Post SP3 (1.0.1) Integration Exit Issue with entries.ini

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
origgman
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 10:06 am

Post SP3 (1.0.1) Integration Exit Issue with entries.ini

Post by origgman » Fri Sep 19, 2008 9:31 am

Hello

My first post - so please bear with me in case I have made some glaring faux pas.

In trying to integrate Ryans' Post SP3 pack with a new installation of SP2 CD + SP3. About half way through, a dialog box with the following error pops up:

Code: Select all

Error: No entries*.ini Found, Exiting
This happens after expanding Gathering temp files, expanding driver, SP2, SP3 cabs, and Shifting Stuff Around.

I have been using the Integrator since 1.3.5, with SP2 and have never seen this or had any problems. I have tried all combinations, including not using any addons. Same thing every time. I also tried to find this on the boards, as well as re-read the Integrator instructions, in case I was missing something new.

I am attaching the log file (below) and would truly appreciate any assistance regarding this integration.

Code: Select all

2008-09-19_08.53.01
Log Startup @ 08:53:01 On September 19, 2008

Running OS: WIN_XP Service Pack 3 X86
RVMIntegrator v1.5.3

"E:\WkFolder\_BackUps\XPUpdates\RVM_Integrator_1.5.3.exe" 

08:53:01  - Windows XP Professional -  OEM SP3 Found
08:54:49  - 
08:54:49  - Source Drive         = E:\DVDs\XPProCD
08:54:49  - Destination Drive    = E:\DVDs\XPProCD
08:54:49  - Destination Size     = 37.84 GB
08:54:49  - Working Directory    = E:\DVDs\XPProCD\I386
08:54:49  - Temp Directory       = E:\DVDs\XPProCD\I386\rvmtemp
08:54:49  - 
08:54:49  - Starting Integration
08:54:49  - 
08:54:49  - Checking Destination For OS Type.
08:54:49  - Windows XP Professional -  OEM SP3 Found
08:54:49  - 
08:54:49  - Extracting RVMUpdatePackSP3_1.0.1.7z
08:54:50  -     MD5 Hash = DD68C8DC7137DC0AE27EBAE505072F0D
08:54:50  - Extracting RVMAddonsWGAN_1.8.31.0.7z
08:54:50  -     MD5 Hash = 19904CB4E0195002AC4975BED2350EBF
08:54:50  - Extracting DirectX_9.0c_End-User_Runtime_AddOn_0.5.1_-_redxii.7z
08:54:50  -     MD5 Hash = 4D8307364BC07ED592CB800BE3572980
08:54:50  - Clearing any Read Only Attributes.
08:54:52  - 
08:54:52  - Gathering temp files
08:54:52  - Expanding driver.cab
08:55:33  - Expanding SP2.cab
08:55:38  - Expanding SP3.cab
08:55:47  - Shifting Stuff Around
Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction

Thank you
GMan

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:15 pm

I have also got this error on occasion but it's been inconsistent. I thought it was because I was working within a Vista64 environment but you are not.
Hopefully 1.5.4 (now in beta 6) fixes this problem once and for all.
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

greenmr
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:02 pm

Post by greenmr » Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:17 pm

I'm getting this same error with Post SP3 pack 1.0.3, and it is happening at exactly the same point in processing. I'm using Integrator 1.5.4 beta 9. I am new to RyanVM, but I'm expert at slipstreaming and have 25 years of IT experience, so I'm no newbie (except to RyanVM.)

Here's the scenario in case it helps provide a solution...

I found my XP x32 SP2 Integrated disk to be unreadable, so I copied my SP1 Integrated disk to my Vista Ultimate x64 workstation and slipstreamed it with SP3. When I tried to run the RyanVM Integrator on it I got the error described in the original post.

Thinking maybe it was because I went straight from SP1 to SP3, I repeated the process, this time slipstreaming to SP2 and running Post SP2 pack 2.2.5. Everything ran perfectly and I burned the disk. Next I slipstreamed the result of the previous slipstream/integrate to SP3, and ran RyanVM Integrator with Post SP3 pack, but the result is the same. Does anyone have any idea what might be going on here? I really don't want my SP3 integrated disk to not have the hotfixes that RyanVM provides.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Feb 12, 2009 3:17 pm

You should be able to slipstream SP3 directly onto SP1, then use RyanVM's SP3 Update Pack. Please try RVMi 1.5.4_b10, use "Advanced Debug Mode" under the Advanced tab, and post your log file.

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Re: Post SP3 (1.0.1) Integration Exit Issue with entries.ini

Post by ccl0 » Thu Feb 12, 2009 4:51 pm

origgman wrote:

Error: No entries*.ini Found, Exiting


i got the same error message recently too.
i've no idea why, since i had been using rvm for about a year and a half prior and never got that kind of error before.

what i can say is that about a month ago i downloaded beta 9 from siginet's forum. i tested it out and everything worked fine.

but afterwards i deleted the beta figuring the final release would be out soon.

but some time passed and i wanted to try some stuff so i re-downloaded the file from rvm forums.... and i kept getting that .ini error.

after trying to figure out why, i just randomly decided to go back and download the same beta from siginet's forum and the problem disappeared.

now, whether this is coincidence or not.. who knows. but thats how i got it to work for me :P

edit: i want to say that i also did nothing different during my tests. i kept getting that .ini error just from trying to integrate post sp3 pack and nothing else

User avatar
code65536
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: .us
Contact:

Post by code65536 » Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:37 pm

<speculation>It was probably a corrupted configuration file (a corrupted Integrator is highly unlikely); when you "re-installed" the Integrator, you also ended up deleting the Integrator's config file, and that probably is what fixed it.</speculation>
My addons: CmdOpen - HashCheck - Notepad2 - MS Runtimes - DirectX

Into the breach, meatbags!

