future of RVM Update Pack

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
theSLug
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:31 am

future of RVM Update Pack

Post by theSLug » Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:51 am

Dear Ryan,
now, with the SP3 out, your work on update pack is reduced to a minimal maintenance.

I'am a affectionate user of your UP.

the question is..... :D

now, you wont continue to a sp3 UP... plus... a...NEW 64bit update pack? :lol:

the sp3 for 64bit XP is so far...

tnx in advance for the reply

bye GREAT RYAN!


theSLug

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:53 am

He has already said he WILL continue to make his pack after SP3!

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:04 pm

I was attempting to create a SP2 x64 UpdatePack but I ran into many issues. Now that SP3 is fresh it should be fairly easy for me to start an x64 pack. ;) Also like Kel stated... Ryan has decided to create an SP3 pack. :D :thumbsup:
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:41 pm

Siginet wrote:I was attempting to create a SP2 x64 UpdatePack but I ran into many issues. Now that SP3 is fresh it should be fairly easy for me to start an x64 pack. ;) Also like Kel stated... Ryan has decided to create an SP3 pack. :D :thumbsup:
According to what I have read, Windows XP SP3 does *not* work on XP x64. I seem to remember the notification saying that the Windows 2003 Server SP covered XP x64. However, I will have to look up the exact quote for you.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:54 pm

SP3 will not work on WinXP 64-bit, the latest server 2003 pack is for XP 64-bit.

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:28 pm

RickSteele wrote:SP3 will not work on WinXP 64-bit, the latest server 2003 pack is for XP 64-bit.
That is correct. Windows NT 5.x x86 and x64 Service Packs are completely separate from each other.

SP2 for Windows Server 2003 (both x86 and x64) and XP x64 only came out in March of 2007. I'm sure there'll be a SP3 for them but not for at least another year or two.

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Thu Apr 24, 2008 11:49 am

Hmmm... maybe I can get the old x64 UpdatePack and figure out the issue with mine.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Thu Apr 24, 2008 12:10 pm

I know x64 Service Packs have to be slipstreamed from a x64 Host. I don't know what issue you're having, but could you be trying to integrate x64 hotfixes into XP x64 but from a x86 Host? Could that be the problem?

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:12 pm

I can slipstream the x64 sp just fine on an x86 machine. I don't see why I wouldn't be able to build the updatepack on an x86 machine either. I am not doing anything but editing txt files and copying/overwriting files. I'm pretty positive that I tested my x64 disk after I slipstreamed it though.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:39 pm

That's strange. When I tried to slipstream the x64 Service Pack 2 into Windows XP x64, it said that it couldn't be done under 32-bit, but it worked fine for me under 64-bit.

Ah, I found this link with a way to do it; I just never thought to seek a way outside of the default way:

http://neosmart.net/blog/2007/windows-x ... -released/
VP
Mar. 16th, 2007 at 7:03 pm

Do you have to be running x64 to perform this operation? Try to build my CD in XP 32bit - I am getting:

amd64\update\update.exe is not a valid Win 32 application.
Kind of pointless to install x64 just to create an x64 slipstreamed CD for a fresh install.
You can slipstream SP2 into your Windows XP x64 Edition CD by copying the contents of your CD to a folder on your hard-drive, and issuing the following command:

WindowsServer2003.WindowsXP-KB914961-SP2-x64-ENU.exe /integrate:C:\XP64\
In the example above, this is the x86 installer being used and the Windows XP x64 CD has been copied to C:\XP64\

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:50 pm

That would have been nice to know a year ago when I had to use my beta Vista x64 installation to do it. :rolleyes:

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:56 pm

One of the things I used to say in the Army that I still say the most often is "It's not done right if it's not done twice." Just the general frustration of finding out too late that there was an easier way to do something made me think of that. :twisted:

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:13 am

Sorry for going AWOL last week. I've been busy IRL. I'm planning on maintaining the SP2 pack in the future along with making a new SP3 pack. I haven't decided how often I'm going to update the SP2 pack, but I would say it'll be at least every other month. Every month if the workload isn't too much.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:23 am

Oh, and my current priority is getting 2.2.2 out the door. I want to get the SP3 pack out in May after patch Tuesday.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:19 pm

damn I am sitting waiting to reinstall windows and the hold up is your SP3 pack :)

posttoast
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:54 am
Location: The Hague. The Netherlands

Post by posttoast » Sat Apr 26, 2008 6:19 pm

Ryan: forgive me if this is a stupid question, but why keep updating the SP2 pack? Isn't SP2 more or less obsolete now that SP3 is out?

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Sat Apr 26, 2008 6:35 pm

Just as with any other Service Pack, some people may choose to never actually use it. Or some people may choose to merely wait an certain amount of time before using it.

After all, even with all the beta testing, sometimes some issues don't come to light until after the Service Pack goes RTM. Vista's SP1 was like this. Minor issue that didn't affect everyone (including me) but did affect some people, depending on their hardware.

User avatar
redxii
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:50 pm

Post by redxii » Sat Apr 26, 2008 6:36 pm

Eh, I sorta agree. The current version of the "update pack" I'll be using is 5.1.2600.5512.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:01 pm

posttoast wrote:Ryan: forgive me if this is a stupid question, but why keep updating the SP2 pack? Isn't SP2 more or less obsolete now that SP3 is out?
For whatever reason, not all people decide to immediately switch to a new service pack when it's released. However, I'm with you in that I don't expect demand to be nearly as high for the SP2 pack once SP3 has been out for awhile, hence why I may cut down on how often I update it.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:27 pm

2.2.2 is up on the tracker. I'll update the website tomorrow.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:10 am

Thanks RVM appreciate your work.
The Man from Aus

dado023
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:50 am

Post by dado023 » Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:56 am

Hi folks,
This is my first post :D

I discovered RyanVM site/forum couple months ago,............

Somehow i am more confident with your SP2update pack, coz i assume it has better stability and compatibility. When SP3 gets a bit older ill probably use it.........maybe

Thanks for the effort and keep up the good work. :)

cheers

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Tue Apr 29, 2008 6:02 am

Welcome to the forum, dado023.

User avatar
sayeds
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:47 am
Location: South Africa

Post by sayeds » Tue May 06, 2008 3:58 pm

Yes welcome to the forum dado023

In RyanVM we talk about and do fun and exciting things with Windows and other stuff all the time.

You will never get bored or be disappointed. :D

WARNING: WAREZ NOT ALLOWED. DON'T 4GET IT!
Image
Image
Image

Post Reply