RyanVM Update Pack 2.1.10 - Released May 13, 2007

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Thu May 17, 2007 2:54 am

RyanVM wrote:OK children, I'm opening up the direct links for everyone now. Everybody behave :rolleyes:.

FYI, I've given up on .htaccess blacklisting. Instead, I'm just reporting the offending IP addresses to my host and they're firewalling them before they even have a chance to hit my server. Of course, that all means those IPs will have no access to any ryanvm.net addresses, not just the download server.

So like I was saying, behave :rolleyes:
Good news for me cos from about 2 months ago I could never get anything from the direct links and have been using the Tracker instead.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu May 17, 2007 8:32 am

Wow, only three arseholes plugging things up currently :rolleyes:

Code: Select all

1330 221.201.145.xxx
1334 proxy.geonet.ge
3697 58.207.148.xxx
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Thu May 17, 2007 5:27 pm

Welcome to the club :lol:

Code: Select all

 1236 76.48.103.***
 1348 221.6.29.***
 1387 41.201.222.***
 2667 217.227.106.***
 3720 221.5.250.***
41209 82.212.10.***
unfortunately this is a quiet day :?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu May 17, 2007 7:20 pm

Some people never learn.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu May 17, 2007 10:21 pm

Xable wrote:Welcome to the club :lol:

Code: Select all

 1236 76.48.103.***
 1348 221.6.29.***
 1387 41.201.222.***
 2667 217.227.106.***
 3720 221.5.250.***
41209 82.212.10.***
unfortunately this is a quiet day :?
Have you been getting Dreamhost to firewall them? They've been quite good about it with me now that we're finally seeing eye to eye that .htaccess is completely inadequate for the problem.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Fri May 18, 2007 12:23 pm

RyanVM wrote:
Xable wrote:Welcome to the club :lol:

Code: Select all

 1236 76.48.103.***
 1348 221.6.29.***
 1387 41.201.222.***
 2667 217.227.106.***
 3720 221.5.250.***
41209 82.212.10.***
unfortunately this is a quiet day :?
Have you been getting Dreamhost to firewall them? They've been quite good about it with me now that we're finally seeing eye to eye that .htaccess is completely inadequate for the problem.
From the outset they`ve said either get them firewalled or use htaccess. Though, those stats are numbers of requests not simultaneous connections so I don`t blindly block all of them straight away, first I dig down in the logs to see which one`s are actually malicious, I then block them via httaccess and only the one`s which continue to hammer the server despite being blocked I get firewalled.

Damn scriptkiddies :rolleyes:

User avatar
joll69
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:59 pm

Post by joll69 » Fri May 18, 2007 1:39 pm

@Ryan

the CAPICOM update isn't from .NET3.0, AFAIK...

i have .net 2 installed, but not 1.0, 1.1, or 3, and the CAPICOM update still showed up in MU for me...i do have visual studio express c# and xna installed, i wonder if it's related to that?
Dok's Law: The simplicity of a solution is directly proportionate to its elusiveness.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri May 18, 2007 3:20 pm

I know it's related to Visual Studio
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Fri May 18, 2007 3:46 pm

I always use the Torrent now that you have it up; it is fast, I assume saves you server troubles, so it is a win/win situation. I've never had a problem with the Torrent.
Also, the new update pack rocks, thanks again RyanVM.

maxkohl
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 3:07 pm

Post by maxkohl » Sat May 19, 2007 9:24 am

Thank you Ryan for this GREAT project!

I've been integrating your pack for several months with the HDA addon fix. Recently I've noticed that the HDA issue is no longer on 'Known Issues' - does it mean it's actually solved? I've never really had any problems with the HDA in the first place, but I integrated that addon to be 100% compatible w/any possible system. Do I no longer need it?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat May 19, 2007 1:02 pm

Quite frankly, I only ever knew of one or two people who ever really needed it in the first place. The odds are very good that you never really needed the "fix" in the first place. So yeah, I removed it because I don't think it really affected enough people to warrant being considered a big issue.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sat May 19, 2007 2:00 pm

Hey Ryan, I think you'd like to know this one:
Software Update for Web Folders (KB907306)

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Mon May 21, 2007 4:33 am

maxkohl wrote:Thank you Ryan for this GREAT project!

I've been integrating your pack for several months with the HDA addon fix. Recently I've noticed that the HDA issue is no longer on 'Known Issues' - does it mean it's actually solved? I've never really had any problems with the HDA in the first place, but I integrated that addon to be 100% compatible w/any possible system. Do I no longer need it?
Was unaware it was removed. I certainly need this one.
The Man from Aus

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon May 21, 2007 11:28 am

Mavericks choice wrote:
maxkohl wrote:Thank you Ryan for this GREAT project!