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:25 am

i suppose anything is possible code65536, but actually i downloaded it more than once and tried it on two different machines and got the same .ini error result. for whatever reason the issue only was resolved after i got it from sig's site

greenmr
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:02 pm

Post by greenmr » Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:39 pm

Not likely, since I am having the exact same problem with beta 9 and I have only done a single clean install.

greenmr
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:02 pm

Post by greenmr » Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:09 pm

Ok, I finally solved this. I tried the beta 10 version, then the beta 12 one, but kept getting the same error. Finally I went to the Advanced page and told it to show external windows. Lo and behold, it turned out that the zip file extraction for v1.0.3 was failing. I tried opening the file with WinRAR and it reported a broken archive. On closer inspection I realized the file was only about 9mb instead of the 29mb it should have been.

I tried redownloading it but no matter what PC (XP Pro x86, XP Pro x64, Vista Ultimate x64) and which browser I used (Opera, IE7, GetRight) it would download to 99% then fail. I tried each of the mirror sites listed on the RyanVM site with the same result. A google search found the 1.0.3 update pack listed on MajorGeeks (http://majorgeeks.com/RyanVMs_Windows_X ... d6032.html) but the first four download sites produced the same problem (I'm guessing they were just aliases for the RyanVM download links.) Only when I tried the Internode site was I able to get a full download of the 1.0.3 Post SP3 update pack.

Ran the Integrator tool again and all was well. :D

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:38 pm

Thanks for reporting. :)

I think in a future integrator we should think about having it check for file corruption. ;)

greenmr wrote:Ok, I finally solved this. I tried the beta 10 version, then the beta 12 one, but kept getting the same error. Finally I went to the Advanced page and told it to show external windows. Lo and behold, it turned out that the zip file extraction for v1.0.3 was failing. I tried opening the file with WinRAR and it reported a broken archive. On closer inspection I realized the file was only about 9mb instead of the 29mb it should have been.

I tried redownloading it but no matter what PC (XP Pro x86, XP Pro x64, Vista Ultimate x64) and which browser I used (Opera, IE7, GetRight) it would download to 99% then fail. I tried each of the mirror sites listed on the RyanVM site with the same result. A google search found the 1.0.3 update pack listed on MajorGeeks (http://majorgeeks.com/RyanVMs_Windows_X ... d6032.html) but the first four download sites produced the same problem (I'm guessing they were just aliases for the RyanVM download links.) Only when I tried the Internode site was I able to get a full download of the 1.0.3 Post SP3 update pack.

Ran the Integrator tool again and all was well. :D
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:53 pm

The Integrator does check the MD5, which we use to check against corruption. ;)

If we had the log file, we would have seen right away.

greenmr
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:02 pm

Post by greenmr » Tue Feb 24, 2009 7:45 pm

5eraph wrote:The Integrator does check the MD5, which we use to check against corruption. ;)

If we had the log file, we would have seen right away.
That may be but it clearly wasn't handling the error gracefully. There was no indication anything was wrong until it falied with a cryptic error message (long after the extraction failure.)

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Tue May 05, 2009 9:44 am

Last edited by ENU_user on Sat Jun 19, 2010 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue May 05, 2009 10:40 am

You don't seem to be aware that the Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) is simply another form of data hashing. You cannot determine if a file is corrupt unless you already have the "known good" hash to compare to the newly computed one.

Thinking more granularly, it may be possible to detect errors during decompression, but I don't know if Siginet's custom 7-Zip module is capable of providing that kind of detection in a useful way for us to code around.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Tue May 05, 2009 10:52 am

..
Last edited by ENU_user on Sat Jun 19, 2010 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

origgman
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 10:06 am

Post by origgman » Wed May 13, 2009 12:26 pm

5eraph wrote:....
If we had the log file, we would have seen right away.
I think we may be missing the original point here. The hash matched for the files I was using. The real issue cause is still **UNKNOWN**.

However it definitely is a Registry/Windows/Integrator-Install thing because, some time after the first post, I had to reformat my HDD and start over. At that time, after installing the integrator (1.5.3- I believe) the SAME update packs and addons worked fine. Of course then I had no way of even trying to troubleshoot what could have been the issue, and hence assist any others with the same problem.

I think this will definitely go down as one of the ponderables...

GMan
Last edited by origgman on Thu May 14, 2009 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Thu May 14, 2009 7:53 am

origgman wrote:I think this will definitely go down as one of the ponderables...

GMan
I think it was Kernel Debugger with the candlestick on the grassy knoll.

Who is Kernel Debugger and what's he doing in my computer, anyway!? ;)
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

origgman
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 10:06 am

Post by origgman » Thu May 14, 2009 8:34 am

Though my favorite was always Ms Scarlet (pre 1972 version), but I digress...

Post Reply