A question regarding KB896256 and Boot.ini

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

A question regarding KB896256 and Boot.ini

Post by Stimpy » Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:00 pm

Hello all,

I just read this artical over at the inquirer about many OEM Dual Core PC's not having the correct and needed MS Hotfixes installed.

http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=38508

So out of pure curiosity, I had a look at the Boot.ini file on 2 of my computers that I use Ryan's update packs with. I noticed that the switch "/usepmtimer" is not present in the file, so I was wondering if it is actually needed, or is this a small oversite on Ryans part, or is it not possible for modification of the Boot.ini during install?

Here is a direct link to the original post over at notebookreview.com...

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=60416

P.S.
Ryan's pack obviously installs the correct registry entries. :wink:

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Mar 27, 2007 7:51 pm

You need to add it after the fact if you want to use it.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:32 pm

OK Ryan, thanks for replying.

Do you think that it makes any real difference to performance/stability?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:56 pm

On my dual core system, I noticed a definite difference in games using /usepmtimer. Games like Far Cry stuttered horribly without it being used, but they worked fine afterwards. However, I think if you use the AMD Dual Core optimizer, it pretty well negates the need for it.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:05 pm

I thought that the AMD DC Driver was just a work around for MS not officially making KB896256 available to the public? (I could be very wrong :wink: ) Also, the AMD DC driver always makes my PC take about 20 secs or so longer to start up.

And I'm pretty sure that the DC driver adds the same switch to Boot.ini.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:07 pm

I agree with that. I noticed definite hangs after logging on when using the DC optimizer. As a result, I don't use it personally :P. I think if you use /usepmtimer with my pack, you'll be happy with the results.

And if someone knows of a way to get /usepmtimer added to boot.ini on only dual core systems, I'm all ears. That said, I think manual is the way to do it :).
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:16 pm

Nice one Ryan.

You have made my mind up, I will just try and remember to always add that line to Boot.ini. Your reg entries are spot on for the MS hotfix, so the modification to the .ini file is all that is needed to make use of KB896256. But from what I can tell, without the entry in boot.ini, KB896256 does not get used/activated.

I do a fair bit of gaming, and have hated the problems that the AMD DC drivers sometimes causes, so I'm more than happy with what you say on the matter.


Thanks for your help Ryan, take it easy :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:18 pm

If you really felt motivated, you could probably script that modification right into your unattended CD ;)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:21 pm

Hehe! I'm a baby when it comes to that kind of stuff. But I like to learn. I will try and have a go at doing that.

Cheers for the idea :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:23 pm

Talk to BtS about it, I'm pretty sure he did something similar with DP Base once upon a time.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

bugger
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 3:17 pm

Post by bugger » Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:24 am

What does it do for multi-core laptops that aren't exactly meant for gaming?

Question is why the hotfix requires an additional boot.ini parameter. They should have the kernel test for conditions (# of processors or cores) to determine if it is needed and that registry entry alone should determine if it is enabled or not. The KB article makes absolutely no mention of needing to modify boot.ini.

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:17 am

microsoft.... need i say more?

the bloody company makes us PAY for bugfixes and calls em "new" Os's win95 fixed is win98->win98SE and so on.. only company that i know of that can fix one problem and find 37 more with the "fix" being responsible for all the new bugs!

User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by dougiefresh » Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:41 am

TechnoHunter wrote:only company that i know of that can fix one problem and find 37 more with the "fix" being responsible for all the new bugs!
LOL!!! So right, TechnoHunter!

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:57 am

bugger wrote:What does it do for multi-core laptops that aren't exactly meant for gaming?
Better resource usage, esp in CPU dependent programs, such as video encoding, folding, and various other things that tax a CPU these days.

It is odd that this fix does not activate without that switch in boot.ini. And even stranger that there is no mechanism in place that detects a DC CPU and automatically modify system settings. It does make me wonder just what other KB hotfixes are inactive until some external measure switches them on!

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:33 am

By the way, as I recall AMD's DC Optimiser actually adds that switch to the boot.ini on its own if it isn't present already.

Fragbert
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:59 am

Post by Fragbert » Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:35 am

Completely off base here but does this issue also apply to Server 2003, and if so is there a hotfix available as well?

rootfile
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:46 am

usepmtimer

Post by rootfile » Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:10 am

@RyanVM Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:07 pm

If you can get the dual core flag from setup somehow, then all you have to do is issue this command:

@echo off
bootcfg /raw /id 1 "/usepmtimer" > nul

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:16 am

Nice work rootfile, I have an idea...

Would it be possible to make a batch file with this command in it, and then issue it as an addon, for dual core owners only?

User avatar
pen25jf
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:22 pm

Post by pen25jf » Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:38 am

Thanks for bringing this up, I was totally unaware of this. Since it's installed in Ryan's pack, what can you do to activate the KB??

Thanks

rootfile
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:46 am

Post by rootfile » Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:25 pm

@Stimpy

I put the command in a winrar file that I use to customize my installations after the end of setup e.g., configuring sendto, quicklaunch, icons, skins, desktop namespaces, registry entries, etc., using Windows Post Installer to launch the winrar file.

my cmd file for customizing boot.ini, for instance, looks like this:

@echo off
bootcfg /raw /id 1 "/NOPAE /NOEXECUTE=ALWAYSOFF /NOGUIBOOT /SOS" > nul

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:54 pm

Dual Core is installed like Multi-CPU if I understand it correctly.
So you would only need to check for the presence of a Multi-CPU kernel.
NTKRNLMP.EXE & NTKRPAMP.EXE are the Multi-CPU kernels.

I don't have a dual core CPU but you can try testing this:
FOR %%D in (%systemroot%\system32\NTKR*MP.EXE) DO start /wait bootcfg /raw /id 1 "/usepmtimer" > nul
Let me know if it works.
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Apr 16, 2007 8:19 pm

It won't. On multiprocessor systems, the MP kernel files are copied to the hard drive as ntoskrnl.exe and ntkrnlpa.exe still. Because leaving it the other way would have just been way too easy.

Look, detecting it is possible. BtS used to (if he doesn't still) do the detection for this exact reason.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

PsiMoon314
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 12:55 pm
Location: Haverfordwest, Wales, UK

Post by PsiMoon314 » Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:54 pm

Hi

Would it be as simple as using the %NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS% environment variable?

On my dual-core AMD X2 PC this is set to 2 (strangely enough).

My apologies if I am being way to simplistic here :)

Kind Regards

Simon

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Apr 17, 2007 6:14 pm

Quite possibly. I'm thinking that might be complicated by Hyperthreading, but I think /usepmtimer is fairly harmless on single-processor systems anyway.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:59 pm

There is a much easier way to edit .ini files, its called UpdateInis... Here is a INF file that will do what you need (you can test it out by right clicking in it and choosing Install)

Code: Select all

;--------------------------------
; r i c k t e n d o 6 4  2 0 0 8
;--------------------------------

[Version]
Signature="$Windows NT$"

[Optional Components]
Boot Config

[DefaultInstall]
UpdateInis=Edit.File

[Boot Config]
OptionDesc="Boot Tweak"
Tip       ="Edits boot.ini"
Modes     =0,1,2,3
UpdateInis=Edit.File

[Edit.File]
%24%boot.ini,operating systems,"multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="""Microsoft Windows XP Professional""" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect","multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="""Microsoft Windows XP Professional""" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /usepmtimer",1

User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by dougiefresh » Sat Feb 02, 2008 2:05 pm

Bober101 has made a more universal add-on here, if anyone's interested. He may be updating the add-on soon because of some suggestions I made....
Visit me at home: http://xptsp.filetap.com

Post Reply