I've been integrating your pack for several months with the HDA addon fix. Recently I've noticed that the HDA issue is no longer on 'Known Issues' - does it mean it's actually solved? I've never really had any problems with the HDA in the first place, but I integrated that addon to be 100% compatible w/any possible system. Do I no longer need it?
Was unaware it was removed. I certainly need this one.
Check this out:
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4068

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Mon May 21, 2007 3:29 pm

Yeah thanks, strange though haven't integrated that addon before & only now experiencing problem with sound needing hdaudbus.sys? Could be something in the driver pack throwing me here? More investigation to be done.
The Man from Aus

MOONLIGHT SONATA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 3:37 pm
Location: Where Not ?!

Post by MOONLIGHT SONATA » Fri May 25, 2007 10:44 pm

Ryan,

2.1.10 after integration, at least in my machine, completely deletes the entries in [Driver] section of DRVINDEX.INF. after integration, my DRVINDEX.INF contains:

[Version]
Signature="$Windows NT$"
CabFiles=Driver
[Driver]
[Cabs]
Driver=driver.cab

I'm using RVM_Integrator 1.4.3.

I hope it's not intended behavior, as setup reports missing files from the very beginning when it tries to copy cdaudio.sys(of course, from driver.cab).

My integrator log contains:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
26-05-2007 08¦27¦06
Log Startup @ 08:27:06 On 26-05-2007

08:27:06 - System Running: WIN_XP Service Pack 2
08:27:06 - RVMIntegrator v1.4.3
08:27:06 - C:\Documents and Settings\RUN@S@DMIN\My Documents\My Downloads\RVM_Integrator_1.4.3.exe
08:27:13 - Windows XP Professional - Corporate SP2 Found
08:27:25 -
08:27:25 - Source Drive = C:\XPCD
08:27:25 - Destination Drive = C:\XPCD
08:27:25 - Destination Size = 10001.08984375
08:27:25 - Working Directory = C:\XPCD\I386
08:27:25 - Temp Directory = C:\XPCD\I386\rvmtemp
08:27:26 -
08:27:26 - Starting Integration
08:27:26 -
08:27:26 - Checking Destination For OS Type.
08:27:26 - Windows XP Professional - Corporate SP2 Found
08:27:26 - Clearing any Read Only Attributes.
08:27:27 -
08:27:30 - Extracting RVMUpdatePack2.1.10.7z
08:27:30 - MD5 Hash = 1acb32de4c64864271514d6e49f0b41a
08:27:59 -
08:27:59 - Gathering temp files
08:28:00 - Expanding driver.cab
08:29:36 - Copying files for driver.cab repackaging.
08:29:38 - Moving files for driver.cab repackaging.
08:29:39 - Integrating XP Professional Files.
08:29:39 - Compressing Files
08:35:23 - Shifting Stuff Around
08:35:23 -
08:35:44 - Analyzing 1 Entry Files
08:35:44 - Processing RyanVM Update Pack v2.1.10 Build Date: 05/11/2007
08:35:47 - obsolete_files Found in entries.ini
08:35:48 - Processing Sysoc.inf
08:35:48 - Adding Components
08:35:48 - Processing svcpack.inf
08:35:48 - removing obsolete hotfixes
08:35:48 - adding ProductCatalogsToInstall
08:35:48 - Processing dosnet.inf
08:35:48 - Modifying any SP2.cab areas in dosnet.inf
08:35:48 - Editing [Files]
08:35:48 - Editing [Files] - XP Professional Only
08:35:49 - Processing txtsetup.sif
08:35:49 - Editing [Fileflags]
08:35:49 - Editing [WinntDirectories]
08:35:49 - Editing [SourceDisksFiles]
08:35:50 - Editing [SourceDisksFiles] - XP Professional Only
08:35:50 - Modifying any SP2.cab areas in txtsetup.sif
08:36:18 - Entire .ini Processing Completed in 33 Seconds
08:36:18 - Compressing and Moving Edited Files
08:36:18 -
08:36:18 - Processing mmssetup.cab
08:36:18 - Expanding mmssetup.cab
08:36:18 - Processing entries.ini
08:36:18 - Rebuilding mmssetup.cab
08:36:19 - Rebuilding mmssetup.cab Complete.
08:36:19 -
08:36:19 -
08:36:19 - Calculating the amount of files to pack into driver.cab
08:36:40 - Rebuilding driver.cab
08:36:40 - Rebuilding drvindex.inf
08:36:40 - Rebuilding drvindex.inf Complete.
08:36:40 - Moving Files
08:36:40 - Cleaning Up.
08:36:40 - Replacing driver.cab
08:36:58 - Integration is at 100%, Cleaning Up
08:37:02 - Integration Completed.
08:37:02 - Total Integration Time = 576 Seconds
08:37:02 - ==================================================================================
08:37:02 -

