VirtualPC is now free (as in beer)!

Forum for anything else which doesn't fit in the above forums. Site feedback, random talk, whatever, are welcome.
Post Reply
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

VirtualPC is now free (as in beer)!

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:47 am

Now you guys have no excuse for not testing your ISOs prior to burning :P
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtualpc/default.mspx
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:47 pm

WooHoo! :D
Download in progress!

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:13 pm

Wow! Didn't see that comming. Microsoft seems pretty giving this year. Windows Defender, Virtual PC... WGA :D
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
UtCollector
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:31 pm
Contact:

Post by UtCollector » Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:19 pm

Thank for telling :!: I give it a try now :D

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:51 pm

This is the older version they bought from Connectix all those years ago. M$ probably has VirtualPC 2007 waiting in the wings to compete with VMWare.

User avatar
UtCollector
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:31 pm
Contact:

Post by UtCollector » Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:46 pm

I get this when i try to start it:
Image

The program just installed like a silent installer when i started it. It dit not ask me any key. Any 1 a idee?

User avatar
T D
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 6:36 pm
Location: ::1 (127.0.0.1)

Post by T D » Thu Jul 13, 2006 1:48 pm

Scrap VMware and bochs!
PS And a quick question, can you integrate the laptop hotfix in the zip archive into an admin install? Will it work on a desktop pc even w/the msp slipstreamed? Thanks.
Image

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jul 13, 2006 4:52 pm

I tried it today, but I'm getting an error on install now. I haven't given up on it yet, though, but it'll probably take some fixing with Orca to get it working.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:36 am

It's working here. No problems at all. May be they have update the download, because i just dowloaded it from ms site

User avatar
T D
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 6:36 pm
Location: ::1 (127.0.0.1)

Post by T D » Fri Jul 14, 2006 11:43 am

Working. No probs.
Image

jumz
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:32 am
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

Post by jumz » Fri Jul 14, 2006 11:54 am

Um, you guys know that VMware Server is also free...
JuMz

User avatar
T D
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 6:36 pm
Location: ::1 (127.0.0.1)

Post by T D » Fri Jul 14, 2006 3:29 pm

If only VMware Workstation was free...
Image

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:40 am

Looks like M$ is releasing VirtualPC 2007 for free as well.
Beta is available now.

Woohoo!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Oct 14, 2006 1:54 am

So far, so good with the beta for me :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Sat Oct 14, 2006 6:30 am

Hi,
Microsoft Virtual PC does not support USB devices. Even 2007 version. I really need the USB support when testing update packs.
I have chance that VMWare have trial version... It also supports USB devices!
Any idea? :)
Last edited by armond on Sat Oct 14, 2006 6:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

tamilcheetas
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:46 pm
Location: india

Post by tamilcheetas » Sat Oct 14, 2006 6:34 am

Hey, I'm used both Virtual Pc and Vmware ,

but both says, my RAM is not enough..

my RAM is 128MB DDR..

Is it not sufficent?

armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Sat Oct 14, 2006 6:44 am

tamilcheetas wrote:Hey, I'm used both Virtual Pc and Vmware ,

but both says, my RAM is not enough..

my RAM is 128MB DDR..

Is it not sufficent?
:wink: Why not increase your real system's RAM? Have no extra money?
I think that any today's computer should have at least 1 GB of RAM. Vista is coming...

Post Reply