CAPICOM kb931906 ?

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
Fragbert
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:59 am

CAPICOM kb931906 ?

Post by Fragbert » Tue May 15, 2007 6:04 pm

I keep having this pop up in MSupdate under critical updates (CAPICOM), is this a client installed by Office perhaps?

KB931906

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue May 15, 2007 6:20 pm

As I understand from the bulletin, its an update for CAPICOM or BizTalk 2004. I dont know how its installed.

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Thu Nov 06, 2008 11:09 am

Hmmmm... I just got the same exact thing in a new integration and I have never seen this before so I am trying to back track to see where the heck this came from...

SHO_GuN
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:26 pm

Post by SHO_GuN » Thu Nov 06, 2008 11:11 am

I have been getting this for many months on installs with Office 2003 SP3.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Thu Nov 06, 2008 8:23 pm

The CAPICOM.dll file is not inclued in windows xp sp3 install disc. I couldnt fin it in i386, driver.cab and sp3.cab.

User avatar
redxii
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:50 pm

Post by redxii » Thu Nov 06, 2008 8:34 pm

It certainly isn't included in XP, and is discontinued/no longer being developed by Microsoft. It's an ActiveX control, so who'd want to put that in an update pack when it isn't being maintained anymore.

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:37 am

Thanks for the feedback guys I have some direction now to look in and I am trying a few things now...

The only changes I made from my other integrations that have been working were:

I changed my Direct X addon, I eliminated my DotNet 1.1 addon and I changed to the "tweaked" WMP11 version of Booogies

I performed a real install on a Dell D630 laptop and using $OEM$ I added the drivers and some of the Dell items using runonceEx... maybe something in the Dell stuff is the culprate... I will report back after my latest tests

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:49 pm

I don't want to double post unless the mods think I should but I am making progress with the CAPICOM issue as I have reported here:

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... &start=400

EDIT: for reference:

NAILED IT

Mine was caused by the Wave Systems EMBASSY Trust Suite which is causing the XML and CAPICOM updates to show in MU

Post Reply