RyanVM Update Pack 1.0.5 - Released January 11, 2005

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

RyanVM Update Pack 1.0.5 - Released January 11, 2005

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:18 pm

Replies are welcome in this thread, just try to keep them on topic.

What's New
  • BOTH: Added KB885222 Hotfix.
  • BOTH: Added KB890175 Hotfix.
  • BOTH: Added KB890930 Registry Tweak.
  • BOTH: Changed KB887078 to WMP10 version (works fine with WMP9).
  • BOTH: Fixing of minor typos and other cleanup of RVMUpPck.inf.
  • FULL: Fixed issue where Mydoom Removal Tool was showing up on WindowsUpdate.
  • FULL: Made PsShutdown a standalone EXE rather than overwriting shutdown.exe in i386.
    • PsShutdown resides in system32 as psshutdown.exe.
    • The original SP2 shutdown.ex_ can be downloaded from changelog page if needed.
  • FULL: Removed WhoLockMe until further notice due to issues with start menu.
  • FULL: Updated CMDOW to version 1.4.3.0.
  • NEW: Created Medium Update Pack for all you whiners out there.
Known Bugs
  • ALL: KB885836 shows as properly installed with QFECheck, but WindowsUpdate still wants to install it. I have reproduced this issue and am looking into it.
Download Here
Last edited by RyanVM on Tue Feb 22, 2005 4:15 pm, edited 3 times in total.

larciel
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:14 am

Post by larciel » Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:39 pm

can't wait to get it installed!

btw. what's included/not included in medium pack.

i dont' see that much of difference btw lite and full .. lol @ your comment about whiners

war59312
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:11 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by war59312 » Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:35 pm

What about KB890830?

Pretty sure thats what u ment since there is no KB890930. ;)

So what do you mean:

NEW: Created Medium Update Pack for all you whiners out there.

Just wondering what you mean by that...

And thanks again for all your hard work and time!!
God Bless America

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:07 pm

war59312 wrote:What about KB890830?

Pretty sure thats what u ment since there is no KB890930. ;)
Yup, typo on my part.
So what do you mean:

NEW: Created Medium Update Pack for all you whiners out there.

Just wondering what you mean by that...

And thanks again for all your hard work and time!!
You'll see soon enough.

war59312
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:11 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by war59312 » Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:12 pm

hehe ok cool :)
God Bless America

User avatar
SibTiger
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 9:29 pm

Post by SibTiger » Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:14 pm

Thanks for the fast work, Ryan! Visited your sight not expecting 05 to be out yet! Will quick download before your bandwidth is used up! :wink:

Question: So if i use the 1.04 to 1.05 update, do I get the exact same result as the full 1.05 download? Specifically, will shutdown.exe be the original Microsoft version, or the psshutdown.exe version?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:18 pm

Yes, I put the original shutdown.exe in the 104to105 upgrade.

Don't worry about bandwidth, it's running on my FTP server. What happened last month won't happen again.

larciel
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:14 am

Post by larciel » Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:02 am

hmm. i just did clean install

one prob is,

qfecheck shows all hotfixes are current on system. but windows update shows KB885836


and i had to edit line 376 of hivesft.inf .. probably my fault because i played w/ nlite.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:15 am

I'm seeing that too, larciel. Still trying to track down the cause.

war59312
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:11 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by war59312 » Wed Jan 12, 2005 1:07 am

Hey,

Web site says:

FULL: Removed WhoLockMe until further notice due to issues with start menu.

But wholockme is still included the full installer, within the RVMUpPck.cab file. Also in the upgrade back.
God Bless America

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 12, 2005 1:36 am

Yes, but it's not even being copied from the CAB file. Relax ;)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

war59312
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:11 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by war59312 » Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:23 am

k just lettin u know..could save some bandwidth lol ;)

well just finsihed and wmp 10 installer is broke..not u just letting everyone else know...other guys problem..

but anyways qfecheck though reports 883523 needs to be reinstalled for some reason....guessing maybe because i used the nlite hack to change max connections ?
God Bless America

war59312
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:11 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by war59312 » Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:32 am

RyanVM wrote:I'm seeing that too, larciel. Still trying to track down the cause.
Yeap same here.

Glad to see you confirmed it and not just me.
God Bless America

cybpsych
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:33 am

Post by cybpsych » Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:38 am

integrated 1.0.5 Full Pack a while ago, installation went fine but with just the known bug of KB885836 shown in WU.

hope everything will be solved soon ;)

thanks for the great pack RyanVM! :D

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:12 pm

war59312 wrote:k just lettin u know..could save some bandwidth lol ;)

well just finsihed and wmp 10 installer is broke..not u just letting everyone else know...other guys problem..

but anyways qfecheck though reports 883523 needs to be reinstalled for some reason....guessing maybe because i used the nlite hack to change max connections ?
Well, 883523 is for imapi.sys IIRC. The cause of the issue is that Windows is for some reason copying the version from driver.cab instead of i386.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:14 pm

Regarding KB885836, the good news is that the updated file is properly installed, so the Windows Update message is safe to ignore, albeit annoying :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

jrf2027

Re: RyanVM Update Pack 1.0.5 - Released January 11, 2005

Post by jrf2027 » Wed Jan 12, 2005 5:47 pm

[quote="RyanVM"]
[*]BOTH: Changed KB887078 to WMP10 version (works fine with WMP9).

