Problems with Arabic MUI and Other MUI

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Problems with Arabic MUI and Other MUI

Post by Wesmosis » Fri Apr 13, 2007 5:55 am

thanx Ryan, I hope this version is compatible with the Arabic MUI, since I've faced problems in MUI with 2.1.7
gonna test it and feed back
Last edited by Wesmosis on Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:26 am

Wesmosis wrote:thanx Ryan, I hope this version is compatible with the Arabic MUI, since I've faced problems in MUI with 2.1.7
gonna test it and feed back
If you really want to post productive feedback, tracking down what fix broke the Arabic MUI would be very useful. If you're certain that it first broke with 2.1.7, do an install with 2.1.6 and install the fixes in 2.1.7 one at a time until it breaks.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:14 pm

RyanVM wrote:
Wesmosis wrote:thanx Ryan, I hope this version is compatible with the Arabic MUI, since I've faced problems in MUI with 2.1.7
gonna test it and feed back
If you really want to post productive feedback, tracking down what fix broke the Arabic MUI would be very useful. If you're certain that it first broke with 2.1.7, do an install with 2.1.6 and install the fixes in 2.1.7 one at a time until it breaks.
yeah it looks like a good idea (Diagnosis by Exclusion!) ;) :lol:
but where I can find older versions like v2.1.6?

I have RVMUpdatePack2.1.2.7z , gonna try it out

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:16 pm

Wesmosis wrote:but where I can find older versions like v2.1.6?
I hear that the BitTorrent tracker has a lot of older stuff on it ;)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:33 pm

RyanVM wrote:
Wesmosis wrote:but where I can find older versions like v2.1.6?
I hear that the BitTorrent tracker has a lot of older stuff on it ;)
IC, I'll figure out how to fetch it ;), maybe on RS

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:15 pm

2.0.7a is Ok with Arabic MUI
I'm doing the same steps, I'm kinda pro so I won't mess things up
plz Ryan, do somethin', your package is widely distributed in the Arab region and a big majority will install the Arabic MUI
:)

EDIT1

also 2.1.2 , became totally Arabic by Arabic MUI

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:13 pm

any one confirm the known bug with other MUI other than Arabic MUI?!
I've downloaded 2.1.6 , but didn't work also like 2.1.5a , 2.1.7 , 2.1.9

so far, 2.1.2 is cool, I'll try to download the versions between 2.1.5a and 2.1.2 and see which pack that interferes with the MUI

Hope you ryan the cooperation and the understanding
Last edited by Wesmosis on Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:56 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:19 pm

2.1.5a is on the tracker, so try that next. If that doesn't work, send me a PM and I can help you get 2.1.3 and 2.1.4
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:26 am

O'righty Ryan
thanx a lot ;)

Miteto
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:40 am

Post by Miteto » Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:43 pm

Wesmosis wrote:any one confirm the known bug with other MUI other than Arabic MUI?! ...
Confirmed. Same problem with Bulgarian MUI. Something got to do with shell32.dll I guess. I know nothing about programming but I think that the troublemaker (read hotfix) does its job different way if there is already installed MUI.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Apr 18, 2007 4:32 pm

There's an easy test for that hypothesis. Grab MS' most recent hotfix that hits shell32.dll. Integrate it onto a clean XPSP2 CD using the /integrate switch (which will still replace the DLL in i386). Try to install the MUI and see what happens. If the same problem exists, then you've got a bug which can be submitted to MS :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:00 am

@Miteto: Try to replace your shell32.dll.mui in C:\WINDOWS\mui\Fallback\0402\ with this one. Also open regedit and search for

Code: Select all

muicache
and delete all keys with this name. Reboot.
Probably the problem occur due version missmatch between the shell32.dll in the update pack and the one from the microsoft MUI.

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:55 am

finally, I figured out which Ryan Pack start interfering with MUI
it's the 2.1.3 version
it's the Two year anniversary edition!!

it seems that it contains inappropriate hotfix or somethin'


@colornokia
the link you provide didn't work
TIA

and here is the changelog of 2.1.3

Code: Select all

Version 2.1.3 - Released October 14, 2006 - Two year anniversary edition!

