XPSP3_QFE_UpdatePack for Windows XP Post-SP3 20180109

Windows XP Professional Update Pack discussion.
Post Reply
newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:00 pm

Likely UH forgot to update the MD5 published MD5.

adric
Posts: 582
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:12 pm

newsposter wrote:Likely UH forgot to update the MD5 published MD5.
That is correct. I just checked the MD5 hash for the previous update pack XPSP3_QFE_UpdatePack_1.2.9_20100525.7z
The md5 listed is was for the older version.

Al
Last edited by adric on Wed Jun 09, 2010 7:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:05 pm

The new/current pack integrates just fine.....

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Wed Jun 09, 2010 1:18 am

So what MD5 is everyone have? I'm d/l the file right now.
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Wed Jun 09, 2010 1:27 am

MD5: a89f7d61d9ee4be5f889772030dca3d0
Tested and works fine.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:19 am

file hash, ceased to be an aid...it became a trick to invoke an error and dissatisfy our minds driving us unconsciously to reject a product, unjustified; although absolutely irrelevant, having no direct relation to the functionality itself, it still makes us victims of dissappointment. But the days of 1) slow internet connection, 2) pioneristic compression software and 3) stupid lan adapters or drivers...are gone, also the possibility that a malevolent one could alter the product and yet keep the same link posted by the author himself here...it is remote, I do not think this should concern us the amount it does :D

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:57 am

pdl808 wrote:v 1.30 fails the checksums
my fault forgot to update the checksum in first post.

updated for correct ones.....

mfarmilo
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:23 am

Post by mfarmilo » Wed Jun 09, 2010 8:12 am

Strange - I just downloaded it via Rapidshare, and it's an exact match to the MD5 on page 1 of this thread.

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:15 am

meanwhile was updated Image

I am glad that everybody spoke about md5...this means that the pack has no problem integrating it Image

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:22 am

"hidserv.dll" responsible for the well function of many USB devices...it is referred to in registry..but absent as file after an OS installation... is it a malfunction of nlite, a fault, an arbitrary election of the system or what ?

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:51 am

vodacuza wrote:"hidserv.dll" responsible for the well function of many USB devices...it is referred to in registry..but absent as file after an OS installation... is it a malfunction of nlite, a fault, an arbitrary election of the system or what ?
I think it may be hardware dependant (here is hidserv.inf)

Code: Select all

[Microsoft]
%HID_DEVICE_SYSTEM_CONSUMER%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID_DEVICE_UP:000C_U:0001

[Microsoft.Section]
%HID\VID_045E&PID_0014&MI_02.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_045E&PID_0014&MI_02
%HID\VID_045E&PID_001D&MI_01&COL01.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_045E&PID_001D&MI_01&COL01
%HID\VID_045E&PID_002B&MI_01&COL01.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_045E&PID_002B&MI_01&COL01
%HID\VID_045E&PID_002D&MI_01&COL01.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_045E&PID_002D&MI_01&COL01
%HID\VID_045E&PID_006D&COL02.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_045E&PID_006D&COL02

[Altec.Section]
%HID\VID_04D2&PID_FF47&MI_02.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_04D2&PID_FF47&MI_02
%HID\VID_04D2&PID_FF49&MI_02.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_04D2&PID_FF49&MI_02
%HID\VID_04D2&PID_0070&MI_02.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_04D2&PID_0070&MI_02

[Fujitsu.Section]
%HID\VID_04c5&PID_1020&MI_01&Col01.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_04c5&PID_1020&MI_01&Col01
%HID\VID_04c5&PID_1018&Col02.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_04c5&PID_1018&Col02

[Philips.Section]
%HID\VID_0471&PID_0101&MI_02.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_0471&PID_0101&MI_02

[LabTec.Section]
%HID\VID_0672&PID_1041&MI_02.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_0672&PID_1041&MI_02

[NEC.Section]
%HID\VID_0409&PID_0203&MI_03.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_0409&PID_0203&MI_03
%HID\VID_0409&PID_0094&Col02.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_0409&PID_0094&Col02

[Yamaha.Section]
%HID\VID_0499&PID_3001&MI_02.DeviceDesc%=HIDSystemConsumer,,HID\VID_0499&PID_3001&MI_02

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1634
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:41 am

In mine's txtsetup.sif the line that contains hidserv.dll is
hidserv.dll = 100,,,,,,,2,1,3
I have find here and here some explains about lines from txtsetup.sif

Seem that newinstallcode1 is 3 for hidserv.dll file, that means - Does not copy the file.