Couple of quick (and probably dumb) questions about this change:

Do any file version conflicts pop up when installing WMP10?

Will KB887078 need to be reinstalled after upgrading to WMP10?

I'm not slipstreaming WMP10 into the Windows install, I'm installing it via RunOnceEx after Windows installation is complete.

I'll be clean installing a computer tonight, so I'll edit this post with any results I find. (Experience - the best way to learn anything!)

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:45 pm

Just curious; I looked around to see what the issue is with WhoLockMe but couldn't find it. I've really become addicted to this little tool. Is it something so serious that you would recommend I NOT enable it on my own?

I had never noticed any problems with it.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: RyanVM Update Pack 1.0.5 - Released January 11, 2005

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:19 pm

jrf2027 wrote:Do any file version conflicts pop up when installing WMP10?
Actually, the point of adding it was to avoid such a conflict.
Will KB887078 need to be reinstalled after upgrading to WMP10?
No.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:19 pm

RogueSpear wrote:Just curious; I looked around to see what the issue is with WhoLockMe but couldn't find it. I've really become addicted to this little tool. Is it something so serious that you would recommend I NOT enable it on my own?

I had never noticed any problems with it.
http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?sho ... =wholockme

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:13 am

Well I guess that answers that. I'm so dependant on this utility now I think I may still end up using it. It's too bad we even need a utility to get around this great "feature" of Windows.

User avatar
maska
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:17 am

Post by maska » Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:36 am

Off topic:

I also had problems with WhoLockMe: drag and drop desktop functionality was down, sometimes the desktop freezed and some other small annoying things. So I had to take it down.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

KB885836 bug solution

Post by keytotime » Sat Jan 15, 2005 9:36 pm

Ryan i changed the KB885836 inf entry to this and know it nolonger shows up in windows update. And if the driver files are copied from driver.cab, you can chose merge driver.cab in nlite and then copy the update files into the tmpdrv before nlite recompress driver.cab.

[KB885836.AddReg]
HKLM,"%SP3UPDATES%\KB885836","Description",0,"Windows XP Hotfix - KB885836"
HKLM,"%SP3UPDATES%\KB885836","InstalledBy",0,"%NAME%"
HKLM,"%SP3UPDATES%\KB885836","InstalledDate",0,"%VERSION%"
HKLM,"%SP3UPDATES%\KB885836","Type",0,"Update"
HKLM,"%SP3UPDATES%\KB885836\Filelist\0","BuildCheckSum",0,"339c1"
HKLM,"%SP3UPDATES%\KB885836\Filelist\0","BuildDate",0,"Tue Oct 19 18:36:01 2004"
HKLM,"%SP3UPDATES%\KB885836\Filelist\0","FileName",0,"mswrd6.wpc"
HKLM,"%SP3UPDATES%\KB885836\Filelist\0","Location",0,"%16422%\Windows NT\Accessories"
HKLM,"%SP3UPDATES%\KB885836\Filelist\0","Version",0,"10.0.803.2"
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836","Backup Dir",0,""
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836","Comments",0,"Windows XP Hotfix - KB885836"
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836","Fix Description",0,"Windows XP Hotfix - KB885836"
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836","Installed",0x00010001,1
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836","Installed By",0,"%NAME%"
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836","Installed On",0,"%VERSION%"
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836","Service Pack",0x00010001,3
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836","Valid",0x00010001,1
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836\File 1","Flags",0,""
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836\File 1","New File",0,""
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836\File 1","New Link Date",0,""
HKLM,"%HFREGPATH%\KB885836\File 1","Old Link Date",0,""

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:44 pm

It must be a bug with the way the DWORDs are being written. Weird.

Thanks for the find.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sun Jan 16, 2005 6:44 am

Sure, and Ryan when i post the threads on how to add the hotfix's i don't do it for your sake i do it so other people who don't know as much can add the hotfix's to there uxpcd's.

Acheron
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:05 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Acheron » Sun Jan 16, 2005 9:51 am

Ryan, are you gonna write some tutorial about how to translate your update pack?

So far only my Dutch Version is at 1.0.5
German version is at 1.0.4

shame on you :evil:

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:03 am

hp38guser wrote:Ryan, are you gonna write some tutorial about how to translate your update pack?