    * Added KB910678 Hotfix. Replaces KB886716 Hotfix.
    * Added KB911990 Hotfix. Replaces KB899510 and KB902841 Hotfixes.
    * Added KB914463 Hotfix. Replaces KB913538 Hotfix.
    * Added KB915865 Hotfix.
    * Added KB917140 Hotfix. Replaces KB885894 Hotfix.
    * Added KB918033 Hotfix.
    * Added KB921411 Hotfix.
    * Added KB922819 Hotfix.
    * Added KB923191 Hotfix. Replaces KB884883 Hotfix.
    * Added KB923414 Hotfix.
    * Added KB924191 Hotfix. Replaces KB919587 Hotfix.
    * Added KB924496 Hotfix.
    * Added KB924692 Hotfix. Replaces KB918005 Hotfix.
    * Added KB924867 Hotfix. Replaces KB917422 Hotfix.
    * Added KB924941 Hotfix. Replaces KB920875 Hotfix.
    * Added KB925486 Hotfix. Replaces KB883586 Hotfix.
    * Fixed an issue with KB888111 integration which caused driver installation to fail on some systems.
    * Made DirectX 9.0c End-User Runtimes a separate addon.
    * Removed MSXML 5.0.
    * Updated Malicious Software Removal Tool to version 1.21.
    * Updated MSXML 4.0 SP2 to KB925672 release.
    * Updated MSXML 6.0 to KB925673 release.
Salam

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:56 am

Wesmosis, you're not done yet...

Now that you know which pack interferes, do an install with 2.1.2 and start installing the fixes from the 2.1.3 pack until you find the problem.

BTW, I'm hoping you realize that this is almost certainly a Microsoft bug which is going to have to be submitted to them in the end...
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:43 pm

RyanVM wrote:Wesmosis, you're not done yet...

Now that you know which pack interferes, do an install with 2.1.2 and start installing the fixes from the 2.1.3 pack until you find the problem.

BTW, I'm hoping you realize that this is almost certainly a Microsoft bug which is going to have to be submitted to them in the end...
yes indeed
but where I can get the HFs of 2.1.3 seperately?
in order to figure out the nasty hfx which cost me about 200 mbs downloading ;)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:45 pm

umm, most of them are available publicly from MS (did you even look at the KB articles?). You can fill the other ones with Xable's hotfix share.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:58 pm

Wesmosis wrote:but where I can get the HFs of 2.1.3 seperately?
in order to figure out the nasty hfx which cost me about 200 mbs downloading ;)
Let me do this:
- I have all the KBs of Ryanvm's pack (2.1.9) except 2 or 3.
- I will make a fresh XPCD-SP2 then install MUI.
- Then install those KB's one by one to find out which kb changes the localized name of desktop icons.
see you soon.
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:49 pm

moataz wrote:
Wesmosis wrote:but where I can get the HFs of 2.1.3 seperately?
in order to figure out the nasty hfx which cost me about 200 mbs downloading ;)
Let me do this:
- I have all the KBs of Ryanvm's pack (2.1.9) except 2 or 3.
- I will make a fresh XPCD-SP2 then install MUI.
- Then install those KB's one by one to find out which kb changes the localized name of desktop icons.
see you soon.
Oh thanx Motaz for sharing us

but no need for 2.1.9 HFs, just test the 2.1.3 HFs on fresh SP2 and figure out which HF causing this issue

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:36 pm

Hey, i hope this can help you: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=913808
Install this update to enable the MUI resource to continue to load in the event that the version of the base DLL has changed. This update targets customers who have installed the Language Interface Pack on Windows XP Service Pack 2
Edit: Is ur problem similar to this one?
Or is it exactly the same?

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:52 pm

Wesmosis wrote: @colornokia
the link you provide didn't work
The link is for the bulgarian translation of shell32.dll so i the link is on bulgarian server, because I didn't other peoples the install it and mess theirs systems with language which they don't know :) I'm almoust certain that the problems is in the different file versions. Try to edit shell32.dll.mui version to be the same as shell32.dll in system32 directory :)

PS: @MrNxDmX nice find, should do the trick :)

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:39 pm

MrNxDmX wrote:Hey, i hope this can help you: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=913808
Install this update to enable the MUI resource to continue to load in the event that the version of the base DLL has changed. This update targets customers who have installed the Language Interface Pack on Windows XP Service Pack 2
Edit: Is ur problem similar to this one?
Or is it exactly the same?
the problem is EXACTLY the same and I made some screenshots for it


I'm having hard time downloading from Micro$, would you mind sharing this hotfix on RS or Mihd.net

TIA

@colornokia
thanx ;)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:59 pm

http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/files/KB913808.exe

Let me know how it goes. If it works, it's a fix which I could easily incorporate into the pack in future versions :-).
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:12 pm

And here we go with an addon :)

Download here: NR_KB913808_Addon.7z
Size: 8KB / MD5: 0139DAE4F1A73AC31107D9D86968EFF3

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:45 pm

RyanVM wrote:http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/files/KB913808.exe

