Problem between: Resource Hacker/Icon Packs & MUI

Forum for anything else which doesn't fit in the above forums. Site feedback, random talk, whatever, are welcome.
Post Reply
User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Problem between: Resource Hacker/Icon Packs & MUI

Post by moataz » Thu Jun 05, 2008 7:06 am

I modify My xpcd SP3 RTM files using Resource Hacker, but recently i noticed that when i replace original files... the Arabic User Interface doesn't applied 100%.

And when leaving original files with no change it applies 100%.

Any Explanation!!!

The same problem happen if u use any of the addons mentioned here.
Last edited by moataz on Tue Jul 01, 2008 8:33 am, edited 5 times in total.
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Thu Jun 05, 2008 1:10 pm

well the resources ure adding might be(prolly are) from an other language.you should also specify wich files ure editing and by what they are being replaced with.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Sat Jun 07, 2008 3:15 pm

What do you mean by prolly?
I can't find an answer from your reply, mate.
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Sat Jun 07, 2008 4:26 pm

Maybe the items being "replaced" (items in place of original) are not completely multi-lingual compatible.

Just my thoughts on that.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Sat Jun 07, 2008 8:11 pm

maybe some non-arabic strings or dialogs are in.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun Jun 08, 2008 3:42 pm

couldnt make much of it for now ,start with this article regarding mui & resources ..

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:01 pm

moataz, which progream are u using?
Open the edited files with resource hacker, and check if you edited right language section.
Cheers

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:46 am

ENU_user wrote:couldnt make much of it for now ,start with this article regarding mui & resources ..
Thank you, i will try to find the answer from it.
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:59 am

MrNxDmX wrote:moataz, which progream are u using?
Open the edited files with resource hacker, and check if you edited right language section.
Cheers
I'm using Resource Hacker 3.4.0.79.

All my resources (avi,bitmap,icon and string) with language id:1033 (English)

The (Arabic) language id:1025 , should i change my resources language to this id? or to the id:0 (neutral)?
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Mon Jun 09, 2008 7:22 am

moataz wrote:
ENU_user wrote:couldnt make much of it for now ,start with this article regarding mui & resources ..
Thank you, i will try to find the answer from it.
either way, if you or anyone else ..find out more let us know ..

as to moviemk.exe make sure 1 to 1 resources are replaced , i took a look and found some RES are adding additional resources on top of the file, may be the reason for the error, using only 1 for 1 replacements may fix that error ..

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:42 am

Any one Please reply if he face a similar problem.

Or this is private problem?
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sat Jun 14, 2008 7:08 pm

moataz wrote:
MrNxDmX wrote:moataz, which progream are u using?
Open the edited files with resource hacker, and check if you edited right language section.
Cheers
I'm using Resource Hacker 3.4.0.79.

All my resources (avi,bitmap,icon and string) with language id:1033 (English)

The (Arabic) language id:1025 , should i change my resources language to this id? or to the id:0 (neutral)?
Check the file in your language. If resources are english make the modified res files in english, but if they are in arabic, modifications must be arabic too :wink: I've faced this problem in past.

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:51 am

MrNxDmX wrote::wink: I've faced this problem in past.
Thank you for confirmation MrNxDmX.

Do you mean i need to add new Arabic resources from LIP (Language Interface Pack) to English ones,

or just change the English id (1033) to Arabic id (1025) then apply AUI.
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:57 am

or just change the English id (1033) to Arabic id (1025)
yes if the rest of youre source files are arabic.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Mon Jun 30, 2008 5:49 am

After many tries, I still facing this General MUI Problem.

I hope that someone has a solution.

I couldn't imagine my XPCD with the (old original files) look, also couldn't imagine it with out the Arabic UI.
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:16 pm

try using as lang ID system default.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Tue Jul 01, 2008 8:30 am

This won't work bober101.

I'm using the same configuration (without modifying XP files) and the Arabic UI appears 100%.

I read that either the LIP (Language Interface Pack) or XP itself has a built-in checksum (digital signature) for the original xp files..

So if the LIP didn't find the correct checksum, the resource loader dosn't load the corresponding Arabic *.mui file and the resources still in E.

I want to hear from you guys..
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:54 am

um did you modify pe ure dll's and exe's afterwards?
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Thu Jul 03, 2008 7:56 am

Modifype.exe or the other tool (i think pechecksum.exe) dosn't affect this issue at all.

I'm assuring every icon pack (XPize, VTP, VistaMizer, V'ISO , BricoPack , kudesnick , ....) or (resource hacking) will make this problem too.
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:36 pm

Come on guys..
This is General Problem now. I hope that you contribute more possitively to solve this problem (that prevent the beatifying act of XP)
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:44 pm

"This is General Problem now"
well not for me..lol, but can you post an example;
upload a file you want to edit and also include the resource you want to add.

ill try to figure it out for you.cause it dosent make sense that ure having so much difficulty, all the replies contain pertinent info on how to successfully add a resource to a said file while keeping the right Lang ID.

also;
"I read that either the LIP (Language Interface Pack) or XP itself has a built-in checksum (digital signature) for the original xp files.. "

yeah but ure patching the original files with modifyed:strings dialog,bitmap etc...so ure not replacing the whole file by an other one, and u said you mod. PE the files after..so i realy dont think this is the problem.

edit:also, are you using a MUI pack to make an eng xp to arabic?
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by moataz » Wed Jul 09, 2008 2:54 am

bober101 wrote:"This is General Problem now"
well not for me..lol, but can you post an example;
upload a file you want to edit and also include the resource you want to add.

ill try to figure it out for you.cause it dosent make sense that ure having so much difficulty, all the replies contain pertinent info on how to successfully add a resource to a said file while keeping the right Lang ID.

also;
"I read that either the LIP (Language Interface Pack) or XP itself has a built-in checksum (digital signature) for the original xp files.. "

yeah but ure patching the original files with modifyed:strings dialog,bitmap etc...so ure not replacing the whole file by an other one, and u said you mod. PE the files after..so i realy dont think this is the problem.

edit:also, are you using a MUI pack to make an eng xp to arabic?
Thank you bober101 for all your contributions in this issue.

My XP ver is SP3 b 5512 (English). I'm trying to Arabicize it 100%.

Are u using any MUI or just English?

Cause if use any MUI I'm Sure u r going to face it, mate!

Please... if anyone uses MUI usually:

Just try to modify an XP file (with Resource Hacker) that has a corresponding .mui file.
for Example: explorer.exe (Which is responsible for viewing the string "Start" in the start button), then apply his own MUI and see if this string changed to his local language. My Local appearance is "إبدأ"
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer

Post Reply