English language in Swedish xp

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
AMDmannen
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Sweden

English language in Swedish xp

Post by AMDmannen » Fri Jan 28, 2005 3:00 pm

I have used the V5 lite pack in XPSP2.
When i rightclick My Compyter, go to Pref, and look under Automatic Updates, all there is displayed in English when it should be Swedish.

Is there anyone that can give me a hint what to change?
I used nlite to do the update.
But if there is a specific KB that i can use to get "my" language back ill do it manually.
I did have a look at most of the KB´s at M$ but with no luck.

Number 1 is with English and 2 is the other tabs with Swedish.
Pic look like this:
Image

Image
*spelling

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Fri Jan 28, 2005 3:06 pm

None of the packs are appropriate to non-english O.S.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jan 28, 2005 3:42 pm

My bet is it's KB834707 that's causing that to happen. But like Lucius said, none of my packs are guaranteed to work with non-English OSes.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

AMDmannen
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by AMDmannen » Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:31 pm

I didnt expected everything to work "just like that".
But mayby someone had a idea on what to do, and Ryan did so i will look att that, thx =)
*spelling

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:43 pm

Most of the files don't care about languages, but some of the fixed files have large string tables in them, which are what you're seeing. Version 1.1 is going to have that even more than 1.0.5.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

AMDmannen
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by AMDmannen » Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:49 pm

Is there any way to get the Swedish version of the KB834707 into say the medium pack?
I did a SP2 V05 with the medium pack and the only thing not working is the language at the Auto Update thing.

Can i do this by myself in any way?
*spelling

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:53 pm

If you're using the Medium pack, your problem is actually likely being caused by the updated Windows Update files (which also change the automatic update component).

But yeah, what you can do is download the relevant hotfix, extract the files, then compress them and replace the included ones with those. My INF files document fully what files are included in every hotfix I include. If you open it in a text editor, you'll see it at the top.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

AMDmannen
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by AMDmannen » Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:53 pm

Hell, best thing is to switch for a English version then, but that will involve buying a English XP.

Or i will just stick with my Swedish and have some non Swedish dialogs =)
*spelling

AMDmannen
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by AMDmannen » Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:54 pm

I have tested with the lite pack to, same thing, even tested my old V04 lite same there.
*spelling

AMDmannen
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by AMDmannen » Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:58 pm

I´ll test some of what you have pointed me to.
Really, thx =)
*spelling

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:02 pm

Not a problem. And if it's happening with the Lite pack, I'm fairly sure KB834707 is the issue.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:09 pm

You can try replacing the files and editing the .inf to correct these problem.

Post Reply