[Updated] XP SP3 Update Pack 02.10-01

Windows XP Professional Update Pack discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Fri May 16, 2008 10:05 am

Ah, found some more.

Error message when you try to install Windows XP Service Pack 3: "Access is denied" or “Service Pack installation did not complete”

Doesn't have a hotfix and has three "methods" described to fix it.

Some third-party programs may experience a change in functionality after you install Windows XP Service Pack 3

Is just a list of third party programs that have a problem with SP3.

The "CScript //H" or "WScript //H" command may not work as expected on a Windows XP-based computer after you install or uninstall Windows XP Service Pack 3

Doesn't have a hotfix and has some workaround instructions. Interestingly, this is concerning WSH 5.7 that's included in SP3. I don't know if this is the same problem people here were having with WSH 5.7 when it was added to SP2. Don't feel like looking just now. :)

A Windows XP Service Pack 3-based computer stops responding after you use the Sysprep utility

When you use Group Policy to install Windows XP Service Pack 3, and then you remove the service pack manually, you cannot then reinstall the service pack by using Group Policy

You cannot save multiple credentials for the same remote computer when you use the RDP client that is included in Windows XP Service Pack 3

These don't have hotfixes but have workarounds.

Description of the Credential Security Service Provider (CredSSP) in Windows XP Service Pack 3

Tells how to turn this on and off.

The Address toolbar no longer appears on the taskbar after you install Windows XP Service Pack 3

Is by design and has a workaround that just says to use Windows Desktop Search instead.

Windows XP Service Pack 3-based computers in a private network that uses Internet Connection Sharing may lose network connectivity after you change the network adapter settings of the private adapter on the Internet Connection Sharing computer

Has methods, no hotfixes.

Anyway, you get the idea (there's more to comment on).

Again, I don't know if workarounds can or should be implemented via Update Packs. That's beyond me.

User avatar
jumz
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:32 am
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

Post by jumz » Fri May 16, 2008 10:51 am

I just wanted to say I used this Update pack on an SP2 RTM VLK Disc -> manually integrated SP3.

Used the following addons:

xable_OUE-OGA-v1.7_addon.cab
Kels_Unicode2008_v1.626.6001.18000_addon.cab
NR_UPHC_Addon.cab|OnePiece_IE7AddOn_2.1.1_ENU.7z
PatchAddon_AIO_v13d.cab
Ricks_VMwareTools7.2.8.59824_AddOn.rar
RVMAddonsDX9_1.4.7z
RVMAddonsWGAN_1.7.18.7b.7z

Followed by WMP11 Slipstreamer with all hotfixes on his website

Followed by BTS Driver Packs with KTD

Followed by placing custom unattended.txt/winnt.sif + regTweaks, cmdlines.txt. ETC

and everything worked flawlessly. 100% no problems. Thank you.

The above 2 posts are very usefull too!
JuMz

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Fri May 16, 2008 11:18 am

roirraW "edor", right thats what is called linking and its good info never the less

but its all here

the workgrounds are for people who install sp3 on a running configured system, obviously enough will be shocked for doing that, its a nightmare to it this way, cant be that hard, basicly workgrounds to install everything from scratch "ABC"
ENU_user wrote:http://kbupdate.info/windows-xp-2008-05.php

post sp3, beginning to pile up ;)
i too was linking that for the thread, for anyone looking to easily find new hotfixes that will appear daily ,

the ones from windows update are the important ones ,since we are using a slipstreamed source not needing particular workgrounds
& you already know that! by now! I hope :)

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Fri May 16, 2008 11:25 am

Right, I figured for the ones that don't even have a hotfix that they're not common enough problems. I don't know how Ryan handled these kinds of things for SP2, but also Redxii might only be interested in hotfixes listed through WU/MU/AU in which case he wouldn't be implementing any of these fixes in his pack.

I don't see evidence that all of these KB articles only apply to non-slipstreamed SP3 installs, though. Maybe some of them, but not all of them.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Fri May 16, 2008 1:39 pm

off course not all of these KB articles apply to non-slipstreamed SP3 source,

but will have to test and find how can each & every workground\fix apply to the slipstreamed SP3 source and if they appear to be actual here..

however i do agree that workgrounds should apply perfectly inside updatedPacks & should be included even if its to solve third party issues .etc

i was guessing,.. from what you had posted, we can filter the ones that are more suitable ...

I am using some few old workgrounds myself from old kb article that apply up till today, but very few to mention for now..

for sp3 a new spread sheet for worgrounds should get started
i was about to make a thread for this just the other week

& strongly believe this is more suited for updatepacks to maintain
but it would help the updatepack to keep track of things if someone keeps an eye on top for workgrounds as well..

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Fri May 16, 2008 4:11 pm

I count at least 8 hotfixes that MS have made since SP3's release. And I have no idea if there are more. (kb946554,kb952287,kb952117,kb950982,kb950162,kb946775,kb951624,kb951830) (All these KB have downloads available.)

I don't understand why I have wound you up roirraW "edor", as I have not come here with bad intentions, I only asked a question after what ENU_user posted. And I did say that I was not sure what I was talking about, so not to take me too seriously.

And another thing, I am fully aware of the fact that most, if not all of these hotfixes are not publically available, but that never stopped Ryan, and maybe I just made the assumption that redxii had a similar way of finding these private KB's.

Again, it was not my intention to offend, and I'm very surprised and disappointed that it has.
Last edited by Stimpy on Sat May 17, 2008 7:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1367
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Post by bphlpt » Fri May 16, 2008 9:53 pm

I think that what both roirraW "edor" and ENU_user have said is that some of the mentioned KB's are more info and acknowledgment of the problem, and don't necessarily even have a solution that can be included in a pack, or there might be a solution later, not that these hotfixes are not publically available, but in the meantime a workaround has been proposed which seems to work right now with the current versions of the software. I don't know that those kind of things are always necessary to respond to immediately, but rather it's sometimes better to let things settle out for a while. Just my 2 cents.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Fri May 16, 2008 10:01 pm

Stimpy wrote:I don't understand why I have wound you up roirraW "edor", as I have not come here with bad intentions. Again, it was not my intention to offend, and I'm very surprised and disappointed that it has.
Oh, you haven't (wound me up). :oops: I apologize if it seemed like I was upset with you or something. I assure you it's just the internet's fault, or maybe Al Gore's (he invented it after all). :twisted:

Probably more likely I'm generally frustrated by the ambiguiosity (?) of some of this SP3 related stuff.

I just wanted to dig deeper into this mystery and I certainly didn't have all the answers concerning them as I don't know if all of them necessarily can or should be implemented in Update Packs or not.

Rock on!
bphlpt wrote:I think that what both roirraW "edor" and ENU_user have said is that some of the mentioned KB's are more info and acknowledgment of the problem, and don't necessarily even have a solution that can be included in a pack, or there might be a solution later, not that these hotfixes are not publically available, but in the meantime a workaround has been proposed which seems to work right now with the current versions of the software. I don't know that those kind of things are always necessary to respond to immediately, but rather it's sometimes better to let things settle out for a while. Just my 2 cents.
Yes, you are correct as to my intention.

User avatar
redxii
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:50 pm

Post by redxii » Fri May 16, 2008 10:26 pm

I might be doing just Windows Update listed updates. I won't have time to hunt down every hotfix, especially when sometimes MS uses the exact same filenames (not "v1" or "v2") when they change the hotfixes.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sat May 17, 2008 1:36 am

Works for me. Thanks, redxii.

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Sat May 17, 2008 7:16 am

I agree with you redxii, it could get very complex trying to keep an update pack, such as this one, up to date.

I really don't know how you guys do this stuff, so you have my full respect.

We will all just have to wait and see what Ryan does with his update pack, as I don't know how he manages to get some of the private KB downloads that he does.

And roirraW "edor", no problems my friend, just slightly crossed wires here I think! lol.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sat May 17, 2008 8:18 am

Thanks, man. :)

Sometimes I can get Microsoft links to private hotfixes by searching for KBxxxxxx at FileMirrors, but none of the ones I listed the other day had a link through there...yet.

User avatar
redxii
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:50 pm

Post by redxii » Mon May 19, 2008 10:30 pm

I'm not sure about these:

- European Union Expansion Font Update
Says XP SP2 is only supported.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en
- Microsoft Web Folders
- MSXML 4.0 SP2
How many of these msxml thingies are needed?
- Microsoft GDI+ Detection Tool
Still needed? Detects insecure GDI versions, and in the 4 years since release should have been taken care of by vendors already.

Already included in SP3:
- Macrovision SafeDisc Driver 4.3.86
- MSXML 6
- Microsoft Windows Script 5.7

And there is a Flash security update on an unmodified XP SP3 install, but 9r124 takes care of that.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Mon May 19, 2008 11:39 pm

Perhaps it will be easier continuing to maintain an updated Post-SP2 pack than it will be the Post-SP3 pack(s). :wink:

How can we know for sure if or when MS will update or have updated KB articles to reflect SP3? The published/updated/revision date will be open to interpretation if it's later than SP3 but still only mentions SP2. Taken literally it would mean of course that it doesn't apply to SP3 in that case, but it could also just mean that MS is lazy about XP now since it's all but put out to pasture.

Practically speaking, I wouldn't include anything that doesn't mention it's applicable to SP3 yet. Perhaps if we continue to wait...and wait, MS might eventually update the info. I suppose it would help if MS also listed (within reason) what the KB article doesn't apply to.

For your linked example "European Union Expansion Font Update", I notice that it mentions it's supported for Windows Vista as well, but doesn't specifically mention Vista SP1. This would lead me to believe that this was included in Vista SP1 and would therefore most probably have been included in XP SP3.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think that older versions of MSXML like v4 are not included in the OS anyway, but can be included with an application installer that requires that version.

For example, on my Media Center (Vista and XP) installations I use DVRMSToolBox to cut commercials out of recorded TV, etc. I noticed at least under Vista, even a fresh MS-supplied pre-slipstreamed Vista SP1, that once I install DVRMSToolBox, there is initially exactly one update listed:

Security Update for Microsoft XML Core Services 4.0 Service Pack 2 (KB936181) - msxml4-KB936181-enu

A system restart may or may not be necessary after this. Either way, once this is installed, exactly one more update is listed, but apparently it's for MSXML 4 SP2 only under Vista:

Update for Microsoft XML Core Services 4.0 Service Pack 2 (KB941833) - msxml4-KB941833-enu

User avatar
Bhishmar
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Feedback on Stability stability of SP3 with update-pack

Post by Bhishmar » Sat May 24, 2008 3:00 pm

Hi all
I am seeing that "redxii" has being providing this update for more than 5 months (from Dec 2007)?

Can I get some feedback on the stability & robustness of XP-SP3 systems built with this update pack, from the existing users?

I am more interested in the final SP3 RTM 5512 with RVMI-1.5.3
regards

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Sat May 24, 2008 5:11 pm

All is good with this pack Bhishmar, I have been using ever since SP3 was RTM, and had no problems at all.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sat May 24, 2008 7:38 pm

I've used this pack with three or four (losing track now) real computer installations - all with SP3 RTM - and have had no problems whatsoever.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
Bhishmar
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Post by Bhishmar » Sat May 24, 2008 11:28 pm

Thanks Stimpy & roirraW "edor" for ur feedback.

What is your assessment regarding a comparison of systems installed with (Sp3 + updpck) Vs (SP2 + latest Upd-Pack)?

I know what I am asking for is subjective!, but still I would like to hear other experts feedback & opinion here..
regards

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Sun May 25, 2008 5:10 pm

This is a tricky one, but to be honest, I have not run into any problems with this update pack, or SP3 in general. I personally find it faster, and have not had any blue screens or lockups yet.
Last edited by Stimpy on Mon May 26, 2008 6:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sun May 25, 2008 7:05 pm

Ditto. :D
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Tue May 27, 2008 5:35 pm

Just making sure you notice that there's some "new" Post-SP3 updates, as referenced in this thread:

KB898461 & KB942763

and Root Certificates, if you're interested in that sort of thing, since that's optional.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
redxii
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:50 pm

Post by redxii » Tue May 27, 2008 6:09 pm

Is there any objection to making KB942763 a post install thing? It's just way too complicated, and took Ryan many times to keep time zones from getting changed post-install.

Also, the "Package Installer for Windows version 6.1.22.4", SP3 by one of the file versions shows 6.3.3.0. It didn't appear any binaries were updated.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Tue May 27, 2008 7:36 pm

No objection by me.