Is a mystery why M$ choosed to not copy one file from all 3 used by HidServ service
* hidserv.dll
* mouhid.sys
* mouclass.sys

and to still refer to him in registry.
Image
The dll exists in computer, but is packed into driver.cab
Even if dll descriptions says "HID Audio Service", I'm not verry shure about that, but googling the net,
having or missing hidserv.dll can be responsable by good or malfunctioning for extrabuttons
that exist on some hid devices ( for ex: usb multimedia keyboards,etc)

User avatar
BrokenZerØ
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:34 pm
Location: %Labs%

Post by BrokenZerØ » Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:51 am

I have read and compare, despite a bit confused.
Can someone please explain in more detail here?

What exactly is the difference to OnePiece-AIO?
- It is complying with the exception of the additional tools Exact same Windows Updates?
- (QFE) Then does ALL the Request-only updates are included as in OnePiece's?
- If not, what updates are missing exactly?

Perhaps someone so nice and would give us a list of items?
The list should contain exactly what is missing in "Core" updates.

Thank you.
Image

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:41 am

AIO stands for "all in one", meaning aside from core OS updates..there are components updates...and other updates decided by the AIO creators... Personally do not like soup :) and updates entering all over...as AIO fills Windows Components section... the difference might be even greater but out of courtesy people do not preffer to specify details :)
anyway one is the alternative for the other

User avatar
BrokenZerØ
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:34 pm
Location: %Labs%

Post by BrokenZerØ » Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:20 pm

vodacuza wrote:AIO stands for "all in one", meaning aside from core OS updates..there are components updates...and other updates decided by the AIO creators... Personally do not like soup :) and updates entering all over...as AIO fills Windows Components section... the difference might be even greater but out of courtesy people do not preffer to specify details :)
anyway one is the alternative for the other
As far as I knew it already. :)
The question is the actual "core" updates are the same?

It's all about, I will not like now compare each KBXXXX entry list of both "inlcudes" if someone could tell me in advance what exactly is different. ;)

So I would like to know if this really pack contains ALL possible Hotfixs.
Image

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:58 pm

updated 20100610 ....

1.31:
updated Adobe Flash Player 10.1.53.64 ActiveX Control
added KB983246

adric
Posts: 582
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Thu Jun 10, 2010 6:20 pm

user_hidden wrote:updated 20100610 ....

1.31:
updated Adobe Flash Player 10.1.53.64 ActiveX Control
added KB983246
Is there a description of KB983246 somewhere?

I can't find anything on the microsoft's support site about this fix. I assume it is a hotfix and am curious about what it is supposed to cure.

Al (how do you find stuff like this)Adric
Last edited by adric on Thu Jun 10, 2010 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Thu Jun 10, 2010 6:21 pm

Black-Shaddy wrote: So I would like to know if this really pack contains ALL possible Hotfixs.
thanks to god it does not include all possible hotfixes... but major security updates... the reason for which other packs are not of interest for myself is the rush to include everything like when making a soup..., to me only, this betrays a lack of professionalism in view, mine is subjective anyway 8) this pack contains all the critical updates, that suits me the best...try it... cause it is not only about the updates..it is the way, the care, the knowledge to pass them to windows

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Thu Jun 10, 2010 6:26 pm

adric, try this:

http://kbupdate.info/

MS sometimes gives the updates and attach the security bulletin later

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Thu Jun 10, 2010 6:34 pm

i found it at windows 7 :)

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Jun 10, 2010 6:36 pm

adric wrote: Is there a description of KB983246 somewhere?

I can't find anything on the microsoft's support site about this fix. I assume it is a hotfix and am curious about what it is supposed to cure.

Al (how do you find stuff like this)Adric
yup listed as a hotfix but an update to the MS Data Access Component files.

i find KB through kbupdate.info / MS Download Center
and in general try to stay on top of things. sometimes an update
can be very elusive to find.

