virtual pc

Forum for anything else which doesn't fit in the above forums. Site feedback, random talk, whatever, are welcome.
Post Reply
rfwoodwork
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:31 pm

virtual pc

Post by rfwoodwork » Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:37 pm

I was wondering what you thought of vmware and virtual pc or what other virtual software that is out there. I have heard good and not so good things about microsoft virtual pc, I have also heard that there is not much difference between the two, and that they liked virtual pc because it is free. So I thought I would see what you thought of them.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:23 am

I have a really slow machine, VPC does not like it not enough mem only VMware can work on it

rfwoodwork
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:31 pm

Post by rfwoodwork » Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:54 pm

Thank you for your responce. but I was wondering why I don't get anyother responces to my question.

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Mon Apr 23, 2007 11:11 pm

lol well in time you will get more responses and this question kinda was answered in a sorta poll ,chek out the general discussion area ull find it...
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
corona2k
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:07 am

Post by corona2k » Mon Apr 23, 2007 11:38 pm

I use both Microsoft's Virtual PC 2007 and VMWare's Virtual Workstation 5...and VMWare is better than Microsoft's for a bunch of reasons. But then again VMWare isn't free like Microsoft.
If you wanna try VMWare get the BETA and try it out. I would recommend it.
Image Image

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:54 am

I use VPC2k7 and I agree it's got it's problems. But it's FREE, so who am I to complain. :D

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:43 am

I've started using VMWare full time, but only because I got into some x64 stuff which only VMWare will let me run as a guest OS on top of 32bit XP. However, it still has some annoyances that would keep me with VPC2007 otherwise. The one thing about VMWare that I really like is their VHD compaction option. It's nice that I can do a fresh XP install, shrink the disk, then save that vdk file and have a 1.4GB fully-installed copy of Windows ready to go as soon as I need it. 1.4GB is small enough that it's actually practical to save installs like that.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

rfwoodwork
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:31 pm

Post by rfwoodwork » Wed Apr 25, 2007 3:01 pm

Thnaks for all the input, as it is really helpful. I am new to slipstreaming windows xp so any help or reccomendations would be very much appreciated. Thanks again.

rfwoodwork
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:31 pm

Post by rfwoodwork » Wed Apr 25, 2007 5:43 pm

Oh, I was just reading info about vpc2k7 and they were saying that you should only run it over xp x64 edition. I am running xp pro, but I believe it is the 32 bit edtion, which one would you reccomend, or did I miss understand what they were saying. I found the article on the microsoft vpc information web page.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Apr 25, 2007 6:18 pm

Download the 32-bit setup from the Microsoft Download Center.

rfwoodwork
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:31 pm

Post by rfwoodwork » Thu Apr 26, 2007 11:34 am

Thnaks for the info, as I didn't know there was a32 bit edtion, as I have said before I am new to this and I have already learned alot.

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Sun May 13, 2007 12:29 am

I personally have only used VMware, but I like it so much, I wouldn't even THINK of using VPC. Plus, it's Microsoft, LOL.

When I was having problems with nlite, VMware gave me the SAME EXACT ERRORS as I got when I installed it for real, so that won me over (and it saved me a SHITLOAD of 'silver beer coasters' too!!)
;)

Post Reply