I wonder what the heck is up with MS and these old updates?
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
XIII
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 4:47 am

Post by XIII » Wed May 28, 2008 1:32 am

redxii wrote:It didn't appear any binaries were updated.
How can I check this on my machine?
We are one, but we are not the same... Talk to each other!

User avatar
XIII
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 4:47 am

Post by XIII » Wed May 28, 2008 3:26 am

Update from work (SP3 installed over SP2 installation, instead of fresh SP3 slipstreamed installation at home): only root certificates on MU, nothing pushed (or prevented by WSUS?)...
We are one, but we are not the same... Talk to each other!

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Wed May 28, 2008 5:16 am

Is it possible the work computers already had those other two hotfixes installed/integrated?

Gets weirder and weirder...
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
XIII
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 4:47 am

Post by XIII » Wed May 28, 2008 5:24 am

[quote="roirraW "edor""]Is it possible the work computers already had those other two hotfixes installed/integrated?[/quote]
They are not listed in the "Add or Remove Programs" control panel.

But maybe that's because of the SP3 installation?

(I do see some other patches in that list though)
We are one, but we are not the same... Talk to each other!

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Wed May 28, 2008 7:54 am

I've got the same problem : KB898461 and KB942763 both show up. KB942763 seems necessary because it makes a SP3 folder inside the archive. Inside it, there's a new version of tzchange.exe (5.1.2600.5570) which is post-SP3.

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Wed May 28, 2008 3:20 pm

Why is the RMS update not included ?
And here ar same updates that ar not included in SP3:
http://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/Sho ... &SiteID=17

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Wed May 28, 2008 5:18 pm

XIII wrote:[quote="roirraW "edor""]Is it possible the work computers already had those other two hotfixes installed/integrated?
They are not listed in the "Add or Remove Programs" control panel.

But maybe that's because of the SP3 installation?

(I do see some other patches in that list though)[/quote]

They wouldn't necessarily be listed depending on how they were included, if they were. If they were integrated, then I don't *think* they would show up in add/remove, because they weren't installed, they were integrated; therefore you can't uninstall them.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Wed May 28, 2008 5:20 pm

Outbreaker wrote:And here ar same updates that ar not included in SP3:
http://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/Sho ... &SiteID=17
The answer to that post, the second message in the thread:
Shashank Bansal [MSFT] wrote:All the KBs you mentioned were new features added to Windows XP after release of SP2.

They would not be added to SP3, but instead be refreshed to install on SP3.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Wed May 28, 2008 5:33 pm

No thy dont get like the WMP11 updates.
http://x3webworx3.spaces.live.com/

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Wed May 28, 2008 7:30 pm

I haven't had any problems with my Vista and XP computers to see each other and share files with each other on my home network, which is the problem they're discussing.

I don't see any reference to WMP11.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
redxii
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:50 pm

Post by redxii » Wed May 28, 2008 7:41 pm

Here is a beta. I used the hard way. It appears to have applied properly by showing time zone choices as if using the hotfix, doesn't show up on WU, and retained the time zone I selected during install (Central Standard).

MD5: 3BA9BD94358E9DBDCE39B95D71272079
Build: 080528-1746 (5/28/2008 17:46)
http://www.adrive.com/public/cc59221014 ... 39795.html
Changelog:
- Added KB942763
- Added KB898461
- Updated Root Certificates

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Wed May 28, 2008 7:53 pm

Thanks, redxii. I can't try it right at the moment, but I will when I can.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

Fragbert
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:59 am

Post by Fragbert » Wed May 28, 2008 8:15 pm

redxii wrote:Here is a beta. I used the hard way. It appears to have applied properly by showing time zone choices as if using the hotfix, doesn't show up on WU, and retained the time zone I selected during install (Central Standard).

MD5: 3BA9BD94358E9DBDCE39B95D71272079
Build: 080528-1746 (5/28/2008 17:46)
http://www.adrive.com/public/cc59221014 ... 39795.html
Changelog:
- Added KB942763
- Added KB898461
- Updated Root Certificates
What about KB932823 ? Or is that a IE7 fix? (MS lists it as a fix for XP despite it's association with IE7).