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:31 pm

who can help me...I have an old problem installing windows using a slipstreamed xp cd, cause it seems that that error does not appear using a clean msdn xpsp3 cd....

so, right after loading the drivers, just before showing the partitions found into the system, when it needs you to choose where to install the xp...it shows a BSOD. if I disable ACPI it shows no more... but some systems do not have the option to completely disable the ACPI...but to choose one option or another...also I found that some multiprocessor platforms might need ACPI enabled so that xp to recognize the multi cores... my question is...CAN I PREVENT THAT WITHOUT THE NEED TO ADJUST BIOS ACPI ? as I said the native xpsp3 does not do that... and it might be something related to the nlite "UNATTENDED" section: , namely "OEM Preinstall" ? ...should I let that Enabled or Disabled ? I load txt mode sata drivers...that have a legitimate oem file...to avoid necessity of using F6 and floppy ... I am sure that BSOD occurs to many exactly to that point...when has to detect the HDD partitions...all it proportionates is a BSOD instead :(

adric
Posts: 582
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:14 pm

user_hidden wrote:
yup listed as a hotfix but an update to the MS Data Access Component files.

i find KB through kbupdate.info / MS Download Center
and in general try to stay on top of things. sometimes an update
can be very elusive to find.
I tried to search on KB983246 at http://kbupdate.info/
and got he following:

Your search - KB983246 - did not match any documents.

I guess you can't get anymore elusive that :rolleyes:

Al

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:18 pm

using that link...I saw it at windows 7 :)

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:28 pm

about my BSOD I think that I found the problem Image ...but still needing help, someone who worked for nlite into Siginet team...could tell me which is the default setting found in native windows kit, regarding the "Computer Type" under UNATTENDED section of nlite ? By default nlite uses "Automatic" there...but that automatic might not be so effective... could I choose another option to avoid that BSOD but not to deprive xp of performance no matter the platform installed ? and under the circumstance of having the bios APIC disabled...although I set it from nlite to "Advanced Configuration and Power Interface" instead of "Automatic", that not to generate error anymore...

this i mean...
Image

I might choose "Advanced Configuration and Power Interface" or even "Standard PC" instead of "Automatic" there ... which is the default found into the native xp cd ?... this is the right question...nlite presumes another setting than MS at that level...my guess

reedit:
resolved by selecting "Standard PC" at Computer Type, in nlite...
Last edited by vodacuza on Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:48 pm

adric wrote:Your search - KB983246 - did not match any documents.
I guess you can't get anymore elusive that :rolleyes:

Al
KB983246

Tsusai
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:12 pm

Post by Tsusai » Fri Jun 11, 2010 6:12 pm

Getting a similar BSOD
Bad Pool Header as the text setup starts, ACPI.SYS. 6 tests, MD5 was correct, no issues with older versions .

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:17 pm

what drivers are you guys deleting from your XP loads with nlite? It's a bad BAD idea to delete things like cpu and chipset drivers EVEN if you add a newer set via driverpacks, etc.

This really isn't an nlite forum though.

I'm not getting nay kind of BSOD with UHs two newer packs, 1.3 or 1.3.1.

User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Post by shiner » Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:37 pm

Same as newsposter here.
No BSOD with 1.30 or 1.31 using RVMi for integration and nLite as final step for removal of a few components.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:39 pm

vodacuza wrote:about my BSOD I think that I found the problem Image ...but still needing help, someone who worked for nlite into Siginet team...could tell me which is the default setting found in native windows kit, regarding the "Computer Type" under UNATTENDED section of nlite ? By default nlite uses "Automatic" there...but that automatic might not be so effective... could I choose another option to avoid that BSOD but not to deprive xp of performance no matter the platform installed ? and under the circumstance of having the bios APIC disabled...although I set it from nlite to "Advanced Configuration and Power Interface" instead of "Automatic", that not to generate error anymore...

this i mean...
Image

I might choose "Advanced Configuration and Power Interface" or even "Standard PC" instead of "Automatic" there ... which is the default found into the native xp cd ?... this is the right question...nlite presumes another setting than MS at that level...my guess

reedit:
resolved by selecting "Standard PC" at Computer Type, in nlite...

That's a pretty gay smiley.

Tsusai
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:12 pm

Post by Tsusai » Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:42 pm

I'm not removing anything. I only use nlite to add an unattended and drivers. Ryanvm for integrating the pack first.

