Is It A Gurly Boy Thing?

Forum for anything else which doesn't fit in the above forums. Site feedback, random talk, whatever, are welcome.

Why Do You Guys Decorate Your Computer Installations?

A pretty boy deserves a pretty computer.
22%
Ahem, I am only adding this pretty stuff for my Mom.
No votes
It's a babe magnet. Pretty computers impress the pretty girls.
5%
I feel so ugly inside and a pretty computer makes me feel better.
11%
I am confident with my masculinity, so I shouldn't have to answer this.
16%
I am a serious tech guy, I don't spend any time adorning my PC!
41%
Boohoo, I do it cos I couldn't afford a pretty floral iMac.
3%
I like a pretty computer to match my curtains.
No votes
I love the Fab Five! It's good to be gay!
3%

Total votes: 37

Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded

Is It A Gurly Boy Thing?

Post by Mrs Peel » Mon Jan 30, 2006 11:17 pm

Oh man I have to giggle sometimes at some of the things you guys like to add to your computer installations around here!

I got into this custom installation hobby because I hate windows and I hate the bloat and I hate frilliness and I wanted to learn to streamline my system into a lean mean work machine and replace all the default windows utilities with better functioning 3rd party versions.

So while I (a girl) am busy trying to strip stuff out of my installations it seems to me that most of you (boys?) are just as busy trying to add dinky little frilly bits to make your computers look and smell like a ladies powder room... another pretty theme pack for this, another pretty cursor pack for that, another pretty button that goes here, another pretty (but sorta useless) application that goes there, another pretty screensaver that goes "Woot! Woot!"... it's like most of you blokes came here to bring your computer to the beauty salon ROFL :lol: