Anyone know how to slipstream Acrobat updates??

Forum for anything else which doesn't fit in the above forums. Site feedback, random talk, whatever, are welcome.
Post Reply
User avatar
pen25jf
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:22 pm

Anyone know how to slipstream Acrobat updates??

Post by pen25jf » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:31 am

I have Adobe Acrobat 8.1 (not the free one) and you need to install 8.1.1 and 8.1.2, which is a pain (sorta) since you need to keep the installer cache files when installing 8.1.0, which is an unnessary [sic] waste of a gig of space.

I did a search and found some administrators talking on a forum... it was like showing a dog a card trick :?

Anyone have any ideas, i.e. like slipstreaming SP3 to Office manually is easy, is it similiar?

Thanks!!

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:05 am

I doubt if it's similar, but that's just a quick, cheap opinion of mine. I've never attempted to slipstream Adobe updates.

At least you're not starting out with Acrobat v8.0! ;)
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:59 am

This kind of updates (that seem to be packed using PackagefortheWeb-I'm not shure) can be silently executed using:

update_name.exe /s /a /s

first /s instruct main package, to extract it's content silently, /a ("add") switch allows you to add switches to the command line of the underlying setup.exe and the last /s instruct setup.exe to install itself silently.

You can use an autoit script using RunWait to install main program and all updates in the correct order.

Some information about silent install PackagefortheWeb, you can find and here.
Maybe you will find usefull to see how I do the install for Acrobat Reader 8.12.

User avatar
pen25jf
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:22 pm

Post by pen25jf » Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:14 pm

Thanks. So lemme see if I have this right?

Acro810.exe dumped in a folder with each update.

then, run acroupdate811.exe /s /a /s - and that's it? How does it know to update 8.1.0? Sorry, AutoIt is new to me, it's installed though. Thanks!!

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Thu Jun 12, 2008 8:03 am

No, not running only updates. To make an autoit script, you will need a 1/2 hour, just install and start with simple projects. My recommendations:

1. You need to put your program and updates into a folder.

2. Download and install autoit3. Make a script that contain few lines like the following example:
RunWait ( 'main_program.exe switches', "", @SW_HIDE )

RunWait ( 'update_1.exe switches', "", @SW_HIDE )
and/or
RunWait ( 'msiexec /I "update_n.msp" /quiet /qn /norestart', "", @SW_HIDE )
Exit

Use the proper names and the proper switches inplace of main_program.exe, update_1.exe, update_n.msp, switches, etc.

3. compile this script to executable

4. put the executable to same folder with main program and updates

5. make an rar ( or 7z ) SFX and instruct it to execute your (compiled executable) script after extraction.

(If you are more familiar with commandline batch files, you can use an batch file, and use Hidec or Cmdow or cWnd to hide the window, inplace of the autoit script)

Use your final rar sfx as silent installer or make an svcpack addon.

If you post links to executable (updates) that you want to use, I will check it for silent switches, but I do not have main program, you will need to find switches.
Some of updates can be downloaded as msp, having msi silent switches. for ex.AcrobatUpd812_all_incr.msp that work with msi silent switches.

To see list of switches run Your_msp_file.msp /?. