ADSL Broadband Connection

Windows XP Professional Update Pack discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
alban
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:20 am
Location: aL

ADSL Broadband Connection

Post by alban » Sat Feb 06, 2010 6:03 am

Can any1 create an addon for RVM_Integrat that will create a broadband connection during installation of windows.

This is what I'm asking for

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

THANKS

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1634
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Sat Feb 06, 2010 8:04 am

You can do it using autoit macro recorder (CMenu) or autohotkey , then compile autoit script to exe.

User avatar
alban
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:20 am
Location: aL

Post by alban » Sat Feb 06, 2010 1:05 pm

Can you be more specific vmanda please

Thanks

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1634
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:43 pm

autoit then download Cmenu and install both on your computer.
aAt next step, move mouse cursor over one icon onto desktop, right click, and you will see.
Image

Macro recorder will pop-up.

Image

Pres record ( red ) button. All actions that folows after that will be recorded and tranformed into one autoit script.

You can save this script and compile to exe. When will run the exe, recorder actions, opened programs, pressed keys, mouse actions will be played.

The autoit script is not perfect, but some recorded actions can be replaced by knowing command line that launch some actions.

Browse for some commandlines that runs control panel applets.

rundll32.exe netshell.dll,StartNCW will start ADSL connection wizard
Last edited by vmanda on Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1634
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:22 pm

AUTOMATIC_ADSL_CONNECTION.au3 wrote:Opt("WinTitleMatchMode", 4)
Run ("rundll32.exe netshell.dll,StartNCW", @WindowsDir )
WinWait("New Connection Wizard","Welcome to the New Connection ")
ControlClick("New Connection Wizard","Welcome to the New Connection ","Button2")
WinWait("New Connection Wizard","&Set up a home or small office")
ControlClick("New Connection Wizard","&Set up a home or small office","Button6")
WinWait("New Connection Wizard","For a dial-up connection, you ")
ControlClick("New Connection Wizard","For a dial-up connection, you ","Button2")
ControlClick("New Connection Wizard","For a dial-up connection, you ","Button9")
WinWait("New Connection Wizard","This type of connection uses a")
ControlClick("New Connection Wizard","This type of connection uses a","Button2")
ControlClick("New Connection Wizard","This type of connection uses a","Button12")
WinWait("New Connection Wizard","The name you type here will be")
Send ( "ADSL_CONNECTION_NAME" , 1 )
Send ( "{ENTER}" )
WinWait("New Connection Wizard","Type an ISP account name and p")
Send ( "USERNAME" , 1)
Send ("{TAB}")
Send ( "password" , 1)
Send ("{TAB}")
Send ( "confirm_password" , 1)
Send ( "{ENTER}" )
WinWait("New Connection Wizard","Make this the default connecti")
Send ( "{Space}" )
Send ( "{ENTER}" )
This works for me, they need to work for others.
You can personalize the script with your personal settings.
Also, username and password can be added at first connection, checking "Save this user name and pasword ..."
Now is verry, verry late in night, I think tommorow i will came with an working exe that to use one ini/text file to read this settings
.

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1634
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:45 am

The compiled script (with small chenges from up-in-page-one) and generic ini file can be downloaded here.
filename = broadband.zip
size = 267 KB (274.024 bytes)
md5 = C36232686CE49BAFDCE323CC56E76AA2

Ini filename, is always "broadband.ini" and needs to be close to exe.
If no ini file, generic connection name, user and password will be added.
broadband.ini wrote:[SETUP]
CONNECTION_NAME=CONN_NAME
USERNAME=USER
PASSWORD=PASS
Note:CONNECTION_NAME=CONN_NAME is just one name that you give to the connection. Can be what you want, this name does not matters.
Two connection with same name connot be created, you will got an error.
So before you run again broadband.exe, remove yours CONN_NAME from desktop and from Network Connections list too.

USERNAME=USER and PASSWORD=PASS you have to replace with the ones find to the papers that you signed with your ISP ( contract ).

Also you can provide the real User/Pass when you first time dial this connection, checking and "Save this user name and pasword ..." if is not checked.

Note 1: Creation of connection is switcheless, but is not silent, some windows will pop-up.
If somebody knows some command line tools, please post a link.

Note 2: Because broadband.exe simulate a series of clicks and keyboard strokes, be shure, that you keep hand away from keyboard and don't click/move mouse, after program launch.
The whole process duration is 5-10 seconds, depending on computer.
Last edited by vmanda on Sun Feb 07, 2010 6:45 am, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
alban
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:20 am
Location: aL

Post by alban » Sun Feb 07, 2010 6:20 am

Thanks vmanda great job I was reading you instructions but the link you posted for CMenu didn't work for me

Code: Select all

http://mywebsite.bigpond.com/michaelpheath/cmenu/
maybe I'm going to need this prog. can you post another link please.

Thanks again for the broadband connection.

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1634
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Sun Feb 07, 2010 6:42 am


User avatar
alban
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:20 am
Location: aL

Post by alban » Sun Feb 07, 2010 6:43 am

Thanks friend you did a great job

Thanks.

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1634
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Sun Feb 07, 2010 7:33 am

Maybe somebody with .net programming skill will make a more nice app.
here is a good point to start

Post Reply