Not sure if I'm doing this right. (x86 & x64 together)

Windows Vista Update Pack discussion.
Post Reply
Gast
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:29 am

Not sure if I'm doing this right. (x86 & x64 together)

Post by Gast » Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:14 am

Alright, so I'm trying to make a updated Vista disk with just Vista Ultimate x86 and Vista Ultimate x64.

I followed the directions here to make the disk with just the 2 versions of Vista Ultimate, and it works.

Then I slipstreamed their respective SP1 into them with Vista Update Integrator.

Now I want to update them with the latest patches and all the drivers in the driver packs. I've downloaded all the drivers and patches and here's what my folder structure looks like:

D:\VistaAIO
|-------------\Dvd - Vista DVD
|-------------\x86
|------------------\Drivers - decompressed 7z files
|---------------------------\Graphics_x86_810.3
|---------------------------------------------------\1
|---------------------------------------------------\etc
|------------------\HotFixes+Extras
|--------------------------\*.cab
|--------------------------\WindowsSoundSchemes-x86-intl-setup.exe
|--------------------------\WindowsSoundSchemes-x86-intl-setup2.exe
|------------------\Iso
|------------------\Mount
|-------------\x64 - Set up like x86


When I try to update my x86 image (image 1) everything looks ok. I'm not sure the Sound Schemes are being added though.

The real issue is when it comes to update the x64 image. I edited the drivers.xml in my vista-tools folder to include my x64 driver path. Then when I go to update the image, instead of taking awhile like the x84 version did, it goes by almost instantly.

When I open up the x64 image through vlite it only shows the SP1 updates as being integrated.

Thoughts?

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Thu Nov 06, 2008 2:31 pm

When it goes almost instantly, your XML is not ok.
And the soundschemes cant be slipstreamed, they have to be installed with /Q

Gast
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:29 am

Post by Gast » Thu Nov 06, 2008 5:06 pm

Below is my XML file. The string I have for my path is

D:\VistaAIO\x64\Drivers

What do I need to fix?

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
    <settings pass="offlineServicing">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-PnpCustomizationsNonWinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <DriverPaths>
                <PathAndCredentials wcm:action="add" wcm:keyValue="1">
                    <Path></Path>
                </PathAndCredentials>
            </DriverPaths>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-PnpCustomizationsNonWinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <DriverPaths>
                <PathAndCredentials wcm:action="add" wcm:keyValue="1">
                    <Path>D:\VistaAIO\x64\Drivers</Path>
                </PathAndCredentials>
            </DriverPaths>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:i:/vistaaio/distribucion/sources/install.wim#Windows Vista BUSINESS (64bit)" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />
</unattend>

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:14 pm

Is that all?

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:16 pm

No answer? , anyways you need a double XML for x86 and 64 in one.

Post Reply