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Sat Jun 12, 2010 12:01 am

Clear your RVMI cache. See if that helps. That worked for me when I had an issue a while back. To this day, I say that's what fixed my problem. My file hashes matched up, and my disc-creation process is all scripted so I know for sure that I didn't do anything different the second time around (besides remove an addon from 5eraph, which he says wouldn't have caused the error).

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Sat Jun 12, 2010 1:39 am

:) what about this one...Image hope you like it more


mine BSOD was not related to QFE... it was because nlite was thought to use another defaults... " 'nlited" by the only pursuit of optimization... and it slightly changes some settings by mere usage of it... instead of preserving the defaults had in view by MS...it imposes its own , and you have to have some skill to use it.

Aside from foreign PCs...I can speak about my PC, have multicore processor...and observed it on 2 motherboards.. both cases delivering BSOD at the stage of detecting HDD partitions...and machine type... so I had to exterminate BIOS settings till I found that ACPI settings determines that error...disableing which, I could pass over it...BUT, became tired having to adjust BIOS all the time, and extending investigation I saw that MSDN XP sp3 CD ... gives no error at that level, never ! So I became to blame the nlite settings :) and yesterday night finally got it solved... setting "computer type" from unattended section to "Standard PC", it makes the system nonsensitive to ACPI on/of , do'no performance repercusion...for the time being I am happy solving the customary BSOD ...

p.s. I was told that keeping pressed F7 instead of F6 (when it says press F6..) it bypasses ACPI too 8)
or if you preffer F5, then select standard PC with i486 step ;) ... I only knew about F2 and F6 ... see that all F's are busy there :rolleyes:

installing OS it is a very thorough test of system stability and correct preconfiguration...if there are bad BIOS settings or let's say you have a RAM problem, or bad HDD sector, or insuficient cooling...sooner or later, during OS install it will let you know...

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Sat Jun 12, 2010 3:43 am

for those who might suspect a conflictual raid/sata drivers that I use.., have to mention that using sata drivers was implemented lately by me, much after beginning to receive that BSOD. In fact these are the SATA oem drivers I load in txt mode : http://www.girlshare.ro/1231797.6

posting the rest of the drivers I use: http://www.girlshare.ro/1231813

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Sat Jun 12, 2010 3:45 am

Thanks for update .... will test soon ;)

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sat Jun 12, 2010 6:01 am

5eraph has pointed out a cosmetic error in the 1.3.1 updatepack.
it is NOTHING serious what-so-ever.

i am presently away until tuesday so i will upload a revised pack then
with any updates that may appear in the interim.

Tsusai
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:12 pm

Post by Tsusai » Sat Jun 12, 2010 1:30 pm

My humblest of apologies. It appears that my brother updated the Intel drivers i was integrating without telling me. And apparently the latest Intel rapid storage w/e are giving some people this error when all of them are integrated (which wasn't an issue with older ones).

Rest assured action has been taken and he has been whipped.

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Sat Jun 12, 2010 4:53 pm

I have a problem with the usb when no device is attached or turned on, periodically Windows is throwing up messages new device found install drivers.
This is not random occurrence and has occurred in other pc systems of mine along with the need to reinstall drivers every time a usb flash is removed and the system rebooted.

Anyone has thid problem also?
Last edited by Outbreaker on Sat Jun 12, 2010 5:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Sat Jun 12, 2010 4:58 pm

user_hidden wrote:5eraph has pointed out a cosmetic error in the 1.3.1 updatepack.
it is NOTHING serious what-so-ever.

i am presently away until tuesday so i will upload a revised pack then
with any updates that may appear in the interim.
Found NO problems installing this on a new system

;)

mark strelecki
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:05 am
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Post by mark strelecki » Sat Jun 12, 2010 7:14 pm

@Tsusai -

I have the EXACT same issue, BSOD 19 in ACPI.SYS at beginning of text-mode setup.

I was using newer nVidia AHCI drivers (that worked fine with update pack 1.2.9), and am now back-revving those drivers and rebuilding the same configuration setup disk to test.

THANK YOU for reporting your problem here and giving this old man something to go on! I was pulling out the rest of my remaining hair, darnit....

Will report results later. Wish me luck!


