RyanVM Post-SP2 Update Pack 2.2.2 - Released April 27, 2008

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

RyanVM Post-SP2 Update Pack 2.2.2 - Released April 27, 2008

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:13 pm

Here's the latest Post-SP2 Update Pack. For those of you who are wondering when my first Post-SP3 Update Pack will arrive, you'll be happy to know that I've already got a working beta running locally. My plan right now is to get some testing done on it and shoot for an initial release after the May Patch Tuesday.

Thanks again for all the support all of you have given me!

What's New
Version 2.2.2
  • Added KB906472 Hotfix.
  • Added KB941693 Hotfix. Replaces KB941880 Hotfix.
  • Added KB944338 Hotfix. Replaces KB942840 Hotfix.
  • Added KB945553 Hotfix. Replaces KB938586 Hotfix.
  • Added KB947864 Hotfix. Replaces KB944533 Hotfix.
  • Added KB948590 Hotfix. Replaces KB938829 Hotfix.
  • Added KB948881 Hotfix.
  • Added KB949127 Hotfix.
  • Added KB949483 Hotfix. Replaces KB940514 Hotfix.
  • Added KB949764 Hotfix. Replaces KB908673 Hotfix.
  • Added KB949900 Hotfix.
  • Added KB950616 Hotfix. Replaces KB921401 Hotfix.
  • Added KB951126 Hotfix. Replaces KB896256 Hotfix.
  • Updated Adobe Flash Player to version 9.0.124.0.
  • Updated KB943509 Hotfix.
  • Updated Malicious Software Removal Tool to version 1.40.
  • Updated Package Installer for Windows to version 6.3.13.0.
For the love of God, read the nLite or Integrator directions for how to properly integrate this pack.

Notes
  • nLite 1.4.1 or RyanVM Integrator 1.5.3 is required to properly integrate this release.
  • If you used nLite to integrate the pack and are having problems, PLEASE read this thread before reporting problems.
Download Here
Or From My Website

Known Issues
  • None.
If you do run into anything you think is an error, be sure to consult with the FAQ on my site before asking about it here.
Last edited by RyanVM on Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:19 pm

Thanks, Ryan. If you need any beta testers let me know.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:21 pm

Thanks for continuing to support SP2 even when SP3 is here. It's probably going to be a month or two before I can completely make the switch to SP3.

Joe S
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 9:15 pm
Location: NY

Update Pack

Post by Joe S » Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:22 pm

Ryan,
I downloaded the Torrent earlier and just finished testing after integrating with Integrator 1.5.3 Works great. Thanks for all the hard work
Joe

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:32 pm

it can get interesting to compare post sp2 against post sp3 in performance .etc

tho sp3 will boot faster from the cd thats for sure ;)

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:13 am

thanks ryan! much appreciated

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:54 am

Nice one. :)
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

bobotlito
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:32 am
Location: singapore

Post by bobotlito » Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:29 am

it sure is. :P
thanks ryan.
and i'll be happy to test post sp3 pack

Tr110022
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:15 am

Post by Tr110022 » Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:40 am

great
thanks ryan

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:00 am

i have

Code: Select all

LanguageGroup = "1","2","3","4","5","6","7","8","9","10","13","15"
in my winnt.sif

apparently, in my vmware and testpc, east asian language did not get installed for some reason. i can only see two culprits, either latest rvm 2.2.2 or beta driverpacks... for those with running systems, can anyone help verify asap please? ill test when i get the chance too

dkrus
Posts: 372
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:54 pm

Post by dkrus » Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:13 am

Thanks Ryan

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:20 am

thanks =)

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Mon Apr 28, 2008 11:29 am

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Thank You :!:

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Mon Apr 28, 2008 12:48 pm

Thanks for your work Ryan :)

Jay
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:38 pm

Post by Jay » Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:46 pm

Thanks again Ryan, long may this brilliant gesture continue :D

TJHart85
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:15 pm

Post by TJHart85 » Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:52 pm

THANK YOU!
Numbers written on restaurant bills within the confines of restaurants do not follow the same mathematical laws as numbers written on any other pieces of paper in any other parts of the Universe.
--Douglas Adams

ChiefZeke
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Victorville, California

Post by ChiefZeke » Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:42 pm

Got it yesterday - integrtaed with Ryan 1.5.3 just fine. Good work. :D

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:35 am

Thank you Ryan.

