[Help] Has anyone seen this? picture errors in User CPL

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

[Help] Has anyone seen this? picture errors in User CPL

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Jul 04, 2008 9:47 pm

Image

Is it one of these DLL's that I unregister for IE7?

Code: Select all

[Base.Stub.UnRegSvr]
"regsvr32 /u /s %11%\browsewm.dll"
"regsvr32 /u /s %11%\cdfview.dll"
"regsvr32 /u /s %11%\danim.dll"
"regsvr32 /u /s %11%\datime.dll"
"regsvr32 /u /s %11%\lmrt.dll"
Hope somebody can help

Edit: Nope I just re-registered them and still the same

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:34 pm

That occurs in my alternative ie7 addon pack. This reg setting fixes it:
; This fixes the icon issue in Control Panel/User Accounts
HKCR,".ico","Content Type",0,"image/x-icon"
HKCR,".ico","PerceivedType",0,"image"

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:43 pm

ty MrNxDmX :D

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:22 pm

I feel like a dummy but I'm not sure how to add these reg settings on my current installation... I think I understand how to add them to the inf file for my new installs but not to fix it post install :oops:
MrNxDmX wrote:That occurs in my alternative ie7 addon pack. This reg setting fixes it:
; This fixes the icon issue in Control Panel/User Accounts
HKCR,".ico","Content Type",0,"image/x-icon"
HKCR,".ico","PerceivedType",0,"image"

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:35 pm

Hmmm, now I'm really confused since I see those are already present in the NR_IE7en.inf and yet my recent install has the exact same icon problem

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:46 pm

compstuff, can you reproduce the issue with latest version of addon? (v2.0.2)

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Mon Sep 08, 2008 2:05 pm

MrNxDmX wrote:compstuff, can you reproduce the issue with latest version of addon? (v2.0.2)
I'm happy to say that the problem seems to be resolved with the latest version.

I used v2.0.2 (not alt yet) integrated with RVMI v1.5.3 and the problem is gone. I tried 3 different integrations with various addons and all CPL icons are fine each time

THANKS :D

jianbin
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 11:17 am

Post by jianbin » Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:34 pm

MrNxDmX wrote:That occurs in my alternative ie7 addon pack. This reg setting fixes it:
; This fixes the icon issue in Control Panel/User Accounts
HKCR,".ico","Content Type",0,"image/x-icon"
HKCR,".ico","PerceivedType",0,"image"
hello ...

anyone can teach me fix to where? how to fix it??

thank!!

User avatar
Oron123
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: In the tavern in the village of Fleur de lis near Calypso - StS
Contact:

Post by Oron123 » Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:29 pm

jianbin wrote:
MrNxDmX wrote:That occurs in my alternative ie7 addon pack. This reg setting fixes it:
; This fixes the icon issue in Control Panel/User Accounts
HKCR,".ico","Content Type",0,"image/x-icon"
HKCR,".ico","PerceivedType",0,"image"
hello ...

anyone can teach me fix to where? how to fix it??

thank!!
Use this.
An advice for life: Do not argue with people who have no knowledge.
They aren't aware of what they say/write and will drag you down to their level.
www.TecHappens.com

jianbin
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 11:17 am

Post by jianbin » Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:41 pm

Oron123 wrote:
jianbin wrote:
MrNxDmX wrote:That occurs in my alternative ie7 addon pack. This reg setting fixes it:
hello ...

anyone can teach me fix to where? how to fix it??

thank!!
Use this.
fix.reg??? is for windows mode ...

i mean how to fix in my souce cd??

i download the addon ie7 2.0.3

how to fix in NR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.3 ???

User avatar
Oron123
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: In the tavern in the village of Fleur de lis near Calypso - StS
Contact:

Post by Oron123 » Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:26 pm

The problem occurred in one of the old version of the pack.
Is the problem still showing for you in the latest version?
An advice for life: Do not argue with people who have no knowledge.
They aren't aware of what they say/write and will drag you down to their level.
www.TecHappens.com

jianbin
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 11:17 am

Post by jianbin » Sat Dec 13, 2008 12:48 am

ya, NR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.3.7z ..

still have the problem!!

anyone version better??

User avatar
Oron123
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: In the tavern in the village of Fleur de lis near Calypso - StS
Contact:

Post by Oron123 » Sat Dec 13, 2008 9:36 am

Well, I know this fix is written only in the alternative pack, which is the pack you didn't use.
If you want to add this fix by yourself you can edit the "[Tweaks.AddReg]" section in the file "NR_IE7en.inf".
Afterwards just pack all again with 7-Zip.

It should be like this:

Code: Select all

[Tweaks.AddReg]
; Language Settings in IE7
HKCU,"%SMIE%\International","AcceptLanguage",0,"en-US"
; Remove MU ActiveX Prompt for IE7
HKCU,"Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext\Stats\{6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3}\iexplore","Flags",0x10001,4
; To make sure that everything is OK.
HKLM,"%UPDATES%","Internet Explorer 7 Updates are provided by",0,"%NAME% %VERSION%"
; This fixes the icon issue in Control Panel/User Accounts
HKCR,".ico","Content Type",0,"image/x-icon"
HKCR,".ico","PerceivedType",0,"image"
Or you can just use the alternative pack, if you like.
An advice for life: Do not argue with people who have no knowledge.
They aren't aware of what they say/write and will drag you down to their level.
www.TecHappens.com

jianbin
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 11:17 am

Post by jianbin » Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:45 am

thank Oron123...

get it!! download later n try!!!

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:13 pm

I haven't tried 2.03 yet but I have done at least 20 to 30 installs with 2.02 (not the alt version) and as I reported back in September my issues with the control panel were definitely resolved.

I am doing a few new integrations tomorrow with 2.03 and will report back

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:07 pm

jianbin, that problem exists only when you use my alternative ie7 addon pack. I'd like to know other addons you've used in your source.

compstuff, waiting forward to hear your test results :)

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Sun Dec 14, 2008 8:13 am

I just finished a new integration with 2.03 and I installed it on VM and I'm happy to report my CPL is working fine :D

THANKS again MrNxDmX

I am trying to tweak some custom installs for a few new laptops but if I can get to the 2.03 ALT version I will try it and report back... I actually never tried the ALT version before so it will be a first for me if I do.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun Dec 14, 2008 3:38 pm

Nice to hear :)
I'll try to update my addons soon.

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Mon Dec 15, 2008 11:29 am

just some follow-up:

I haven't gotten to your latest version yet ( I will today) but over the last 2 days I have done 6 completely fresh integrations with 2.03 NOT ALT and have no trouble with the CPL.

EDIT: I just finished 2.04 and it also worked perfectly with no CPL problems... THANKS

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:09 pm

Thanks for report buddy. You've made my day happy :P

jianbin
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 11:17 am

Post by jianbin » Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:01 am

hi MrNxDmX
!!

b4 i test error CPL coz i integrater RVMUpdatePackSP3_1.0.1 then NR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.3, become CPL Error..

now i test only integrater sp3 with NR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.3 without RVMUpdatePackSP3_1.0.1..fine now...

thank!!!

mean !!RVMUpdatePackSP3_1.0.1 ..got problem? not sure !!can;t get what happen!!

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:59 pm

In case this may be of use this is my sequence:

STEP 1:
Integrate a clean SP3 disk with: RED_XP_SP3_UpdatePack_12.08-02.7z

STEP 2:
Integrate below addons + have RVMI run Boooggy WMP Slipstreamer

ARemoval_LANG_DirDeleteAddon.cab
BRemoval_WINNTUPG_DirDeleteAddon_v1.1.cab
CPatchAddon_SFC_OS_v14.7z
EPatchAddon_TCPIP_100_v14d.7z
FNR_UPHC_Addon.cab
Hxable_WGAN-v1.4_addon.cab
INR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.4.7z
Java6u11.exe
KDirectX_9.0c_End-User_Runtime_AddOn_0.6.0_-_redxii.7z
ProgramAddons K-Lite Codec Pack Standard 4.2.5.cab
ProgramAddons QuickTime Alternative 2.7.0.cab
ProgramAddons_Real_Alternative_1.9.0.cab
ProgramAddons_spybotsd-1.6.0.30.cab
Reapers_Adobe_Shockwave_11.0.3.471_Slim_AddOn.7z
Ricks_SpywareBlaster4.1_addon_81209.7z
Yar9lite_eng.exe

Post Reply