need help with enteries.ini

Creating a translated version of the update pack? Talk about it here.
Locked
webmaniac
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Denmark

need help with enteries.ini

Post by webmaniac » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:06 am

is there a guide somewhere on the net that explains where "files" goes in the entries.ini ? i can't seem to find a detailed guide !

Please HELP me :?

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:07 am


User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:09 am

This topic may help: Defining Entries.ini
Edit: OMG, ViVa is again here :lol:

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:10 am

gheghe :P

webmaniac
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by webmaniac » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:27 am

yes but how do i know witch files goes where ?

example..
i have a file called agentdp2.dll and have no clue if it should be in -->
[dosnet_files]
or in
[txtsetup_files]
and so on ..... how do i find that out ? now that my quistion
:?:

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:32 am

My guess would be that they go in both, but I'm not an experienced addon creator myself.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:33 am

Btw, why don't you look inside other addons and see how they manage to do the trick?

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:34 am

And these 2 links might provide you with information about [txtsetup_files]:

http://gosh.msfnhosting.com/txtsetup.htm
http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=14852

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:36 am

Even this tutorial:

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1259

Do some more research yourself first!

webmaniac
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by webmaniac » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:37 am

ViVa wrote:Btw, why don't you look inside other addons and see how they manage to do the trick?
iam using RyanVM's UpdatePack to se how it's done but can't seem to figure out how he know where the files need to be going ?

thank why i need to ask .. :D

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:37 am

Try with more simpler addons first and read the pages behind the links I posted above to help you better understand what you are doing.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:51 am

Both are used for files that are not on an original WinXP disc.

[dosnet_files] is used to tell Windows where to find the new file, d1 means in I386 on disc 1. Here's the syntax for AGENTDP2.DLL.

Code: Select all

[dosnet_files]
d1,agentdp2.dll
[txtsetup_files] is used to tell Windows where your new file is supposed to go. Gosh's site provides a great deal more information than I'd care to copy here and it's your best source of information. Here's an example of the syntax required to put a compressed AGENTDP2.DLL (AGENTDP2.DL_) into %SystemRoot%\msagent which is destination code 52.

Code: Select all

[txtsetup_files]
agentdp2.dll = 100,,,,,,,52,0,0
For the complete list of destination codes please refer to the [WinntDirectories] section of TXTSETUP.SIF.

Hope this helps. :)
Last edited by 5eraph on Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:51 pm, edited 4 times in total.

webmaniac
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by webmaniac » Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:01 pm

5eraph wrote:Both are used for files that are not on an original WinXP disc.

Hope this helps. :)
i think it will thanks iam gonna look deeper in to it .. great hi hate to read :D

just to be sure
[dosnet_files] <-- is entry for all new files ( updates )
and the
[txtsetup_files] <-- is to refer where the files ( updates ) have to go on my hdd

is this right

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:19 pm

That is correct.

There's a lot more to the [txtsetup_files] entry than just the destination. It also describes if the file is an original XP or Service Pack file (code 100 means an SP file in the example above), whether or not it's compressed on the source, under what circumstances to copy the file (the trailing 0,0 means to copy always), and whether the file should be named differently on the destination (not shown in the example above).
Last edited by 5eraph on Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

webmaniac
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by webmaniac » Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:24 pm

ok you helped me alot now i can be done with the danish update pack :D

thank you very much

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:37 pm

Don't forget the very cool

Code: Select all

[i386_compress]
rvmtemp\extracted\agentdp2.dll
It will instruct the integrator to compress your DLL to DL_
See if you 7zip the uncompressd dll it will result in a smaller filesize as opposed to zipping the dl_ wich will not compress as efficiently.
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:42 pm

ricktendo64 is correct. For any file that does not have _x in the [txtsetup_files] section you'll need an [i386_compress] entry if you don't compress the file before packing it into an Update Pack or Addon.

In summary, this is what you should really have for AGENTDP2.DLL in your ENTRIES.INI file if you don't compress the DLL separately:

Code: Select all

[dosnet_files]
d1,agentdp2.dll

[txtsetup_files]
agentdp2.dll = 100,,,,,,,52,0,0

[i386_compress]
rvmtemp\extracted\agentdp2.dll
Last edited by 5eraph on Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:17 pm, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:52 pm

Make sure if its a AddOn use Entries_Whatever.ini instead of just entries.ini wich is reserved for Ryans Updatepack

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:57 pm

He is creating a Danish Update Pack, so he can use ENTRIES.INI as the filename. ;)

webmaniac
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by webmaniac » Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:19 pm

ok thanks for the help all i'll be back if i have more quistion to ask
In summary, this is what you should really have for AGENTDP2.DLL in your ENTRIES.INI file if you don't compress the DLL separately:

Code:

[dosnet_files]
d1,agentdp2.dll

[txtsetup_files]
agentdp2.dll = 100,,,,,,,52,0,0

[i386_compress]
rvmtemp\extracted\agentdp2.dll
this i what i have in my file too :P

EDIT

DONE :D

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:55 pm

Cool! :)

If you want to create a forum for it then start a thread for your Update Pack here and send RyanVM a PM about it.

webmaniac
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by webmaniac » Fri Nov 17, 2006 11:40 am

5eraph wrote:Cool! :)

If you want to create a forum for it then start a thread for your Update Pack here and send RyanVM a PM about it.
it dosen't work :cry: yet but it will someday iam starting all over again ... :oops:

i tested it and it complains about missing "framedyn.dll" and 4 unsigned files .. and 11 updates i included but there not being installed .. so i need to do it all over again :cry:

I THINK there's an error in the intergrator, i used the intergrator to copi my XPCD source to a direstory and i intergrated 2 addon patches for the "sfc_os.dll" and the "uxtheme.dll" and when i try to test that iam getting the famous missing framedyn.dll .. can someone explain me WHY
Just learning so bare with me ..
The greatest forum on net ..