I didn't expect a new pack at this time. :lol:
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
pepoluan
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:28 am
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Contact:

Post by pepoluan » Tue Apr 29, 2008 4:00 pm

I had originally wanted to skip this update pack and go straight to SP3.

But Microsoft delayed the SP3 -- again.

I guess someone up there really respects Ryan's great work in supporting SP2 ;)
Nobody is perfect.
I am nobody.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:04 pm

WHATTTTT!?!?!?!!

SP3 was Oficially released early this morning.

Download Link

User avatar
XIII
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 4:47 am

Post by XIII » Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:10 pm

SP3 RTW (Release-To-Web) is delayed according to Chris Keroack:

http://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/Sho ... &SiteID=17
We are one, but we are not the same... Talk to each other!

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:21 pm

Maybe they should remove their official dl links then.... :P

User avatar
*Reaper*
Posts: 594
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:01 am

Post by *Reaper* » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:03 pm

Excellent work as always!!! :D

Thanks for your efforts!

zeeter
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:29 am

Post by zeeter » Wed Apr 30, 2008 5:11 pm

Awesome work Ryan as always....looking forward to the SP3 pack :)

User avatar
lespea
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:02 pm

Post by lespea » Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:35 pm

Thanks!

User avatar
bigmotor
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:24 pm

Post by bigmotor » Thu May 01, 2008 12:03 am

Hello everyone! this is my first time here and I'm a beginner @ this so I need some help. I'm trying to Slipstream WinXp pro. Am I to intergrate SP2 as well as SP2 updates that I have on a CD first or just intergrate Version 2.2.2 only only?


Thanks

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Thu May 01, 2008 12:17 am

bigmotor wrote:Hello everyone! this is my first time here and I'm a beginner @ this so I need some help. I'm trying to Slipstream WinXp pro. Am I to intergrate SP2 as well as SP2 updates that I have on a CD first or just intergrate Version 2.2.2 only only?


Thanks
This "update pack" *requires* SP2 to be integrated in with your Windows XP Source disk *before* integrating this update pack.

So yes, you need to slipstream SP2 in with your CD *first*, then add the update pack.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Thu May 01, 2008 5:09 pm

All solid here VM, but I didn't expect anything different.

Cheers
MC
The Man from Aus

Purdy
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:03 pm

Post by Purdy » Fri May 02, 2008 1:33 am

Many thanks! My new install works perfectly!

alsiladka
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:49 pm

Post by alsiladka » Sat May 03, 2008 1:01 am

Thnx Ryan, going to be using the pack after nearly an Year :)
But why havent your included Windows Script 5.7?

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sat May 03, 2008 1:36 am

alsiladka wrote:Thnx Ryan, going to be using the pack after nearly an Year :)
But why havent your included Windows Script 5.7?
There was some issue some people had with Windows Script 5.7, so he reverted back to the previous. I think someone provided a separate addon just for it if someone still wanted it though. I don't have the links, you'd have to search for it.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat May 03, 2008 11:17 am

RogueSpear reported some problems.

code65536 made an addon for it.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

I should mention that these problems do not exist with an SP3 slipstreamed source and it's to my understanding that SP3 has WSH 5.7 in it. Perhaps it is indeed the standalone package of WSH 5.7 that's the problem and not something inherent with WSH 5.7 itself.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sat May 03, 2008 2:36 pm

Good to know, thanks RogueSpear.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun May 04, 2008 10:36 pm

I'm willing to add WSH 5.7 if people are willing to vouch for it behaving OK. Has anybody here tried the addon? Is it working OK?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
sayeds
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:47 am
Location: South Africa

Post by sayeds » Tue May 06, 2008 3:44 pm

Yo Ryan

Thanx for all the long hours working on your post SP2 update packs, you and the other contributors to the package have always done an outstanding job.

I'm sure I speak for the other RVM members/users when I say that we know that your post SP3 update pack will be just as great a success if not greater.

You have consistently produced outstanding work, and as RVM members we have come to expect nothing less of you.

