[Release] InstallTips during installation

Questions or comments on the switchless installers? Want to create a new one? Talk about it here.
Post Reply
HJW
XPu Master
Posts: 622
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 4:17 pm
Location: University of Technology Delft, Netherlands

[Release] InstallTips during installation

Post by HJW » Sat Jan 19, 2008 11:41 am

Hi all,

I created this little tool on request by one of the members. It is language neutral so I post it here. Maybe you can find some use of it too ;)

What does is do?
Reads the commands and tool tips you saved in the ini-file.
Executes the commands and displays the tool tip while the process/installer is still active.

Code example:

Code: Select all

[COMMANDS]
1=jre-6u3-windows-i586-p.exe REBOOT=Suppress SYSTRAY=1 JU=0 /qn
2-SPTDinst-v153-x86.exe add -q
3=VMWARETOOLS.exe
4=wrar370.exe /s
4=wrarreg.exe 
4=WrarThemes.exe
5=VCPACK.EXE transforms=1043.mst /qn
5a=MPCHC.EXE /SILENT
5a=QT4VCP108.EXE -ai
0=vistasounds.exe
0=alky.exe
0=CAPICOM.exe
0=FONTS\fontinst.exe
0=REGEDIT /S RegTweaks.reg
0=Wallpaper.cmd
0=SHORTCUTS.cmd

[InstallTips]
0=Installatie Applicaties Afronden
1=Installatie Java Runtimes
2=Installatie SPTD-Layer
3=Installatie VMWARE Tools
4=WINRAR
5a=Installatie VistaCodecPackage - Components
5=Installatie VistaCodecPackage
As you can see each program entry has an corresponding InstallTip entry too.
It does not matter what you enter before the '=' als long as you have it the same at [PROGRAMS] and [INSTALLTIPS].
All entries [Programs] are processed line for line. So even there is a '0' entry that will not be executed as first. The program will look for corresponding tooltip at [Installtips]. So those do not have to have the same order.

Well, you can use this in SVCPACK or CMDLINES whatever you wish. I use it at CMDLINES to install these programs.

Download InstallTips
HJW


Screenshot:
Image

User avatar
byhexadecimal
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 6:31 pm
Location: Turkey / Ankara

Post by byhexadecimal » Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:45 am

thanks :D

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:07 pm

Wow, that IS pretty cool. I'll have to give it a try.

Heh, kinda defeats the purpose of "silent" installers eh?

Still, it's cool to have an itemized list (at least for troubleshooting).

HJW
XPu Master
Posts: 622
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 4:17 pm
Location: University of Technology Delft, Netherlands

Post by HJW » Mon Jan 21, 2008 6:07 pm

mr_smartepants wrote:Wow, that IS pretty cool. I'll have to give it a try.

Heh, kinda defeats the purpose of "silent" installers eh?

Still, it's cool to have an itemized list (at least for troubleshooting).
It's still unattended though ;) It all started when the installation of Framework took so long,, and people start to wonder why it takes so long. So now you know what is being installed at the moment ;)

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon Jan 21, 2008 8:49 pm

So we will run installtips.exe at t13, then it will run all applications wrote in inf file.
The aplications should be in svcpack folder, right?

By the way, its a great idea to have a tip when a program running. Especially the dotnet files. Also it will be easier to add apps to windows installation. We wont have to edit svcpack.inf everytime :)

Thanks for sharing.

User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Tue Jan 22, 2008 6:26 am

Thanks this is great. I have an unusual problem, Running the exe manually works perfectly however calling the file for a dos .cmd file results in the exe not running at all. The path is correct, any ideas?

HJW
XPu Master
Posts: 622
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 4:17 pm
Location: University of Technology Delft, Netherlands

Post by HJW » Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:19 am

glent wrote:Thanks this is great. I have an unusual problem, Running the exe manually works perfectly however calling the file for a dos .cmd file results in the exe not running at all. The path is correct, any ideas?
I recommend adding InstallTips.exe to cmdlines.txt or svcpack.inf. Nevertheless running it from a .cmd file should work too.

Code: Select all

@ECHO OFF
start /wait InstallTips.exe
Works for me..

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Sat May 23, 2009 6:41 pm

It is probably not possible with this program, but I might as well ask anyway.

Is this program a 32 bit process?

If it is, is there a way to make this work in a x64 bit environment to install 64 bit programs?

EDIT: Probably also should have asked if this was still even being kept up with too?
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Post Reply