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:54 pm

Upload your addon and give us a link

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:01 pm

I think he is trying to make an Update Pack.

webmaniac
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by webmaniac » Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:33 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:Upload your addon and give us a link
its not my addon's i integrated in my windows

can't find it again but it's called
PatchAddon_SFC_OS.cab
PatchAddon_UXTHEME.cab

and it look's like this
--> PatchAddon_SFC_OS.cab

Code: Select all

[general]
builddate = 06/17/2006
description = Addon which disables Windows File Protection
title = Multi-Patch: SFC_OS.DLL - Disables WFP
version = 1.0
website = http://ryanvm.net/forum

[HexEdit]
I386\sfc_os.dll|5.1.2600.2180|60644|83F89D7508|3BC0EB3290
and
--> PatchAddon_UXTHEME.cab

Code: Select all

[general]
builddate = 06/17/2006
description = Addon which allows unsigned Themes
title = Multi-Patch: UXTHEME.DLL
version = 1.0
website = http://ryanvm.net/forum

[ExtraFileEdits]
I386\rvmtemp\extracted\RVMUpPck.inf|KB319740\Filelist\0","BuildCheckSum",0,"412c0"|KB319740\Filelist\0","BuildCheckSum",0,"40540"|1
I386\RVMUpPck.inf|KB319740\Filelist\0","BuildCheckSum",0,"412c0"|KB319740\Filelist\0","BuildCheckSum",0,"40540"|1
I386\rvmtemp\extracted\RVMUpPck.inf|KB908536\Filelist\0","BuildCheckSum",0,"44c63"|KB908536\Filelist\0","BuildCheckSum",0,"43ee3"|1
I386\RVMUpPck.inf|KB908536\Filelist\0","BuildCheckSum",0,"44c63"|KB908536\Filelist\0","BuildCheckSum",0,"43ee3"|1

[HexEdit]
I386\uxtheme.dll|6.0.2900.2180|113178|83EC1C568D4DE4|33C0C9C2040090
I386\uxtheme.dll|6.0.2900.2523|104714|83EC1C568D4DE4|33C0C9C2040090
I386\uxtheme.dll|6.0.2900.2845|104746|83EC1C568D4DE4|33C0C9C2040090
Just learning so bare with me ..
The greatest forum on net ..

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:04 pm

You can find those patch addons here: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2274

And for that framedyn.dll error, I used to get it when I first created my turkish update pack. And it was my fault to get it, not integrators. :wink:
There has to be something in your entries.ini file that makes your windows installation corrupt. Maybe you can share it.

And I want to call your attention to sth: If you will use integrator for a language other that english, you must choose (enable) "Enable Advanced Options" & Convert Unicode to ANSI" options under integrators "Advanced" tab. That may be causing your error.
Inform us again with your new results.
Good luck :wink:

webmaniac
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by webmaniac » Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:28 pm

thank you very much MrNxDmX i diden't know that ohh by the way can this be the problem couse my sysoc.inf is screwed .. ?

screen shot link --> http://img172.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sysocwa7.png <-- thats how it looks .. well im gonna try what you told me RIGHT now :D

ohh and by the way here a link to the *.ini file http://rapidshare.com/files/3785093/entries.ini
MD5: d28833f7b7208de965d09815924c4b02
Last edited by webmaniac on Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:43 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Just learning so bare with me ..
The greatest forum on net ..

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:32 pm

Yeah, if the error comes from your sysoc.inf it must be the exact reason. I get interesting characters in sysocinf file when i dont choose those options.

webmaniac
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by webmaniac » Fri Nov 17, 2006 7:01 pm

now the sysoc.inf looks like it should thanks for the tip, i'll keep you posted
Just learning so bare with me ..
The greatest forum on net ..

webmaniac
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by webmaniac » Fri Nov 17, 2006 7:33 pm

OMFG it worked you saved me I CANT THANK YOU ENOUGH thank you
Just learning so bare with me ..
The greatest forum on net ..

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Nov 17, 2006 7:39 pm

:lol:
Its a pleasure mate :wink:

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Nov 17, 2006 7:46 pm

Nice catch, MrNxDmX!

oliemoetor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:53 am
Location: Denmark

Post by oliemoetor » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:10 pm

I can't find the danish update pack. Is it because it's private, just not uploaded or not yet finished?

I hope it's one of the last options.

Regards Ole

---

Som Janteloven siger: Du er ikke bedre end mig, hvis jeg havde 30.000 år til rådighed kunne jeg også klare det! :lol:

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:13 pm

Haven't heard from it yet, why don't you PM webmaniac?

oliemoetor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:53 am
Location: Denmark

Post by oliemoetor » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:14 pm

I've allready PM'ed him... (Thanks for the fast reply)

Ole

oliemoetor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:53 am
Location: Denmark

Post by oliemoetor » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:18 pm

If I'm a medium user all around. Will I then be apple to make one myself by reading the instructions on this site?

Once again Thanks ViVA

Ole
Last edited by oliemoetor on Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:19 pm

Read this thread: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3596 it might give you some idea about it.

Locked