Firefox won't refresh--flashing refresh button

Forum for anything else which doesn't fit in the above forums. Site feedback, random talk, whatever, are welcome.
Post Reply
User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Firefox won't refresh--flashing refresh button

Post by 5eraph » Tue Dec 04, 2012 12:49 pm

Does anybody know what this means? Google points me to many useless pages whenever I'm looking for Firefox documentation, probably because I don't know the developer's term for a feature, like "throbber."

What keywords should I use to find solutions? Does anybody have a link to official Firefox documentation?

User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Post by shiner » Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:49 pm

Here are the links I know about:

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Knowledge_Base
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/home
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/

I also visit this forum from time to time:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewforum.php?f=49

Edit:
My searches on the "mozilla firefox flashing refresh" button got quite a number of hits.
What I found:
It appears that very dynamic (constantly updating) or script heavy sites can cause this issue.

Actually, I have seen this when I check someone's hotmail account for them.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Dec 04, 2012 6:18 pm

It happens when I visit here or MSFN sometimes. Not as much as it once did. But it still bothers me that I don't know why it happens on sites that aren't "script heavy" sites. I'm not sure I agree with that explanation...

It's the reason I'd like to see a developer explain it, or official documentation describing it. The only plugins I use are Flash Player 11.5 and Java 7u9. Google has not been friendly with me on this.

User avatar
mooms
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:29 pm
Location: France

Post by mooms » Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:40 pm

Never encountered this behavior, but i use Noscript, so any non essential script is blocked.
Alteration of the world
Want to thank me ? If you buy something on Banggood with this link, I will earn a little %.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:41 pm

Well, Ctrl+F5 works on MSFN to force a refresh. Good enough for now. Thanks for the replies, guys. :)

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:12 pm

mooms wrote:Never encountered this behavior, but i use Noscript, so any non essential script is blocked.
I generally use this behavior also. However, I have noticed "similar" behavior when working on a local file (the local file had form elements). It would not refresh the styles / form elements properly. I had to close the page and re-open it in another tab.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Post Reply