XPSP3_QFE_UpdatePack for Windows XP Post-SP3 20180109

Windows XP Professional Update Pack discussion.
Post Reply
jaynbe
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:37 pm

Post by jaynbe » Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:41 pm

vmanda wrote:
user_hidden wrote:.................

i could move the icon off of the desktop to STARTMENU > ACCESSORIES
would that make users happy to have no desktop icon at all and just the above shortcut? maybe i should have done it that way before and no-one would have drastically noticed :idea:
I agree with that method.
I second that, its the better way

Thanks for the updatepack U_H

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:52 pm

ok next pack i'll move the icon from desktop to a shortcut in accessories folder off of the start menu.

relax guys no nagware spyware bloatware crapware.......

Botus
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:47 pm
Location: UK

Post by Botus » Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:30 am

yumeyao wrote:
@user_hidden,
KB976002 is just similar as KB890830, most people don't need that. So use a technique to block it instead of integrating it.
well said yumeyao, thats exactly what I would hope was done.... But as most of the great work you guys do is not specific to EU versions of windows or is generic to all windows, I never expected anything. To actually add the patch I thought very strange.

EDIT:
Just reading newer posts. Having it as a tool off the desktop is an idea, but what caused it to keep running its self on my machine when ever the PC booted? and again strange, why did deleting (what I thought was just a shortcut on the desktop) stop it running?

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:01 pm

me not affected by it...I could delete it instantly, though might remain somewhere operative for those clients who might get in love with it's function... or for those scrupulous military heads 8) that get angry not having everything at hand...right the way that MS wished for them.., me happy having important stuff updated, the place for a mere shortcut it is not essential anyway 8)

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:30 pm

i updated the first post with 5eraph's KB976002 removal addon as an option for now.

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Tue Mar 30, 2010 8:30 pm


User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:16 am

updated 1.2.3 20100331 .....

phox
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:45 pm

Post by phox » Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:04 am

Why KB980182 is included in Pack as it is IE8 update?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:08 am

It is also an update for IE6 and IE7, phox.

phox
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:45 pm

Post by phox » Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:12 am

Thank you!

soporific
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 7:10 am

Post by soporific » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:53 pm

thanks for the update to the best update pack around the interwebs!

Requi3m
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 1:37 pm

Post by Requi3m » Fri Apr 09, 2010 3:16 pm

5er_KB976002-v5_uh_Removal_Addon.7z

During the initial setup step of copying the files over it says it can't find the file bchoice.exe. Removing 5er's addon fixed the error.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:00 pm

This seems to be due to a limitation in RVMi. The addon must be used in a new session after the update pack has been applied. nLite should not have this limitation.

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Sat Apr 10, 2010 9:31 am


User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sat Apr 10, 2010 10:18 am

5eraph wrote:This seems to be due to a limitation in RVMi. The addon must be used in a new session after the update pack has been applied. nLite should not have this limitation.
This didn't seem to be the case for me. Everything worked fine using v1.6.1 b2.1. I've used the resulting installation source with success as well.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sat Apr 10, 2010 7:28 pm

release candidate, not final !

Requi3m
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 1:37 pm

Post by Requi3m » Mon Apr 12, 2010 11:23 am

RogueSpear wrote:
5eraph wrote:This seems to be due to a limitation in RVMi. The addon must be used in a new session after the update pack has been applied. nLite should not have this limitation.
This didn't seem to be the case for me. Everything worked fine using v1.6.1 b2.1. I've used the resulting installation source with success as well.
Maybe it was a bad CD. I guess I should have tested it on a VM.

one7
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:56 pm

Post by one7 » Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:03 pm

Requi3m wrote:5er_KB976002-v5_uh_Removal_Addon.7z

During the initial setup step of copying the files over it says it can't find the file bchoice.exe. Removing 5er's addon fixed the error.
Same thing here. Both in VM with the ISO mounted and physical HD install via CD.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:15 pm

updated version 1.2.4 20100413 ....