In short you rock Ryan
:D
Image
Image
Image

hatem20
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 4:27 am
Location: egypt

Post by hatem20 » Wed May 07, 2008 2:42 pm

Thank you very much Mr\RyanVM
i'am really like this Pack !

Betty
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:53 am
Location: Hamilton, ON

Post by Betty » Sat May 10, 2008 10:43 am

Thank you Ryan, and everyone else involved, for all your hard work and efforts put into this project.

It is greatly appreciated.

Betty

User avatar
sayeds
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:47 am
Location: South Africa

Post by sayeds » Wed May 14, 2008 3:23 am

I'm not sure if this should be posted on this thread but here goes.

(1.) More or less when is the Post-SP3 pack to be released?

(2.) In the next version of the RVM Integrator is it possible to inlude the functionality, that when it reads the source directory and detects SP3 slipstreamed, that it will search for old SP2 components which are no longer used by the installation and remove them automatically?

(3.) Is there anything that the integrator does differently in the following two scenarios
- Integrating a service pack, and then integrating the RVMupdate pack and other addons
- Performing the above operations all at once.
The reason I ask this, is that these two scenario's are provided for in the Integrator's slipstreaming options

Awaiting response :D
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Wed May 14, 2008 5:43 am

sayeds wrote:(1.) More or less when is the Post-SP3 pack to be released?
Ryan's last news on Post-SP3 was that it would hopefully come out sometime after May's patch Tuesday, which was yesterday. He didn't say how long after so I would leave it at that.

georgetoz
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 7:53 am

Post by georgetoz » Fri May 16, 2008 8:09 am

hi ryan

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat May 17, 2008 1:42 pm

Hi
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sat May 17, 2008 1:54 pm

RyanVM wrote:Hi
I never though that a whopping two letters could ever crack me up so much :lol:

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Sat May 17, 2008 3:30 pm

I can help beta test sp3 pack if you want.

User avatar
rsadix
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 8:33 pm

Thank You

Post by rsadix » Tue May 20, 2008 2:54 am

I have tried several attempts with SP3 and have had issues with many automatic services not starting, missing shortcuts, IE7 non existent... basically a failed install.

So I am happy (I guess) to stick with good ole SP2. I like to help but I'm running out of steam with SP3.

Thanx for keeping SP2 alive !!
Whether you think you can or you can't, you are always right.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Tue May 20, 2008 5:18 am

I haven't had a single problem yet on two real computer installs unless you count that integrating IE7 works, but doesn't support IE7's hotfixes. The workaround is to reinstall IE7 on top of the integrated one, or just not to integrate IE7 in the first place but install it aftewards.

Also, the CCleaner addon I use for some reason isn't placing a shortcut on the desktop with SP3, but that's hardly SP3's responsibility.

Did you try it with a mess of addons or something? Have you tried it without the addons or try eliminating some of the addons to see if those are the problems?

Do you wish direction to a general summary of what integrations I performed which worked just fine with it?

mercyground
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 6:50 pm

Re: Thank You

Post by mercyground » Sat May 24, 2008 9:08 pm

rsadix wrote:I have tried several attempts with SP3 and have had issues with many automatic services not starting, missing shortcuts, IE7 non existent... basically a failed install.

So I am happy (I guess) to stick with good ole SP2. I like to help but I'm running out of steam with SP3.

Thanx for keeping SP2 alive !!
MS dont support IE7 being intergrated on SP3. It does cause issues.

If you install SP3 you should uninstall IE7 then install SP3 then install IE7.

I am cheating with the way i'm doing it. I've stuck a folder on my iso that contains the new java, an all in one .net, and IE7 full install.

bobotlito
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:32 am
Location: singapore

Re: Thank You

Post by bobotlito » Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:01 am

I went to windows update but didn't install SP3 but chose "other updates".
Then it showed june hotfixes and I installed them.
I am not ready for SP3 yet due to its issues.

I wonder if Ryan will continue post SP2 update pack while doing post SP3. :(

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:29 am

He has said he will, but perhaps not as often.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jun 12, 2008 9:08 pm

Yeah, though I'm fighting VMWare with a couple updates right now :-\
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Locked