Log Shutdown @ 08:41:32 On 26-05-2007
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Upon repeat integration i observed that driver.cab is extracted from its original source(sp2.cab+driver.cab => repackaged driver.cab; No. of files: 4,778) and then driver folder is updated by files from your pack to the 4,779 files in total. However, when it's rebuilt into driver.cab, OMG! not replaced the original Driver.cab, as the md5 hash still remains same.

your comments are welcome.
Go On Failing..Go on. Next Time, Try to Fail Better.-----Samuel Beckett

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sat May 26, 2007 5:10 am

try running integrator in a different folder, thats not containing a special character like @.
08:27:06 - C:\Documents and Settings\RUN@S@DMIN\My Documents\My Downloads\RVM_Integrator_1.4.3.exe

MOONLIGHT SONATA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 3:37 pm
Location: Where Not ?!

Post by MOONLIGHT SONATA » Sat May 26, 2007 4:12 pm

@MrNxDmX

Tried. this time i started integrator from C:\Downloads and my Setup source is located in C:\XPCD. Misery remains the same. drvindex.inf is just 97 bytes with contents as reported in my earlier post.

Any thing you suggest next?

Thanks.
Go On Failing..Go on. Next Time, Try to Fail Better.-----Samuel Beckett

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sat May 26, 2007 5:17 pm

try to run it on a different partition than c. If you have of course. I dont have any other ideas, sorry.

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Sun May 27, 2007 5:57 am

thanx ryan, downloaded and testes
the build number by winver became .071030

MOONLIGHT SONATA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 3:37 pm
Location: Where Not ?!

Post by MOONLIGHT SONATA » Sun May 27, 2007 11:22 am

@MrNxDmX

No problem. I've already started "hand-made" integration of the whole update pack based on reading entries.ini and manual extraction of the Update Pack. Just inform me how many files are there in driver.cab and how many entries are there in [Driver] section of DRVINDEX.INF after integration.

Thanks.
Go On Failing..Go on. Next Time, Try to Fail Better.-----Samuel Beckett

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun May 27, 2007 1:20 pm

Sorry MOONLIGHT SONATA, i dont have a -ready- update pack integrated english disc now. Maybe someone else can help you with that.

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sun May 27, 2007 3:01 pm

@Moonlight Sonata
Is your driver.cab file in use? That would explain if it is not overwritten.

BTW this would apear to be not related to the updatepack so the question should not be asked in the updatepacks release thread. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

XeroxZer0
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:22 pm

Post by XeroxZer0 » Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:45 pm

I can't seem to be able to download it. I'm getting a forbidden message.

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Fri Jun 08, 2007 12:52 am

XeroxZer0 wrote:I can't seem to be able to download it. I'm getting a forbidden message.
WFM

http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/faq.html
FAQ wrote: I can't download any files from your site.
There are two possibilities for this problem. First, I use .htaccess to limit referrers to authorized connections in order to prevent bandwidth leeching due to hotlinking. Try disabling any firewall programs which may be blocking the sending of referrers. The other possibility is that you or your host has been blacklisted by me due to excessive numbers of connections to my server, which can cause it to crash and be unavailable to everybody else. If that's the case, your only option is to download the files via the Official RyanVM.net BitTorrent Tracker.

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:27 am

:rolleyes: Appears to be many dudes round here with this problem?
The Man from Aus

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Sat Jun 09, 2007 10:59 am

A lot of people use this pack. It's unfortunate but inevitable that some fail to read the FAQ.

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Tue Jun 12, 2007 5:58 am

MrNxDmX wrote:Hey Ryan, I think you'd like to know this one:
Software Update for Web Folders (KB907306)
yeah, i'm just getting pullzed by this one.
it looks very different from KB892211, however, i'm analysing them.
if i'v get any result, i'll post it here.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:43 am

My plan (though probably not for the next release) is to just manually update the MSI with the new files and call it good.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Nick Burns
YOU'RE WELCOME!
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:30 pm
Location: Just south of your border

Post by Nick Burns » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:38 pm

My first post, so I humbly apologize if this question has already been asked, just point me to the thread if it has. I just integrated v2.1.10 and have the directory on my hard drive. When the next version of the pack comes out, can I just patched that same directory, or do I need to use a fresh unpatched version of XPSP2 each time?

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:41 pm

the updatepack page will list if you need to start clean or can "integrate over" a previous version.. short answer is that you can (normally) but i would start fresh just to catch any problems without making life VERY complicated trying to track down what goofed for you ;)

as usual your milage may vary with this answer so get more info if this wasnt clear enough to help you..

TechnoHunter

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:53 pm

You shouldn't have any problems integrating 2.1.11 over 2.1.10 once it's released.

BTW, you have no idea how tempted I was to give you a custom "YOU'RE WELCOME!" title when I activated your account :mrgreen:
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Nick Burns
YOU'RE WELCOME!
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:30 pm
Location: Just south of your border

Post by Nick Burns » Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:05 pm

RyanVM wrote:You shouldn't have any problems integrating 2.1.11 over 2.1.10 once it's released.

BTW, you have no idea how tempted I was to give you a custom "YOU'RE WELCOME!" title when I activated your account :mrgreen:
MOVE!

Give in to the temptation!

BTW, I forgot to mention I was using nLite for the integration... still should have no problems, right?
Not as Lean
Not as Mean
But still a Marine
-------
[The following statement is true. The previous statement is false.]

User avatar
grief
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Ohio

Post by grief » Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:18 pm

i always use rvm integrater for integration, and then nlite to remove what i don't want/need.

works like a charm everytime :)

maxkohl
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 3:07 pm

Post by maxkohl » Thu Jun 14, 2007 8:12 am

grief wrote:i always use rvm integrater for integration, and then nlite to remove what i don't want/need.

works like a charm everytime :)
I did so too up until I read on nLite's forum that both nuhi & RyanVM themselves suggest that if you use nLite somewhere during the process, you might as well, and you better, use nLite for the entire process alltogether.

currently the only "outsider" tool I use besides nLite is Bashart's DriverPacks.

User avatar
waleed_wwn
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 4:44 pm

Post by waleed_wwn » Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:53 pm

I agree with maxkohl

If you were to use nlite , use it to integrate all update packs and addon .

also it is recommended to do every thing on one session .

banditnich
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:56 am

Post by banditnich » Fri Jun 15, 2007 4:44 am

hi all,

Thx for making update pack, ryanvm. It really make my life easier than having to download everything when reinstalling windows.

I just wanna heads up for the new security update on 12 june, but I think you must be already knew about it. Still no harm for passing information here ^^ (since i don't know where the right place to post these)

• MS07-031 - addresses a vulnerability in Microsoft Windows (KB935840)
• MS07-032 - addresses a vulnerability in Microsoft Windows (KB84693)
• MS07-033 - addresses a vulnerability in Microsoft Windows, Internet Explorer (KB933566)
• MS07-034 - addresses a vulnerability in Microsoft Windows (KB929123)
• MS07-035 - addresses a vulnerability in Microsoft Windows (KB935839)

Keep up the good work man.
Cheers

banditnich
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:56 am

Post by banditnich » Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:01 am

Oh and one more thing...
I just know about this update pack for a couple of days... and download update pack and a couple of addons...
The DirectX 9.0c Feb update link is not working... do some reading in the forum and someone post that is not needed when using v2.1.10 update pack.

Making iso from win xp sp2 with update pack and some addons... everything went well except for the 5er_MSSignedThemes_v2.2_Addon. No themes listed after finish installing windows.

maxkohl
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 3:07 pm

Post by maxkohl » Fri Jun 15, 2007 6:05 am

banditnich wrote:Oh and one more thing...
I just know about this update pack for a couple of days... and download update pack and a couple of addons...
The DirectX 9.0c Feb update link is not working... do some reading in the forum and someone post that is not needed when using v2.1.10 update pack.

Making iso from win xp sp2 with update pack and some addons... everything went well except for the 5er_MSSignedThemes_v2.2_Addon. No themes listed after finish installing windows.
Hmm...the themes WFM, could it be that you removed smth w/nLite?
I even set one of them as default using the [Shell] section in winnt.sif

DX - the updatepack does not include it, you DO need the addon, but wait - I believe there should be a new addon version for June, RVM to comment.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jun 15, 2007 9:13 am

Yes banditnich, after doing this for over two years, I know when MS releases their security updates ;)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

LilSpann601
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:14 am
Location: Jackson MS

Post by LilSpann601 » Fri Jun 15, 2007 6:51 pm

so when will 2.1.11 be ready?

User avatar
code65536
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: .us
Contact:

Post by code65536 » Fri Jun 15, 2007 8:28 pm

Dunno if you consider beta software kosher for the pack, but in case you're interested, there's a 9.0.60.120 of the Flash plugin, but it's marked as beta by Adobe...
http://download.macromedia.com/pub/labs ... 061107.exe
My addons: CmdOpen - HashCheck - Notepad2 - MS Runtimes - DirectX

Into the breach, meatbags!

toastyz71
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:30 am

Post by toastyz71 » Sat Jun 16, 2007 1:00 am

i'm having a problem, and i do believe it is with the msxml issue again. had this ame issue with 2.1.9 and now 2.1.10. in order to get MU to install .net 3 and for msxml 6 to install properly, i went in and removed any trace i could find of msxml4 and msxml6 from the update cd. everything seems to work fine, accept one thing. on any computer that i use this integrated cd, some secure website data printed to an hp 4050 network printer prints out as garbage characters. printing to other brand printer in the office works fine. it's not a browser issue, checked different machines, one with the same IE6, one with IE 7, both of those print just fine. What i am wondering is if perhaps somehow MU doesnt notice MSXML4 being installed. i am assuming that msxml4 and msxml6 are similar to .net, in that you dont have to have msxml4 to install msxml6, etc?

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:47 pm

RyanVM wrote:Yes banditnich, after doing this for over two years, I know when MS releases their security updates ;)
RyanVm and excellent work you have been doing...... Not trying to bug ya but is there any chance we will see the new pack this weekend I have a few PC to do tomorrow and before I build the disc just wanted it check with ya.

Thank again for all your hard work....... :D

Dean

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jun 17, 2007 12:02 pm

toastyz71 wrote:i'm having a problem, and i do believe it is with the msxml issue again. had this ame issue with 2.1.9 and now 2.1.10. in order to get MU to install .net 3 and for msxml 6 to install properly, i went in and removed any trace i could find of msxml4 and msxml6 from the update cd. everything seems to work fine, accept one thing. on any computer that i use this integrated cd, some secure website data printed to an hp 4050 network printer prints out as garbage characters. printing to other brand printer in the office works fine. it's not a browser issue, checked different machines, one with the same IE6, one with IE 7, both of those print just fine. What i am wondering is if perhaps somehow MU doesnt notice MSXML4 being installed. i am assuming that msxml4 and msxml6 are similar to .net, in that you dont have to have msxml4 to install msxml6, etc?
What makes you think your problems have anything to do with MSXML exactly?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

banditnich
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:56 am

Post by banditnich » Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:20 am

maxkohl wrote:
banditnich wrote:Oh and one more thing...
I just know about this update pack for a couple of days... and download update pack and a couple of addons...
The DirectX 9.0c Feb update link is not working... do some reading in the forum and someone post that is not needed when using v2.1.10 update pack.

Making iso from win xp sp2 with update pack and some addons... everything went well except for the 5er_MSSignedThemes_v2.2_Addon. No themes listed after finish installing windows.
Hmm...the themes WFM, could it be that you removed smth w/nLite?
I even set one of them as default using the [Shell] section in winnt.sif

DX - the updatepack does not include it, you DO need the addon, but wait - I believe there should be a new addon version for June, RVM to comment.
Well I don't use nlite, I'm using RVM integrator 1.4.3.
I just integrate the updatepack and couple of addons including the themes all in one go... then make iso. Should I separate adding themes using nlite?

So I see the DX is not included in the current update pack... then I shall wait for the june addon version. The DX link is broken because Ryan is developing new addon right? Not because something wrong with my download manager...
RyanVM wrote:Yes banditnich, after doing this for over two years, I know when MS releases their security updates :wink:
Two thumbs up for you Ryan :D

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:13 pm

banditnich wrote:The DX link is broken because Ryan is developing new addon right? Not because something wrong with my download manager...
Read the site FAQ or just use the tracker.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

banditnich
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:56 am

Post by banditnich » Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:10 am

RyanVM wrote:
banditnich wrote:The DX link is broken because Ryan is developing new addon right? Not because something wrong with my download manager...
Read the site FAQ or just use the tracker.
Link is working now ryan :wink: . I'm not blacklisted before I'm sure, because I can download other files except DX.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:39 am

Then it was just high server load (with is what 403 errors mean).
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:05 pm

Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Locked