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Tue Apr 13, 2010 5:03 pm

Thanks ;)

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Tue Apr 13, 2010 5:27 pm

testing on 'real' and VM hardware in a few minutes, new ISO integrated with nlite, will let you know........

ChiefZeke
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Victorville, California

Post by ChiefZeke » Tue Apr 13, 2010 5:50 pm

Great job. Quick work. :D

one7
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:56 pm

Post by one7 » Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:07 pm

Thanks for your continued hard work on this pack, user_hidden. It's very much appreciated.

User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Post by shiner » Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:12 pm

Muchos gracias, senor UH.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."

mark strelecki
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:05 am
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Post by mark strelecki » Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:20 pm

Between UH and 5eraph I don't know if I HAVE enough Thanks for all your hard work and devotion to XP users worldwide....

I think I'm Thanked out for the moment.

But I'm working on MORE THANKS as I type this.

:D

Thank You kindly.


MARK STRELECKI
Pollinated Atlanta, GA.

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:45 pm

it works :wink:

it detects KB981332 lacking, but this is for yumeyao's IE8 not applyin' here :)

so far it flies, thanx

User avatar
LonGleY-orig
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:44 pm

x.x.x

Post by LonGleY-orig » Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:54 am

1.24 or 1.2.4?
Decide that please (in title, history)...

adric
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Re: x.x.x

Post by adric » Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:02 am

LonGleY-orig wrote:1.24 or 1.2.4?
Decide that please (in title, history)...
I thought i was picky.. gheeezzzz. It's 1.2.4 for the file and title and
1.24 for the log. :rolleyes:

Al

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:27 am

I get asked to install kb898461 and kb892130. But I did use 5eraph's addon, which seemed to have caused a "bchoice.exe not found" error during txtsetup. I had to press ESC to skip it. Everything seemed to run smooth after that, and the above KBs are unrelated to it. So... *shrug*


Anyone else getting prompted to install those two updates?

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:19 am

dumpydooby wrote:I get asked to install kb898461 and kb892130. But I did use 5eraph's addon, which seemed to have caused a "bchoice.exe not found" error during txtsetup. I had to press ESC to skip it. Everything seemed to run smooth after that, and the above KBs are unrelated to it. So... *shrug*

Anyone else getting prompted to install those two updates?
hmmmm, dunno could have been a mishap.

i personally do not use 5eraphs removal addon since as i stated many times
before the method that KB976002 is integrated it is NOT calling home or
anything like that. it stays dormant until you use the link in startmenu>applications to actually run the choice after that it is dormant again. so in essence removing it during integration for me is not required and kind of a mute point.

test it again without the removal addon and let me know if you get the same MU prompt.

jaynbe
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:37 pm

Post by jaynbe » Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:36 am

dumpydooby wrote:I get asked to install kb898461 and kb892130. But I did use 5eraph's addon, which seemed to have caused a "bchoice.exe not found" error during txtsetup. I had to press ESC to skip it. Everything seemed to run smooth after that, and the above KBs are unrelated to it. So... *shrug*


Anyone else getting prompted to install those two updates?
I have also integrated 5eraph's_addon with the UH_updatepack_1.2.4 without any issue.
No such txtsetup error or errors in event viewer; QFEcheck 100% and no WU updates.

