine is providing our source disks are the same.

The Problem is only diagnoseable (real word?) when we install to real hardware and expose the install to real hardware.

player

Post by player » Sat Aug 27, 2005 8:11 am

I wouldnt even refer to this as an 'issue'

Its a normal function of integrating the *.cat files.

Remove all reference of *.cat from svcpack.in_
and watch your installation fly past T39

player

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:40 am

Vm Ware is capable of emulating sata drives, just be sure to select it when creating your virtual disc, and yes i have tried it, and yes it is slower with sata than with ide drives, go figure, i have no idea why.
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

Post Reply