troubleshooting issue

Questions or comments on the switchless installers? Want to create a new one? Talk about it here.
Post Reply
User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

troubleshooting issue

Post by ENU_user » Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:37 pm

lately I'm having trouble compiling a switchless installers

here is one made for notepad++ http://www.mediafire.com/?4alwqh3qn4i

for trouble shootings sakes I'm curious to know if this will run correctly on another computer or someone to tell me what seems wrong with it

I keep getting the "couldn't find setup.exe"
now when I did go renaming the installer to setup.exe
then the silentswitch was like discarded ..

thanks

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:51 pm

doesn't work, same error about setup.exe

is it just this installer or others as well ?
maybe upgrade your 7zsd.sfx module i use 1.30.1501 ?
is your config.txt saved in utf8 ?

i didn't check the contents hence the questions and i kind of feel weird even asking you :wink:

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:02 pm

ok it seems that 7zsd.sfx does not like special characters like " ++ ".
i downloaded the latest 5.50 of notepad++ and built a silent installer.
it works 100% so the only diff i see is the special characters. if i try and build the installer with special characters it will error.

here is mine: notepad.exe

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Fri Oct 02, 2009 3:47 am

That's odd. I use special characters too with 7zsd.sfx. See this release for example. However, I use v1.2.0.715. On the other hand, many programs do have issues with special characters...

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:35 am

I have checked different configs and checked the split config from 7zsplit and it seems to be all in place except when I used "Runprogram=" that gives me that same error
with "ExecuteFile=" and "ExecuteParameters=" its ok

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:37 am

I got the feeling it has to do with the system kernel\memory handler getting in the way & I have no Ideas how this can be fixed besides reinstalling the OS

also disabled DEP for " 7z setup SFX"

should I try v1.30.1501 if it can help the fix. someone please link one up if you got it

thanks for all the help pointers

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:53 am

ENU_user wrote:I got the feeling it has to do with the system kernel\memory handler getting in the way & I have no Ideas how this can be fixed besides reinstalling the OS

also disabled DEP for " 7z setup SFX"

should I try v1.30.1501 if it can help the fix. someone please link one up if you got it

thanks for all the help pointers
like i posted above if i make the silent installer by renaming the original exe to notepad++.exe like you did and with notepad++.exe /S in the run stage it will get same error as you. if i leave the name stock or something else the installer runs fine. so i don't think it is a problem at your end unless all of your installers are having problems.

links to updated 7zsd.sfx module and tools are available
from the RUSSIAN language site not English as of yet.
the files posted however are english/russian so totally useable.

http://7zsfx.info/ru/download.html
Last edited by user_hidden on Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DaRk MaDnEsS
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 4:15 pm
Location: Port Said,Egypt

Post by DaRk MaDnEsS » Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:58 am

maybe the sfx you used in this tool was used before

mean that you made a switch installer

then extracted it's sfx and used it with this one

that maybe the problem try to download another sfx and try

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:00 am

DaRk MaDnEsS wrote:maybe the sfx you used in this tool was used before

mean that you made a switch installer

then extracted it's sfx and used it with this one

that maybe the problem try to download another sfx and try

i agree reusing a 7zsd.sfx from an extacted archive or previouly setup for another proggy does cause issues. i always start with a virgin 7zsd.sfx module for every build.

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:45 pm

Thank you for the link to v1.30.1501 user_hidden. :)

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:09 pm

on the 7z sfx reusing:
as 7z sfx simply works by combining files, the sfx module is most likely not to be damaged after splitting, but the only thing I worry about is that I always use an config.txt w/o UTF-8 header(saves 2 byte), so may the 7z splitter automatically leave 2 bytes before the text in the config.txt and then cause the problem? replying from my mobile, thus not tested.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
DaRk MaDnEsS
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 4:15 pm
Location: Port Said,Egypt

Post by DaRk MaDnEsS » Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:33 pm

yumeyao wrote:on the 7z sfx reusing:
as 7z sfx simply works by combining files, the sfx module is most likely not to be damaged after splitting, but the only thing I worry about is that I always use an config.txt w/o UTF-8 header(saves 2 byte), so may the 7z splitter automatically leave 2 bytes before the text in the config.txt and then cause the problem? replying from my mobile, thus not tested.
well remember reading a post

someone (i think it was ricktendo64) extracted that sfx and opened it with hex

and the config.txt was implemented in it

so that why the setup.exe issue cause the old config.txt not being replaced

even integrating a new one wouldn't replace it

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:11 pm

Personally, I always use a fresh copy. Better safe than sorry. ;)

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:26 pm

yes, I ran into this with all installers I recently build along with a fresh 7zsd.sfx ..

the only pattern changed from my usual builds is when I started using "Runprogram=" that allows more instances of commands to run of the same config file. instead & unlike "ExecuteFile" that invokes "Runprogram=" altogether, and it cannot be used more then once per config...

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:35 pm

and I was sure I properly checked for typos

Runprogram RunProgram

thanks for your patience guys that really helped

Post Reply