Let me know how it goes. If it works, it's a fix which I could easily incorporate into the pack in future versions :-).
ok , testing

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:31 pm

moataz wrote: Let me do this:
- I have all the KBs of Ryanvm's pack (2.1.9) except 2 or 3.
- I will make a fresh XPCD-SP2 then install MUI.
- Then install those KB's one by one to find out which kb changes the localized name of desktop icons.
see you soon.
For Knowledge:
This method didn't work to find the kb and exclude it. :(
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:41 pm

That doesn't surprise me given what KB913808 says. You might have better luck installing the hotfixes before installing the MUI. FYI - I highly recommend making a backup of your virtual hard drive file immediately after a clean XP install ;).
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Sun Apr 22, 2007 3:30 am

Salam guyz
I've downloaded KB913808.exe
installed it on 2.1.9, then install MUI
still got the same problem (some icons and menus still in english) :(

@MrNxDmX
thanx buddy

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun Apr 22, 2007 11:18 am

Np Wesmosis.
Yesterday i did install an RVM UpPck 219 in vmware, then installed Turkish MUI on top of it.
StartMenu entries were turkish/english. All explanations were in english. So it seems, this problem is not related with only arabic.

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:18 pm

MrNxDmX wrote:Np Wesmosis.
Yesterday i did install an RVM UpPck 219 in vmware, then installed Turkish MUI on top of it.
StartMenu entries were Turkish/english. All explanations were in english. So it seems, this problem is not related with only arabic.
yeah exactly
I hope Motaz or MrNxDmX (or one of Ryan buddies) find out the Hotfix responsible for this big bug!
I can't make my uA without Arabic MUI or the ability to install other MUIs
Last edited by Wesmosis on Fri May 18, 2007 7:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Fri Apr 27, 2007 6:24 pm

any news guyz? :(
I can't make my own uA :cry:

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Apr 28, 2007 12:44 am

RyanVM wrote:Wesmosis, you're not done yet...

Now that you know which pack interferes, do an install with 2.1.2 and start installing the fixes from the 2.1.3 pack until you find the problem.

BTW, I'm hoping you realize that this is almost certainly a Microsoft bug which is going to have to be submitted to them in the end...
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Sun Apr 29, 2007 7:11 am

I don't know where to find the hotfixes of the 2.1.3, I can't download them from micro$
any help getting them?

User avatar
corona2k
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:07 am

Post by corona2k » Sun Apr 29, 2007 8:38 am

Wesmosis...

Get a program called "Windows Updates Downloader" from here:

Code: Select all

http://wud.jcarle.com/
And download from that same site the arabic Windows XP hotfixes list. Should be named "windows-xp-x86-ara.ulz".
Then load ot to the program and it will download all hotfixes and service packs and programs for that windows.

Hope this helps.
Image Image

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 29, 2007 9:02 am

Wesmosis wrote:I don't know where to find the hotfixes of the 2.1.3, I can't download them from micro$
any help getting them?
Didn't we go over this already? Most of them are officially available from MS. The rest are available from Xable.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Sun Apr 29, 2007 3:09 pm

corona2k wrote:Wesmosis...

Get a program called "Windows Updates Downloader" from here:

Code: Select all

http://wud.jcarle.com/
And download from that same site the arabic Windows XP hotfixes list. Should be named "windows-xp-x86-ara.ulz".
Then load ot to the program and it will download all hotfixes and service packs and programs for that windows.

Hope this helps.
Thanx Corona
Jcarle proggy looks cool
my SP2 Windows is originally English, then I install Arabic MUI
anyway, I'll try to find 2.1.3 hotfixes in jcarle proggy
it's seems a difficult job since Windows Updates Downloader doesn't arrange the HF by numbers ;)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 29, 2007 3:29 pm

Why do you insist on making things so hard for yourself? There's a changelog on my site which links you directly to the KB articles. If there isn't a download link directly in the article or the MS download center, just get it from Xable. Yeesh :rolleyes:
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Mon Apr 30, 2007 3:46 am

RyanVM wrote:Why do you insist on making things so hard for yourself? There's a changelog on my site which links you directly to the KB articles. If there isn't a download link directly in the article or the MS download center, just get it from Xable. Yeesh :rolleyes:
Ops!
ok boss

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:34 am

ok I've downloaded the 18 Hotfixes of 2.1.3
I'm gonna install them one by one on 2.1.2 and see which HF interferes with the MUI
I hope I succeed in this task :evil:

catcha later :lol:

Zety
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:09 pm

Post by Zety » Tue May 01, 2007 5:56 am

Hello,

FWIW, I just installed french MUI today on a Windows XP with RyanVM Update Pack 2.1.9.

