Windows XP SP3 RTM Confirmed on April 29, 2008 Not Confirmed

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
User avatar
project51
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:38 pm

Windows XP SP3 RTM Confirmed on April 29, 2008 Not Confirmed

Post by project51 » Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:25 pm

Last edited by project51 on Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:06 pm

Thanks, Project51.

User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by dougiefresh » Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:46 pm

Let's see if Microsoft can meet their announced release date.....
Visit me at home: http://xptsp.filetap.com

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Tue Apr 15, 2008 4:15 pm

it's not confirned until it's available........

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Tue Apr 15, 2008 7:48 pm

holy shit! let's see if ms will meet the date announced.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:03 pm

Tech ARP seems to be a reliable source. They did correctly report when and how Vista SP1 was released.

TJHart85
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:15 pm

Post by TJHart85 » Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:40 pm

5eraph wrote:Tech ARP seems to be a reliable source. They did correctly report when and how Vista SP1 was released.
They may be reliable, but is MS
Numbers written on restaurant bills within the confines of restaurants do not follow the same mathematical laws as numbers written on any other pieces of paper in any other parts of the Universe.
--Douglas Adams

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:20 am


User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by dougiefresh » Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:10 am

Microsoft has been delaying and delaying this service pack, then making excuses. I'll believe it when I see it released, not before.....
Visit me at home: http://xptsp.filetap.com

D0TZLUV3R
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 2:56 pm

Post by D0TZLUV3R » Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:20 pm

After testing service pack 3 I am not impressed with how it's integrating some of vista like features I believe I will Opt-Out of updating to any SP3 or Vista for that matter Vista is and always will be a pile of crap.

D0TZLUV3R
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 2:56 pm

Post by D0TZLUV3R » Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:22 pm

America is being forced to use restrictive technologies none of this will benefit consumers like us or even restore our fair use rights don't forget Microsoft did invent DRM-Digital rights management need I say more think about it if we keep giving into such technologies we are all doomed and own nothing.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sun Apr 20, 2008 10:30 pm

Ah, Microsoft did NOT invent 'DRM'.

It's been around for at least 20 years starting with some IBM/Prodigy and Compuserve things and then moving on to MIDI file protection on AmigaOS, etc, etc. At some point, all of the record companies experimented with unrippable CD music as far back at 1984 when CD players started to come down in price.

Marantz was one of the first player makers that had a key-license scheme for their CD players. You had to enter a 16 digit license key into the players for every music CD you owned. Just once, but the key had to be entered.

Microsoft did NOT get into DRM until it was clear that ripping CDs and selling MP3 players opened up a market for them to sell into. Even then 'Microsoft' DRM wasn't their own invention. They started out by supporting what the record companies developed and then bought technology and rebranded it as their own.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Mon Apr 21, 2008 8:36 am

D0TZLUV3R wrote:America is being forced to use restrictive technologies none of this will benefit consumers like us or even restore our fair use rights don't forget Microsoft did invent DRM-Digital rights management need I say more think about it if we keep giving into such technologies we are all doomed and own nothing.
No one is holding a gun to any of our heads "forcing" us to use this so-called restrictive technology.

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:31 pm

http://www.dailytech.com/Windows+XP+SP3 ... e11555.htm

Microsoft today officially announced SP3.

Microsoft's Chris Keroack posted the news in the TechNet Forums:

Today we are happy to announce that Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3) has released to manufacturing (RTM). Windows XP SP3 bits are now working their way through our manufacturing channels to be available to OEM and Enterprise customers.

User avatar
project51
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:38 pm

Post by project51 » Mon Apr 21, 2008 3:30 pm

Released as scheduled. Time to make the ultimate installer, FINALLY.

That is of course with the help of the addon makers... w00t :D

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:02 pm

If anyone finds out the RTM's build number, please let us know.

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:55 pm

Taken straight from the "Overview of Windows XP Service Pack 3.pdf"
What Is In Service Pack 3

Windows XP SP3 includes all previously released Windows XP updates, including security updates and hotfixes, and select out-of-band releases. Windows XP SP2 was released in August 2004. Since then, Microsoft has released hundreds of updates. Windows XP SP3 includes all of these updates.
Microsoft is not adding significant Windows Vista functionality to Windows XP through SP3. However, SP3 does include Network Access Protection (NAP) to help organizations that use Windows XP to take advantage of new features in the Windows Server® 2008 operating system. Further, Windows XP SP3 does not include Windows Internet Explorer 7. For more information about Internet Explorer 7, visit http://www.microsoft.com/windows/produc ... fault.mspx.
Knowledge Base article 936929 lists all other all Knowledge Base articles that Windows XP SP3 addresses. The following sections provide a high-level description of the functionality included in Windows XP SP3. For example, the service pack includes functionality previously released as updates, such as the Microsoft® Management Console (MMC) 3.0 and the Microsoft Core XML Services 6.0 (MSXML6). Users can download these updates and apply them individually to computers running Windows XP SP2. Windows XP SP3 also includes a small list of previously unavailable functionality, including NAP and an update of Windows Product Activation.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
project51
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:38 pm

Post by project51 » Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:52 pm

[quote="roirraW "edor""]If anyone finds out the RTM's build number, please let us know.[/quote]
RTM build number is 5512.

or 5512 here.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:12 pm

Thanks project51.

Edit: Paul Thurrott released screen shots for sp3 rtm:
http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/xp ... _shots.asp

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:18 pm

what about wmp? access the net via mobile and can't view images.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:22 pm


User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:05 am

Thanks, project51.

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:12 pm

Here you find the SP3 RTM version.
MODERATOR EDIT: Link to warez site removed.
Have fun ;)
Last edited by Outbreaker on Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:16 pm

I am not sure that is legal to post here Outbreaker. Although it "may" be the english version of SP3, it will not officially be released until the 29th. No telling on who has done what to the "leaked" version.

Edit: However, I will probably try to test it out myself. Just because I am like that. :shock:
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:59 pm

MRT doesn't seem to be included in SP3. Anybody can confirm it ?

Thanks.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:40 pm

Downloading now. Will report back :)

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:12 pm

I got mine now on to testing...

laser21
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:44 pm

Post by laser21 » Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:14 pm

Downloading as well, is it legit? Anybody checked the hash?

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:31 pm

laser21 wrote:Downloading as well, is it legit? Anybody checked the hash?
Checked the hash with what? It appears to be pseudo legit at least that much is certain. It acts like any other service pack has.

I am going to try to integrate and see what happens.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

w2sjw
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 5:31 pm

Post by w2sjw » Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:40 pm

Damn!

I integrated it into a 'gold' plain-jane SP2 VLK image, and the ISO grew from 593 MB to 655 MB!

Something about that just doesn't seem right...

And it integrated just fine for me as well (using standard command-line switches). I installed it in a VM environment without any hitches, and the only thinga that come up on WU were WMP11, .NET, & 1 or 2 other 'suggested' updates.

I have one last question, more of a request - can these things that Ryan adds into his update pack be found outside of the pack & integrated (can someone create these alone in a cab file):

Adobe Flash Player 9.0.115.0 ActiveX Control
Macrovision SafeDisc Driver Fix 4.3.86
Microsoft European Union Expansion Font Update 1.2
Microsoft Qfecheck 6.2.29.0
Microsoft Update 7.0.6000.381
Microsoft Web Folders 9.60.6715.0 (KB892211)
Microsoft Windows Script 5.6.8831 (Includes KB917344 Hotfix)
MSXML 4.0 SP2 (Includes KB941833 Hotfix)
Last edited by w2sjw on Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:44 pm

It seems to have integrated rather quickly. Such a change from previous service packs that took 30 minutes to an hour to integrate. Hmmm ... further testing is needed.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:46 pm

I have slipstreamed SP3 into a SP0 CD and the ISO is 593MB.

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:58 pm

w2sjw wrote:Damn!

I integrated it into a 'gold' plain-jane SP2 VLK image, and the ISO grew from 593 MB to 655 MB!

Something about that just doesn't seem right...

And it integrated just fine for me as well (using standard command-line switches). I installed it in a VM environment without any hitches, and the only thinga that come up on WU were WMP11, .NET, & 1 or 2 other 'suggested' updates.

I have one last question, more of a request - can these things that Ryan adds into his update pack be found outside of the pack & integrated (can someone create these alone in a cab file):

Adobe Flash Player 9.0.115.0 ActiveX Control
Macrovision SafeDisc Driver Fix 4.3.86
Microsoft European Union Expansion Font Update 1.2
Microsoft Qfecheck 6.2.29.0
Microsoft Update 7.0.6000.381
Microsoft Web Folders 9.60.6715.0 (KB892211)
Microsoft Windows Script 5.6.8831 (Includes KB917344 Hotfix)
MSXML 4.0 SP2 (Includes KB941833 Hotfix)
Can you check if SP3 installed MRT.exe ?

Thanks.

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1634
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:27 pm

Seem that not added MRT. I cannot find it.

I don't find it even in extracted i386 folder.
Last edited by vmanda on Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:32 pm

w2sjw wrote:Damn!
.....
I have one last question, more of a request - can these things that Ryan adds into his update pack be found outside of the pack & integrated (can someone create these alone in a cab file):

Adobe Flash Player 9.0.115.0 ActiveX Control
Macrovision SafeDisc Driver Fix 4.3.86
Microsoft European Union Expansion Font Update 1.2
Microsoft Qfecheck 6.2.29.0
Microsoft Update 7.0.6000.381
Microsoft Web Folders 9.60.6715.0 (KB892211)
Microsoft Windows Script 5.6.8831 (Includes KB917344 Hotfix)
MSXML 4.0 SP2 (Includes KB941833 Hotfix)
Someone want to start "taking apart" Ryan's update pack to get that done?

At a minimum, at least figuring out what you need for those addons. Hmmm ... I might have a hand at that.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:50 pm

vmanda wrote:Seem that not added MRT. I cannot find it.

I don't find it even in extracted i386 folder.
Yes MRT April 2008 is included in SP3.

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:52 pm

Further testing on SP3:

So far, it does not seem to be that big of a deal.
  • WGAN is not included at all. If you have an addon for that, I would suggest continuing to add that.
    KB941569 is not included (wmp codecs)
    KB890830 is not included (MRT)
Also appears to be an updated Windows Update Site. Not sure if I installed that or I just missed that update.

Otherwise, seems to be a pretty complete SP.

Edit:
The following addons are not included since SP3 is integrated and Ryan's update pack is not.
  • Adobe Flash Player 9.0.115.0 ActiveX Control
    Microsoft Qfecheck 6.2.29.0
    Microsoft Update 7.0.6000.381
However, xable has all of these updates on his site. Go here to add those to a SP3 installation.
Last edited by crashfly on Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
project51
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:38 pm

Post by project51 » Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:53 pm

Outbreaker wrote:Here you find the SP3 RTM version.
MODERATOR EDIT: Link to warez site removed.
Have fun ;)
FYI: This file doesn't have MS Digital Signature (certificate).
So I'm not going to play with it :oops:

Edit: In the torrent site comments, some says it is signed. So is it signed or not? Or do they meant the files inside are signed.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:16 pm

It downloads quick enough. Only seven minutes left for me, then I'll let you know if it has a Digital Signature.

Edit: Well obviously I trust MrNxDmX.

Edit 2: Double, triple, whatever verified. It's signed.

Digital Signature:

Image

nLite slipstreamed:

Image
Last edited by roirraW "edor" on Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:40 pm, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:18 pm

project51, its signed.

User avatar
project51
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:38 pm

Post by project51 » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:26 pm

MrNxDmX wrote:project51, its signed.
If it's signed, why can't I see it? My system is updated and so are the root certificates. :?

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:37 pm

Is the file on another computer on your home network. i.e. are you browsing to the file across the network and right-clicking and choosing Properties? I think I recall that when I do it that way some Properties tabs don't show up. It has to be a local file.

User avatar
jbob
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 1:58 pm

Post by jbob » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:37 pm

How do you tell whether it's signed by MS? I downloaded it twice with two different P2P apps. FWIW the MD5Hash, SHA1 Hash and CRC-32 matches what is expected as posted.

I haven't Slipstreamed it yet however. Will wait till tomorrow.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:41 pm

Right-click the file in Windows Explorer and choose Properties. Click on the Digital Signature tab in Properties.

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:43 pm

It all works as expected slipstreamed. Only minus the 3 addons that are not MS SP related (posted above by myself), one can get those via xable's site. Otherwise, it is a quite nice thing to have an immediately updated install.
Last edited by crashfly on Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
jbob
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 1:58 pm

Post by jbob » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:51 pm

[quote="roirraW "edor""]Right-click the file in Windows Explorer and choose Properties. Click on the Digital Signature tab in Properties.[/quote]

Guess that's why...I don't have the Digital Signature Tab. What's up with that? Of course I assume you mean Right Click on the SP3-ENU.exe file.

My Properties gui shows the General, Compatibility, Archive, File Hashes, Security and Summary Tabs. Everything is blank under Summary.

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:53 pm

jbob wrote:[quote="roirraW "edor""]Right-click the file in Windows Explorer and choose Properties. Click on the Digital Signature tab in Properties.
Guess that's why...I don't have the Digital Signature Tab. What's up with that? Of course I assume you mean Right Click on the SP3-ENU.exe file.

My Properties gui shows the General, Compatibility, Archive, File Hashes, Security and Summary Tabs. Everything is blank under Summary.[/quote]

I agree jbob. Mine lacks that tab as well, however the file appears to work even without the "direct" verification of signatures.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:58 pm

I have no idea why some people would be missing that tab other than the reason I posted about checking the file from a different computer on the network.

Maybe something removed with nLite in your current Windows installations????

Check an official SP2 exe and see if you get a Digital Signatures tab on it.

User avatar
project51
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:38 pm

Post by project51 » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:59 pm

I'm already panicing here. I CAN'T SEE the digital signature.

But all my files downloaded from MS site has signature except for this SP3 .exe:
Image

Below is my SP2 .exe with Digital Signature:
Image
Last edited by project51 on Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:05 am

In the immortal words of Douglas Adams, "Don't Panic!" I still don't know what to tell you though.

Post Reply