Would this work?

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
User avatar
pen25jf
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:22 pm

Would this work?

Post by pen25jf » Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:10 pm

Have a SP1a disk:

1. Slipstream SP2.
2. Slipstream Ryan's pack for XP2.
3. Slipstream SP3?

I know when I did a slipstream of SP2 and ryan's pack, then after a couple of reboots for other apps, installed SP3 and it was fine - even showed Ryan's updates which were not in SP3. But since I would overwriting files, would this not work/screw things up?

Thanks, sorry I hope it's not a redundant question :| !!!

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:05 pm

No! Only slipstream SP3, and then if you want redxii's Post-SP3 Update pack (or wait for Ryan's).

I wouldn't recommend the way you listed, anyway. I would wait for Ryan to release his Post-SP3 Update Pack that will contain the stuff that even SP3 still doesn't.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Wed Jun 04, 2008 7:06 pm

This is one of those *maybes*. Best way would be to *test* it. Depending on how specifically Ryan's pack updates the source would be if this works or not.

However, as roirraW "edor" points out, this is not the *recommended* way of doing this.

Slipstreaming SP2 and then SP3 would be the recommended way of doing this, with the use of a post SP3 update pack.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
pen25jf
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:22 pm

Post by pen25jf » Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:27 am

Hmm, figured as much, but thought worth a shot. Not in a rush to do a new slipstream. Thanks guys for the advice

mark strelecki
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:05 am
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Post by mark strelecki » Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:17 am

roirraW "edor" is correct that ONLY SP3 should be slipstreamed in your example scenario.

Keep in mind that service packs are CUMULATIVE, so SP3 contains everything SP2 did, as well as SP1. It would be a duplication of effort to stream SP3 over SP2 over SP1, and in my mind would risk breaking something.

Simpler is better when it comes to software (and lots of other stuff).

Best practice is to use the latest available SP and then the appropriate addon packs, if available.

I am now using SP3 in all my XP installs and so far everything is working very well.

Thank you Ryan for a wonderful technology that works every time! I await your new post-SP3 pack with bated breath.

Greets from a first-time poster in Atlanta, GA. USA.

:D

User avatar
pen25jf
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:22 pm

Post by pen25jf » Tue Jun 10, 2008 1:14 pm

Hey mark, welcome!

Reading rom the boards, Microsoft, etc. it says it's "recommended" to have SP2, but not mandatory. So just to play on the safe side, I'll slip 2 then 3, then whatever comes next.

User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Post by bphlpt » Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:46 pm

pen25jf, if you reread Microsoft's recommendation again, you should see that is referring to the situation of INSTALLING SP3, ie on a existing, running system. However, for SLIPSTREAMING, roirraW "edor" is, as usual, correct and MS agrees, and we have quoted from MS forums to prove it elsewhere in this forum. You only need to slip SP3.

Cheers and Regards.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:25 pm

This kind of thing needs to get entered into one of those fact-or-fiction/urban legend web sites, like things you end up checking up on that have been forwarded umpteen times before they get to your email box. Grin.

I, myself, helped perpetuate the myth that perhaps it was best to slipstream SP2 first early on, but have since been convinced that we are in the free and clear to just slipstream SP0->SP3 straight through.

I heard that SP3 can only be correctly slipstreamed while continuously chugging screwdrivers until the process is finished. Well, at least it's more fun that way.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

Post Reply