I don't have the problem you described here : http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=50610#50610

I mean that (almost) everything is in french. The *only* thing that is still in english is the "Windows Update" tab in the "system properties", but as far as I remember using MUI, that was always in english.

So I'm inclined to think that there is no problem with Ryan's pack...

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue May 01, 2007 8:52 am

Oh, I firmly believe that this is a Microsoft bug. I just want to find out what's causing it so it can be reported to them.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Tue May 01, 2007 11:39 am

lets say you install the old way. a clean sp2 source ,installing from the older or the newer mui cd ,
or installing mui over the new source = integrated update pack . will still need to go to wu and see exactly what it offers
updating, as wu knows if you are using mui and offers the correct files that need the updates, so for starter's you should try
installing the updates and see if the issue is fixed, then see what files have being updated .. if this is the case ..

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Thu May 10, 2007 6:12 pm

I'm gonna go crazy!
after downloading all 2.1.3 hotfixes from hotfix.com and few others from Microsoft

Image

then I've installed all the hotfixes just wanna to see something
I've used the command:

Install All.cmd

Code: Select all

cd /d "%~dp0"
echo ... Installation ...
for %%a in (*.exe) do (
Start /wait "" %%a /quiet /norestart )
exit
after then, I've installed the Arabic MUI, everything went smooth!

I'm confused and I need big help over here ;)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu May 10, 2007 10:25 pm

Try integrating them one by one using the /integrate switch. And to make your life easier, only do one fix at a time. Mass integrations/installs won't do anything to help you narrow down which specific fix is causing problems.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Mon May 14, 2007 4:23 am

Hi guys. I just found some time to test the new update pack and the Bulgarian Mui.
1) Installed Bulgarian Mui on clean installation with 2.1.10. Rebooted and some strings are still the English ones (this strings which are located in shell32.dll)
2) I installed KB913808, no change
3) I searched for all keys in the registry called muicache and deleted them all. F5 on desktop to refresh. Et voila - everthing is in Bulgarian.

So this update (KB913808) is working just fine for me. Someone can confrim that?

PS: It's looking like we have the first update for the new version of the update pack in the list :)

PS2: Thanks MrNxDmX for founding this nice update

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon May 14, 2007 9:57 am

OK, that's good info to have. Thanks colornokia :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Mon May 14, 2007 9:22 pm

colornokia wrote:Hi guys. I just found some time to test the new update pack and the Bulgarian Mui.
1) Installed Bulgarian Mui on clean installation with 2.1.10. Rebooted and some strings are still the English ones (this strings which are located in shell32.dll)
2) I installed KB913808, no change
3) I searched for all keys in the registry called muicache and deleted them all. F5 on desktop to refresh. Et voila - everthing is in Bulgarian.

So this update (KB913808) is working just fine for me. Someone can confrim that?

PS: It's looking like we have the first update for the new version of the update pack in the list :)

PS2: Thanks MrNxDmX for founding this nice update
oh thanx for the testing and I'm gonna test on the Arabic MUI and confirm

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Thu May 17, 2007 6:31 am

Just for confirmation I did a new clean installation. Then I installed KB913808 and rebooted. After that I installed the MUI and restarted the system. When the Windows started everything was OK, so this problem is totaly fixed by KB913808 :)

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Thu May 17, 2007 11:19 am

colornokia wrote:Just for confirmation I did a new clean installation. Then I installed KB913808 and rebooted. After that I installed the MUI and restarted the system. When the Windows started everything was OK, so this problem is totaly fixed by KB913808 :)
What about this addon? Did you try it?
MrNxDmX wrote:And here we go with an addon :)

Download here: NR_KB913808_Addon.7z
Size: 8KB / MD5: 0139DAE4F1A73AC31107D9D86968EFF3
I'm happy to hear that hotfix works for you.

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Fri May 18, 2007 8:06 am

I've installed a very fresh 2.1.10 (nothing removed even the Help Files) via Ryan Integrator 1.4.3
some addons e.g. WMP 11, CPL
Install KB913808, reboot
install the Arabic MUI
same problem aarrgh

even deleted those MUICache from the reg and reboot of course! no effect

@Colornokia
I'm almost certain that the problems is in the different file versions. Try to edit shell32.dll.mui version to be the same as shell32.dll in system32 directory
and how to change that version, here is the two files:

Image

earl
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:17 pm

Post by earl » Fri May 18, 2007 9:57 am

and how to change that version, here is the two files:
try this link:


http://www.angusj.com/resourcehacker/

Post Reply