So far only my Dutch Version is at 1.0.5
German version is at 1.0.4

shame on you :evil:
No, but nobody's stopping you from doing it :rolleyes:

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Mon Jan 17, 2005 7:28 am

RyanVM wrote:It must be a bug with the way the DWORDs are being written. Weird.

Thanks for the find.
You mean it's just a registry issue which brings KB885836 to appear in Windows update ? Have you fixed it ?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:17 pm

It appears to be an issue with the INF, yes. It should be fixed for the next release (which I may do sooner rather than later instead of waiting until February).
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

war59312
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:11 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by war59312 » Tue Jan 18, 2005 10:20 am

Sounds good. Would love to see a 1.06 soon. ;)

Thanks again for all your hard work.

Take Care,
Will
God Bless America

dazkrlauwste
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:53 am

Post by dazkrlauwste » Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:55 am

ETA of 1.06?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:09 am

It'll be 1.1 and I'm hoping to put something together this weekend for a release next week.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

TJHart85
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:15 pm

WOW

Post by TJHart85 » Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:13 am

If you get it done that fast, it'll only have been a 2.5 weeks since 1.05. This either makes you very good, or Microsoft very bad :P

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jan 20, 2005 9:26 am

1.1 is going to have a lot of post-SP2 updates that haven't been officially released. See hp38guser's thread just below this to get a better idea of what's coming.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

larciel
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:14 am

Post by larciel » Tue Jan 25, 2005 12:40 am

eta for v1.1 ?

thanks always

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:42 am

When it's done & tested.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

war59312
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:11 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by war59312 » Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:25 pm

Sounds good to me.

BTW another update. lol

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en

cya,
Will
God Bless America

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:54 pm

Yup, saw that today.

(For the record guys, if it's on Neowin or Warp2Search, you can be pretty certain I'm already aware of it)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:59 pm

All you need to do extact the update and then makecab it and then copy it to i386.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:40 pm

You guys will be happy to know that your problems with files being copied from driver.cab instead of i386 should be fixed with the next release. I'll be adding the updated files to driver.cab as well.

At this point, 1.1 is pretty much in final form. I'm hoping to give it a few days worth of testing to make sure the bugs are gone, and I'll be aiming for a public release near the end of the week.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:22 pm

I'm not going to add the Web Folders update. I did a little research, and it turns out that this is more of a new feature than an update. If you extract the files from the MSI package, it turns out that only two of the 8 files included are even on the XP CD (and they're in FP40EXT.cab). Furthermore, web folders are part of the frontpage server extensions, which I'm betting most of you don't even install (I have it disabled in my winnt.sif personally). Finally, I did a quick comparison and discovered that a 7zip installer is roughly the same size if not a tad smaller than a cabbed version of the 8 updated files, so you'd actually be better off making a switchless 7zip installer if you want to install it.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:13 am

RyanVM wrote:You guys will be happy to know that your problems with files being copied from driver.cab instead of i386 should be fixed with the next release. I'll be adding the updated files to driver.cab as well.
Will you do the same with sp2.cab ? http.sys and imapi.sys are concerned for it. I had to remplace the files in it to make it work ...

Also, you said the other day :
I'm going to look into installing the CAT files directly from my INF too, but that'll be a project for a future version.
Are you currently working on it ? I hope that'll fix the problem that Jander and me had on our system ...

Cheers.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:08 pm

The .msi is on the xpcd. Also @ Lucius Snow Ryan stated in one of his posts that the driver cabs will be merged. Also if you look in C:\WINDOWS\Installer you will find the .msi there.

Code: Select all

webfldrs.msi = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:17 pm

Will you do the same with sp2.cab ? http.sys and imapi.sys are concerned for it. I had to remplace the files in it to make it work ...
Dude, you seriously have to read other posts in the forum once in awhile...
Are you currently working on it ? I hope that'll fix the problem that Jander and me had on our system ...
Haven't yet.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:29 pm

keytotime wrote:The .msi is on the xpcd.
Ah, I see that now. OK, I'll add it in then.

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:55 pm

Oh sorry, haven't checked that other thread. Cheers.

User avatar
leviathan
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Iwakuni, Japan

Post by leviathan » Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:15 pm

Hey Ryan,

With Microsoft doing the new valid license requirement for the hotfixes, are you going to be affected for creating your Package?

Any ideas on what might be happening?

--Leviathan

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:33 pm

leviathan wrote:Hey Ryan,

With Microsoft doing the new valid license requirement for the hotfixes, are you going to be affected for creating your Package?

Any ideas on what might be happening?

--Leviathan
I've been wondering that too.

According an article i read today, it should happen from the middle of the year.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:23 pm

They should affect the pack, this is a check inorder to see if you have a real xp install and not pirated. As soon as you pass the check you can download the update. Then everything is normal. They do not password protect the actual files.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 26, 2005 9:06 pm

It'll make no difference as far as the update pack is concerned. Breathe easy you dirty pirates :P :twisted:

Locked