How to remove Certian Addon After Integration via Nlite or R

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

How to remove Certian Addon After Integration via Nlite or RyanIntegrator ?

Post by Wesmosis » Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:22 pm

this question was in my mind for a quite long time
how to remove certain Addon after integrating it via Nlite or Ryan Integrator?
is that possible and safe, and how plz?
I apprecaite the answer and TIA

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:36 pm

The RyanVM Integrator and nLite do not provide any automated functionality for removing addons or Update Packs that have been previously integrated into a distribution source. However, if an addon does not replace source files then it can be removed with some manual text edits. You'll need to learn how to read and interpret ENTRIES*.INI files by hand to accomplish the task. But if the addon does replace source files then it cannot be removed nearly as easily.

Honestly, the easiest way to remove an addon is to remove it from your integration list and reintegrate everything else starting with a fresh source. ;)

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Wed Jul 18, 2007 7:48 am

no this addon doesn't replace any system files
it's the HD Tune Addon
but when I used Kel's CPL addon, it's already contains the HD Tune
so now I want to remove the single HD tune Addon which I added before discovering the awesome Kel's Addon ;)
ummmmmmm, I hate remaking the ISO, I'm afraid of messing something up, I love my current ISO
plz :) :D
Last edited by Wesmosis on Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
code65536
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: .us
Contact:

Post by code65536 » Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:58 am

Well, it doesn't matter how much you want to be able to keep your current ISO. There just isn't the function (aside from manually editing) to remove it. End of story. So either reintegrate everything or edit it yourself. You might be able to integrate Kel's addon over this directly, but whether it'd work will depend on how the two addons are built.
My addons: CmdOpen - HashCheck - Notepad2 - MS Runtimes - DirectX

Into the breach, meatbags!

yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:36 am

my HD tune addoh ,hah?
follow belows:
1. delete HDtune.cab & Hdtune.in_ in I386\
2. remove any lines containing Hdtune.cab or hdtune.inf in txtsetup.sif and dosnet.inf
3. use winrar or 7-zip to open sysoc.in_ then extract sysoc.inf
4. remove this line in sysoc.inf

Code: Select all

HDTune=ocgen.dll,OcEntry,HDTune.inf,HIDE,7
5. in cmd mode,

Code: Select all

makecab sysoc.inf
6. delete sysoc.inf
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Thu Jul 19, 2007 7:43 pm

yumeyao wrote:my HD tune addoh ,hah?
follow belows:
1. delete HDtune.cab & Hdtune.in_ in I386\
2. remove any lines containing Hdtune.cab or hdtune.inf in txtsetup.sif and dosnet.inf
3. use winrar or 7-zip to open sysoc.in_ then extract sysoc.inf
4. remove this line in sysoc.inf

Code: Select all

HDTune=ocgen.dll,OcEntry,HDTune.inf,HIDE,7
5. in cmd mode,

Code: Select all

makecab sysoc.inf
6. delete sysoc.inf
thanx it worked 100%

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:01 pm

Yeah some addons are simple to remove and some are almost impossible. You just need to study the entries files and then you will understand how it all works.

Here is the official spot for defining all sections found in the entry files:
http://integrator.siginetsoftware.com/i ... al&entries
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

Post Reply