Identifying the CDROM drive letter - two methods?

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
SymSpaceT

Identifying the CDROM drive letter - two methods?

Post by SymSpaceT » Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:45 am

Hello folks,

As a noob, I have to fight my way through every little painstaking detail. This one is identifying the CDROM drive letter during installation.

I have searched this and the MSFN site and there seems to be two methods and I have questions regarding both.

The first is a method I found is from a posted code by the user "CrashFly". I am not sure if this is actually a CDROM identification, that is my first question.

Code: Select all

cWnd /hide @
@echo off
SetLocal enableextensions
SET CDROM=%~d0

The second method is the standard method (or so it seems to me):

FOR %%i IN (D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) DO IF EXIST %%i:\win51 SET CDROM=%%i:

Questions:

1. Did I actually identify the first method correctly as setting the CDROM variable to the drive's actual letter?
If it is, could somebody explain how (why) it works? (it seems cryptic to me).

2. The second method seem to do a search for a "win51" directory (?) in the root of the drive. Is this correct? Or is it the "name" of the CD? I neither have that name nor that directory on my CD - do I need to modify this tag to something I have, like the standard I386 (if it is a directory in the search)?

SST
Last edited by SymSpaceT on Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SymSpaceT

Post by SymSpaceT » Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:54 am

I apologize, I just found the answer:

http://unattended.msfn.org/unattended.xp/view/web/59/

SST

ricktendo64

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:01 pm

1 is much much better, thanks did not know there was an easier one

mr_smartepants

Post by mr_smartepants » Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:39 pm

I didn't know about 1 either! I'll try it out!
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

crashfly

Post by crashfly » Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:43 pm