Page 1 of 1

Error 0x80300001

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:06 am
by Zoom7000
I have tried to create a Vista Ultimate x64 ISO. I downloaded a Windows Vista x64 SP1 Image from Technet and tried to integrate Fox's Vista Updates Pack along with some drivers (using vLite). However, as soon as I try to install (either physical or virtual - VMware) I get the 0x80300001 (doesn't allow you to install to any drives) and can't continue. I've searched all over but can't find a resolution.

Anyone know how to fix this? I've tried formatting the drive prior to installation but this hasn't worked.

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:40 am
by mr_smartepants
Use vlite to remove anything (languages, etc.) to drop your install.wim size below 4GB and you should be fine.
I've also had that issue when the destination partition is less than ideal (20GB min)

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:38 am
by Zoom7000
Yeah, I noticed that. So is there no way to have an image over 4Gb? I hope they fix this in the SP2 slipstreamed release!

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:18 pm
by mr_smartepants
Well, you can limit yourself to a single image (Ultimate/Home Premium/etc) or rip out all the languages like I did and save yourself about 1.1 GB.

Error 0x80300001

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 3:42 am
by Belkafum
For instance...

Would it be possible to edit the Vista boot loader from Linux?

No, I do not have a Vista install disc. No, I do not have a Vista recovery partition anymore. No, this error is fatal, so theres no recovery/safe mode available.