Thanks UH for the updatepack

EDIT: I used OnePiece_addons for IE8 and WMP11 this time
Last edited by jaynbe on Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:41 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Mon Apr 19, 2010 10:43 am

I'm testing again right now. Something might have just gone wrong during integration; I don't know. I went through and deleted my RVMI cache and started over from scratch. I verified my config files were pointing to the 1.2.4 release, and I verified the hash. Everything checks out. So I'm hoping it was just a fluke. Testing again right now. I'm also integrating YumeYao's latest releases of IE8 and WMP11. Anyway, I'll edit this post with my results.


edit--
Test finished. Everything was perfect. I was prompted to install kb981332, but that's an IE8 hotfix. Something must have gone haywire in my first test.
Last edited by dumpydooby on Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Mon Apr 19, 2010 10:51 am

@Tareek,
sorry it may have been a long time, but i'd like to talk about the time zone:
view my this post:
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... 349#103349
to make it clear, i quote it partly here and i changed code tag to quote then highlighted the info i want to show you:
yumeyao wrote:open your hivesft.inf, search for HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Time Zones","IndexMapping", you'll know how windows setup recognize timezone itself, for example ,you'll see these lines:
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Time Zones","IndexMapping",0x00010000,\
"409", "4",\
"1009", "4",\
"80a", "30",\
"440a", "30",\
in the first line, 409 means Language English, 4 means the corresponding preset timezone. Let's look at Pacific Standard Time:
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Time Zones\Pacific Standard Time","Index",0x00010001,4
you see, in this example, people who are using english os are automatically allocated with Pacific Standard Time.
"409", "4" means
english(US) ---> timezone with a index of 4.
then Pacific Standard Time owns the index of 4.

then let's talk about winnt.sif stuff.
when you specify "timezone=xx" in winnt.sif, you are specifying the timezone index. If you understand this then it won't be diffcult to understand why the timezone ends up with a unfavorable one -- the timezone moved/merged to another entry but the index you specified remained the old entry.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

sjj88
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:21 pm

Post by sjj88 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 4:47 am

Heres the current updates i get after using the last pack:

Security Update (KB980232)
Security Update (KB977816)
Security Update (KB979309)
Security Update (KB978338)
Security Update (KB979683)
Security Update (KB978601)
Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool - April 2010 (KB890830)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:16 am

Are you sure you're using v1.2.4_20100413?

sjj88
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:21 pm

Post by sjj88 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:25 am

yea im using v1.2.4_20100413

I think those updates i pointed out were released a day or 2 after the april update pack so i guess they'll be down for the may release

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:47 am

redownload the update pack and integrate it once again... it couldn't be a matter of conflict between what you might integrate because the updates reported as missing ...are explicitly gathered within the last service pack...so might be a misuse either during download...you've clicked the old update pack during download procedure and took the old name then took the old one as the newest, or simply selected the old one during integration because of a habit such as conserving the old pack next to the fresh downloaded one... it is a problem there... to you only 8)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:53 am

vodacuza is right. No updates should be missing if you use v1.2.4. It works for me.

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Tue Apr 20, 2010 3:16 pm

On my first run, I was also prompted to install a bunch of hotfixes after the first initial two that I mentioned above. The only things I did differently between that test and one after was I removed 5eraph's addon and I cleared my RVMI cache. On my second run, everything was flawless; no prompts to install anything. I'm not sure how RVMI caches stuff, but I'm inclined to say that was the culprit.

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Tue Apr 20, 2010 4:19 pm

safety measures:
-use last integrator version
-delete everything around the exe file ( if you reuse it...)

I keep "RVM_Integrator_1.6.1b2.1.7z" like is, archived, compressed...and everytime I begin a new job, I decompress that...and move the resulting folder on the desktop...so that never to tempt me use the same rvmi "FilesAndOrDirs " :wink: with all it's logs and stuff... anyway this is surgery style, I think rvmi does deal with new sessions, corectly...however I always use a fresh decompressed rvmi :rolleyes:

jaynbe
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:37 pm

Post by jaynbe » Wed Apr 21, 2010 3:25 am

I had no issue integrating the updatepack_1.2.4 with 5er_KB976002-v5_uh_Removal_Addon.7z , but I did this
in a new session after the update pack had been applied. After that no errors nor remaining updates.

JasonACS
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Canada

Post by JasonACS » Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:24 pm

As I'm sure many do, I appreciate user_hidden's pack because of its similarity to RyanVM's. I was comparing the contents list, and the only non-update change I noticed was Windows Update in place of Microsoft Update. Are there other changes?