User avatar
redxii
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:50 pm

Post by redxii » Wed May 28, 2008 8:29 pm

KB932823 says it's for a IE7 problem, and w/ Japanese IME & the Japanese IME is the default keyboard layout.

Fragbert
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:59 am

Post by Fragbert » Thu May 29, 2008 3:19 pm

So far so good on that 2.1.1 beta. No issues, your additions do not show up on WU/MU.

What was this "hard way" you mentioned earlier?

jesscurt
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:55 pm

All Good

Post by jesscurt » Thu May 29, 2008 6:54 pm

All good on the 2.1.1 beta, installed fine, no issues, and nothing on WU/MU.

Thanks for the great work.

User avatar
redxii
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:50 pm

Post by redxii » Thu May 29, 2008 10:17 pm

How about as far the time updating when it's supposed to?

User avatar
keloo05
Posts: 276
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:04 pm
Location: Romania

Post by keloo05 » Fri May 30, 2008 8:20 am

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

Brief Description: Install this update to resolve the issue in which a client cannot resolve DNS after the network adapter is connectoed/disconnected or disabled/enabled, on a system running Windows XP Service Pack 3.

I think it's an usefull update for SP3. Think about if you will include it in your next pack, please.

msdemich
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:52 am

Post by msdemich » Fri May 30, 2008 1:40 pm

Hey Redxii, Thanks for the updatepack.All seems to work well but I have a couple of questions.

First, I noticed that when I apply your update pack to my SP3 build, SP2.CAB and SP3.CAB dissappear while the DRIVER.CAB becomes a little bit bigger -however the OVERALL size of the installation SHRINKS by about 30mb. Was this by design? = BRAVO! (Or maybe I just did something wrong)

Was your update pack designed to repack SP2.CAB and SP3.CAB along with the new updates to DRIVER.CAB?

Second, I saw you mention that it is safe to delete SP2.CAT, if I have already slipstreamed SP3. If so, maybe you could instruct your post-SP3 update pack to delete it during integration. (just a 1mb file, but every bit counts)

Thanks again for your work.

shon3i
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:16 pm

Post by shon3i » Fri May 30, 2008 5:03 pm

First, I noticed that when I apply your update pack to my SP3 build, SP2.CAB and SP3.CAB dissappear while the DRIVER.CAB becomes a little bit bigger -however the OVERALL size of the installation SHRINKS by about 30mb. Was this by design? = BRAVO! (Or maybe I just did something wrong)
No everything is fine. Driver.cab contains files from SP0 and SP?.CAB contains updated version of this. Microsoft's splitstreamer not recompress driver.cab because maybe and probably microsoft want to speedup splitstream process.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Fri May 30, 2008 11:59 pm

Also wanted to say that SP2.CAB and SP3.CAB being repacked into DRIVER.CAB is caused by RVM Integrator (or nLite if you enable that option), not by this update pack.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

msdemich
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:52 am

Post by msdemich » Sat May 31, 2008 12:57 am

[quote="roirraW "edor""]Also wanted to say that SP2.CAB and SP3.CAB being repacked into DRIVER.CAB is caused by RVM Integrator (or nLite if you enable that option), not by this update pack.[/quote]

RVMi doesn't do this while slipstreaming SP2 or SP3 or while integrating addons --only integrating this update pack does this. You mean that RVMi only repacks driver.cab while integrating an updatepack?

Sidenote, can I delete the SP3.CAT file too?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat May 31, 2008 1:03 am

Actually I do believe the repacking is only triggered by the adddrivers or dupedrivers entries in the entries file.

No you need to keep the latest cat file... i.e. sp3.cat

User avatar
redxii
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:50 pm

Post by redxii » Sat May 31, 2008 4:41 pm

The integrator does that if you specify an update pack.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sat May 31, 2008 4:59 pm

That's what I thought.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
hairbautt
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 3:51 pm
Location: Florida

Post by hairbautt » Tue Jun 03, 2008 7:38 am

Are ya'll going to include Windows Installer 4.5 Redistributable? Just saw that M$ released it: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:09 am

Can you also include this HotFixes in your Update Pack ?

KB931906 (Security Update for CAPICOM)
KB892130 (WGA - This update is needed to access the Windows Update Center)
KB942288 (Windows Installer 4.5 Redistributable)
KB951830 (DNS resolve Fix)

Post Reply