Integrator problem

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
Raider
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 5:38 am
Location: Kellyville, OK

Integrator problem

Post by Raider » Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:50 pm

AVG Antivirus says the Integrator is infected. If I shut off AVG then Vista says I don't have appropriate permissions. I am the local Admin on my computer and even tried the run as admin feature in vista. I know you wouldn't be putting out infected files so I need some suggestions. I have always made my XP disc in Vista since I got it over a year ago.

I downloaded from the torrent and your site multiple times.

User avatar
redxii
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:50 pm

Post by redxii » Sun Jan 25, 2009 3:12 pm

It's a false positive, some AV vendors have decided that anything-AutoIt (what RVM Integrator is written in) is bad.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:11 pm

BTW, it says right on the description on the tracker that the antivirus warnings are false positives
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:19 pm

It's actually an issue with UPX. I'm unpacking all future builds before release.

Raider
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 5:38 am
Location: Kellyville, OK

Post by Raider » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:26 pm

AVG denies me the download but I don't want to remove it.

User avatar
tarquel
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:23 am
Location: Mid-Wales, UK

Post by tarquel » Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:12 am

You can setup Exclusions in the Resident Scanner in the Options of AVG Free.

Have your builds and tools i.e. RVM Integrator, BTS, etc, in a seperate part of your hard drive (preferably a different partition) and exclude it to prevent this from being a problem.

AVG might flag it as you are downloading it, but in that case, just temporarily disable the AV just before it finishes downloading and then re-enable after its moved to the area that you have Excluded.

Easy :)

Cheers
Nath.
Nathan Harmsworth
ICT Messaging & Security Development Officer @ CCC [Gov}

User avatar
xenon2050
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:16 pm
Location: The Midwest

Post by xenon2050 » Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:07 am

Poor AutoIt gets so much AV crap... :(

Post Reply