Also, has the KB955759 appearing in Microsoft Update issue been fixed yet without one of the workarounds?

And finally, does the Browser Choice update only function when using EU media?

Thank you everyone!

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:00 am

JasonACS wrote: Also, has the KB955759 appearing in Microsoft Update issue been fixed yet without one of the workarounds?

And finally, does the Browser Choice update only function when using EU media?
Thank you everyone!
KB955759 is included with the pack and does not show in MU.
perhaps you have an addon that is causing this error.

Browser choice is NOT active. in order to use it you have to use the shortcut from StartMenu>Applications....otherwise it is disabled.

JasonACS
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Canada

Post by JasonACS » Fri Apr 23, 2010 7:00 pm

Alright, so I put one together for the first time since RyanVM's last release about a year ago. No obvious problems in a VM, but if anyone sees anything wrong with my integration list (such as the order), please point it out:

1)user_hidden's QFE
2)Xable's MU
3)strel's .NET
4)OnePiece's IE8

In my Windows Components I have "Windows XP HOME Specific" enabled with 0MB and no description. Does anyone know what addon this is from, or what it's for? Google turns up nothing.

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:56 am

The updatepack has two subfolders, home/pro. Each has it's own .inf for supplementary entries. Your rogue listing is contained in there.
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Sat Apr 24, 2010 8:39 am

Since I noticed their have been some questions about the latest pack I can state that I just did a new pack yesterday and although I did not do a heavy check since I had some driver issues the MU was empty and the pack itself seemed fine

5er_KB976002-v5_uh_Removal_Addon.7z
ARemoval_LANG_DirDeleteAddon.cab
BRemoval_WINNTUPG_DirDeleteAddon_v1.1.cab
CPatchAddon_SFC_OS_v14.7z
CPatchAddon_TCPIP_100_v14d.7z
Java6u20.exe
Kels_CPLBonus_v11_addon.rar
Kels_Dial-A-Fix_v0.60.0.24_addon.CAB
Kels_Runtimes_addon_v6.rar
NR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.5.7z
RAddon_DirectX32_9.0c_Runtimes_201002.7z
RedDXManaged_1.1.0.exe
Ricks_SpywareBlaster4.3_addon_100412.7z
SFX_K-Lite_Codec_Pack_590_Mega.exe
SFX_QT_Lite_322.exe
Shockwave_slim_1156606_AddOn.cab
SpyBotSD_1.6.2_AddOn.cab
UPHC_2.0.49.0_AddOn_v2.2.7z
YAdobe_Acrobat_Reader_931_AddOn.cab

Botus
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:47 pm
Location: UK

Post by Botus » Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:14 am

dumpydooby wrote:.... But I did use 5eraph's addon, which seemed to have caused a "bchoice.exe not found" error during txtsetup. I had to press ESC to skip it. Everything seemed to run smooth after that, and the above KBs are unrelated to it. So...
I too just made a disc using latest u_h pack and many others all done at once... which included remove browser choice addon from 5eraph, which seems to have caused a "bchoice.exe not found" error during txtsetup...

can't report next steps as harddisk seems to have died which is somewhat unfortunate.......

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sun Apr 25, 2010 10:13 am

i have stated many time before it is NOT needed to use 5eraph's browserchoice removal addon. the update is dormant and file size is negligeable. it is just there for the users that for some reason have an adversion to the update ??

Botus
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:47 pm
Location: UK

Post by Botus » Sun Apr 25, 2010 11:44 am

user_hidden wrote:i have stated many time before it is NOT needed to use 5eraph's browserchoice removal addon....
noted thanks ! :oops: I already had it downloaded and just included it, removed it now...

thanks for the pack and again thanks for the dot net stuff you do so well.... :D

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:03 pm

updated 1.2.5 20100428 ....

Post Reply