Which update pack to use?

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
oao
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:24 pm

Which update pack to use?

Post by oao » Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:07 am

I am unclear about which pack to use:

I have a MS CD with XP32 SP2. Do I use the SP2 pack, SP3 and SP3 pack, or do I apply the SP3 pack directly, skipping the SP2 pack?

If the former, can I do in one nLite Session?

Thanks.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:41 am

Slipstream SP3, then use a post-SP3 update pack. It can be done in one nLite session.

oao
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:24 pm

Post by oao » Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:42 am

5eraph wrote:Slipstream SP3, then use a post-SP3 update pack. It can be done in one nLite session.
I tried to do that, but when ut prompted me for the svc pack to slipstream nLite said that the CD already had a sp applied (SP2) and prompted me to take it out before I selected SP3 to apply.

Pks advise.

Thanks.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Jan 11, 2010 4:51 am

Start with an unaltered, clean source. Do not slipstream SP2 or a post-SP2 update pack; only SP3 and a post-SP3 update pack.

If you still receive an error then there's a problem with nLite or your source, or both.

oao
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:24 pm

Post by oao » Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:29 am

What I have is a MS CD which already has SP2 integrated into it.
I don't have a clean CD.

nLite prompts me to take out SP2 so that it can proceed to slipstream SP3.
won't this work if I accept?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:16 am

If you haven't changed anything on the MS CD then it is clean. You should be able to slipstream SP3 into it after copying the CD to your hard drive.

If nLite continues to give you trouble, try RVMi. If that fails, make sure that you are trying on a machine that is running XP, not Vista or 7.

sonicwaves
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:23 pm

Post by sonicwaves » Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:40 pm

5eraph wrote:Slipstream SP3, then use a post-SP3 update pack. It can be done in one nLite session.
So slipstreaming cannot be done with RyanVM integrator?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:28 pm

RVMi can. But oao mentioned nLite specifically, so I answered specifically.

oao
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:24 pm

Post by oao » Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:29 pm

5eraph wrote:If you haven't changed anything on the MS CD then it is clean. You should be able to slipstream SP3 into it after copying the CD to your hard drive.

If nLite continues to give you trouble, try RVMi. If that fails, make sure that you are trying on a machine that is running XP, not Vista or 7.
No, I have not changed anything. I only copied it to the hard disk. However, nlite complains that it has detected hotfixes on it and prompts me to take them out in order to apply SP3.

The CD says SP2 so I assumed there are no hotfixes on it. Could it be that MS put some post-SP2 fixes on it too? If so, is it safe to have nLite take them out before applying SP3?

I must use nLite because I want to use the Aust guide to create a complete CD. However, the Aust guide is for x64, is there an equivalent one for xp32?

Thanks.

oao
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:24 pm

Post by oao » Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:32 pm

I only run XP.

I tried it on both xp64 (host) and XP32 (VirtualBox VM) and got the same result.

Since nLite offers to take the hotfixes out, it means that it can and it should be OK, no?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:46 pm

You can give it a try. I haven't run into that situation before.

I haven't seen a 32-bit XP guide; as far as I know neither has Kurt_Aust.

oao
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:24 pm

Post by oao » Mon Jan 11, 2010 2:00 pm

I'll give it a try and hope that after I go through all the trouble I don't find out that the CD does not work. Is there a place I can ask nLite people about this?

Aust seems to be saying at the end of his thread that except for some timeout command it should work. So I posted a question about file names, directories, etc and let's see what he says.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:41 pm

I had that happen several years ago with a Dell-provided XP (with SP1 integrated) CD. At the time nlite seemed to work fine removing the offending hotfixes that Dell had integrated on the CD, and slipstreaming SP2 (back then the most recent).
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

sonicwaves
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:23 pm

Post by sonicwaves » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:14 pm

5eraph wrote:RVMi can. But oao mentioned nLite specifically, so I answered specifically.
Pardon my utter confusion - but in which step does RVMi integrate the SP3 with the Win XP (no SP)? I read through your tutorial at http://integrator.siginetsoftware.com/i ... anual&main but the integrator asks for an update pack and add on pack on the first screen (Main tab) and not the SP3. When and where does it integrate the SP3?

EDIT: Nevermind. I just found out. It is through File > Slipstream Service Pack. Wish the tutorial had this step in it.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:23 pm

RVMi will also prompt you for the service pack installation file during update pack integration if the required service pack is not already slipstreamed. ;)

goldznnz
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:11 am

Post by goldznnz » Wed Nov 17, 2010 8:38 pm

I found that out the HARD WAY also! :cry: wasted hrs trying to figure this out! sure wish it was in the "guide" too
sonicwaves wrote:Pardon my utter confusion - but in which step does RVMi integrate the SP3 with the Win XP (no SP)? I read through your tutorial at http://integrator.siginetsoftware.com/i ... anual&main but the integrator asks for an update pack and add on pack on the first screen (Main tab) and not the SP3. When and where does it integrate the SP3?

EDIT: Nevermind. I just found out. It is through File > Slipstream Service Pack. Wish the tutorial had this step in it.

Post Reply