How open CAB?

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
allesok
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Slovenia

How open CAB?

Post by allesok » Sun Mar 21, 2010 4:56 pm

There are a few CAB files downloadable here.
Some of them - for a few CPL files - cannot be opened with any of several tools and applications which I have. E.g. for msconfig.cpl:
Kels_MSConfig_addon_v1.1.CAB

Please advice how I can open, expand or extract such special CAB files.
Allesok

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sun Mar 21, 2010 6:07 pm

7zip

allesok
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Slovenia

Post by allesok » Mon Mar 22, 2010 2:22 am

Thanks, but with some CAB files in your download lists even 7-zip doesn't work, but gives the message (in this case):
"Cannot open file Kels_MSConfig_addon_v1.1.CAB as archive".
The same happens with WinZip, WinRAR, Universal Extractor and Windows' extract and expand.
Other CABs from this site do, however, open with almost all these applications, but at lest Kels' files don't.
Allesok

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:57 am

If you haven't already, you should check the MD5 hashes of the files you have downloaded against the hashes given in the addon release posts. This ensures that the files you downloaded are not corrupted. In my opinion, the best tools for this purpose are HashCheck and HashTab.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:11 pm

I don't remember all the details but I know about six months ago I was trying to extract the contents of a cab and the normal tools didn't work.

A quick search of my catch-all download folder showed that the programs I downloaded in reverse chronological order were:

Name Size Creation Date
acdzip - v1.0, edits CAB files.exe 3.04 MB 1/2/2010
iscab_15.0.0.498.rar 437 KB 1/2/2010
exe2cab.exe 41 KB 1/1/2010
exe2cab - v3.1.zip 21.4 KB 1/1/2010
execab32.zip 4.64 KB 1/1/2010
iscab.zip 374 KB 1/1/2010
MS.Cab.Maker - v2.0.exe 937 KB 1/1/2010

So acdzip or iscab would probably be the best bet since I apparently kept on researching and downloading until I found a program which would work for my need. I think ultimately I couldn't do what I wanted anyway, but I'm pretty sure I was at least able to extract the cab. You should be able to Google them. Good luck!
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

allesok
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Slovenia

Post by allesok » Thu Mar 25, 2010 5:19 pm

Thanks!
It is becoming increasingly clear to me that the Kels CAB files on this web-page are CORRUPT!
What will RyanVM do about that?
Allesok

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:28 pm

i have downloaded Kels files before without any problems.

the one you reffer to is not available for me to check: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=926

i have no problems openning cab files with 7zip. winzip, winrar .....
if unrecognized i use universal extractor 1.6.2.03

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:43 am

user_hidden wrote:the one you reffer to is not available for me to check: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=926
I couldn't get the download link to work in order to check it, either.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Mar 26, 2010 4:05 am

Yeah it's no longer on the server.

Please tell me this: is it the cpl and cpi files you are afetr or the method? The one you are linking to is using the old cpl method. I use a newer (Better imho) method now.

I will upload the old one or update the package, whicever one you choose.

allesok
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Slovenia

Post by allesok » Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:59 pm

I am trying to get some CPL files for Windows XP. The old CPL + CPI files are for Windows 98 and ME ...
I would especially like to have a msconfig.cpl working in XP, but nowhere found a functioning one in the Internet ...
Allesok

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:36 pm

allesok wrote:I am trying to get some CPL files for Windows XP. The old CPL + CPI files are for Windows 98 and ME ...
I would especially like to have a msconfig.cpl working in XP, but nowhere found a functioning one in the Internet ...
Umm the prog I used to use to make the cpl files generate both and both are needed in XP for these custom ones.

Anyways I updated mine and packed it as a rar. There should be NO problemo unpaking it now...

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=926

allesok
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Slovenia

Post by allesok » Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:49 am

Sorry, but even the new version cannot be opened!
I tried WinRAR, WinZIP and Universal extractor: "seems to not be a valid archive, or corrupt" ...
Other CAB files - from other sources - do open easily ...
What did you make it with? And:
Why such a peculiar CAB file? Why not a *.zip or *.rar file?

As to CPI + CPL: The only ones I could find elsewhere were for Win98 + ME and they do not work in XP.
Allesok

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:59 am

Well if you are so sure they will not work then I will just discontinue the addon...


(P.S.>I HAVE BEEN USING THEM FOR 4 YEARS IN XP)

I used winrar to pack the new one and cabtool to make the original...

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sat Mar 27, 2010 8:07 am

I think there must be some kind of misunderstanding in the communication. Just a guess.

@allesok, I downloaded Kels' new rar and it opens just fine for me. Check your WinRAR version, I'm using v3.91 although I know v3.92 or maybe even v3.93 exists now.

Also, have you used HastTab or HashCheck to double-check the hash of your download against the hash specified in Kels' post? I don't care if all other downloads work for you just fine, until you double-check the hash to make sure that these particular downloads aren't corrupted then we can't assume there's anything wrong with the rar file. Especially since apparently both Kel and I can extract it just fine.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

allesok
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Slovenia

Post by allesok » Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:04 pm

Thanks! Kels_MSConfig_addon_v1.2.CAB I still cannot open with any tool, but Kels_MSConfig_addon_v1.2.rar I can!
Now, however, I get the error message:
"Error opening file for reading: D:\Windows \System32\MSCCONFIG.cpi" (I have WinXP in Partition D:\)
Could it be that the files refer to C:\Windows \System32\MSCCONFIG.cpi?
Allesok

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:14 pm

Did you look at the files?

the .cpi one needs to be renamed... To wait for it........... MSCONFIG.CPI

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:45 pm

You're such a smart a**.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

allesok
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Slovenia

Post by allesok » Sun Mar 28, 2010 2:47 am

Thanks, problem solved.
But I find it hard to understand why it didn't have the right name as downloaded ...
I renamed entries_MSCONFIG.ini to MSCONFIG.INI and put it in ...\sytem32 - was that right?
Allesok

allesok
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Slovenia

Post by allesok » Sun Mar 28, 2010 3:04 am

Actually it works without copying that *.ini file into system32, so I suspect that it is needed only together with the Ryan Integrator and not in this case.
Allesok

Post Reply