MARK STRELECKI
Atlanta, GA. USA

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sat Jun 12, 2010 7:38 pm

it could be that nlite can't properly integrate newer device drivers properly or (more likely) that there are bugs in newer nvidia device driver packages that nlite can't deal with.

mark strelecki
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:05 am
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Post by mark strelecki » Sat Jun 12, 2010 9:17 pm

@newsposter - Good observation, had not thought of that. These drivers are vintage Summer 2009, so I wouldn't necessarily call them "too" new, but you may be on to something. Thank you for that smart idea.

My experiment back-revving nVidia AHCI drivers with QFE 1.3.1 is STILL NO-GO. Now, instead of a BSOD 19 I get a BSOD 7E which I have not seen before.

I ran an extensive RAM test on this box with two different utilities and there are NO RAM issues (just for the record).

I have been using drivers modded by FERNANDO as well as the latest from nVidia's website (nForce 15.45), and will keep trying until I get something that works.

Guess maybe I'm addicted to doing clean installs, huh? I hate it when that happens.... <grin>


MARK STRELECKI
Atlanta GA USA

klenot
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 8:12 am
Location: Czech Republic

975562 should not replace 975560

Post by klenot » Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:39 pm

user_hidden,

I think, that 975562 should not replace 975560, because the older 975560 does contain two files (msyuv.dll and quartz.dll) while the newer 975562 does contain only quartz.dll.

mark strelecki
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:05 am
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Post by mark strelecki » Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:51 pm

OK. I got it working. Here's my report:

The nVidia nForce drivers from version 15.45 did NOT work, and the modified (newer) version by Fernando also did not work (BSODs as mentioned above). Fernando got his driver from a version 15.52/15.53 fileset, published by a French website and originating from ASUS. I examined the contents carefully and they checked out with no viruses or malware.

When I used the 15.52/53 driver, NOT modified by Fernando, it worked just like it's supposed to work. WHEW!

This Acer Aspire X1300 is working like a champ, updated with the latest QFE 1.3.1 pack, and using drivers for the mobo from the same source as the AHCI SATA drivers (LAN, HDMI audio, SMBUS, etc.). I am using video drivers 197.45 and all is well in Atlanta tonight.

I do NOT like being behind a problem and I feel so MUCH BETTER when it all sorts out and just works. I read this entire thread and am grateful for the expertise you all offer freely. THANK YOU.


MARK STRELECKI
Atlanta, GA. USA

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:59 pm

Good to know, Mark. Thanks for reporting. :)

user_hidden is aware, klenot. No worries.

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Sun Jun 13, 2010 2:03 am

<off-topic>
Mark, where did you find the 15.52 XP drivers? All I can find is the tainted Fernando version and Nvidia is still on 15.46.
We're working on updating all the nvidia drivers over at DriverPacks.net
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

mark strelecki
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:05 am
Location: Atlanta GA USA

nVidia nForce 15.52 drivers online - in French

Post by mark strelecki » Sun Jun 13, 2010 1:13 pm

@mr_smartepants -

Look here at the Google-translated page:

http://translate.googleusercontent.com/ ... kYZ6uuyq0g

Station-Drivers is a French site and the package purports to be a WHQL version but is also labeled unofficial, whatever that means.

These AHCI SATA drivers work just fine here, integrated with nLite.

You'll see a version 15.49 as well as 15.52 on that page, so check them out. I know y'all usually wanna get your stuff direct from the manufacturer, so I was in no hurry to promote these to you at DriverPacks.

Good luck, and thank you again for that great work you do!


MARK STRELECKI
Atlanta, GA. USA

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sun Jun 13, 2010 3:12 pm

downloading drivers from anyplace other than the manufacturers direct site is a fools errand. you have no way to verify the integrity of those drivers.

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Sun Jun 13, 2010 4:09 pm

I'm well aware of station-drivers. And newsposter is correct. We avoid using their drivers at all costs. They've been known to tamper with their "packages" too many times.
They are useful for other things though. ;)
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

mark strelecki
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:05 am
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Post by mark strelecki » Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:58 pm

I found a resource that may pass muster.

ftp://ftp.asus.com/pub/ASUS/misc/ide/NV ... I_RAID.zip

This appears to be identical to the one I just used to make my XP install with QFE 1.3.1 work without BSODs.

Just wanted to pass along what I found, and I hope you can use it.

Best wishes to everyone, especially newsposter. Keep us honest and on the right track. Thank you again.


MARK STRELECKI
Atlanta, GA. USA

Post Reply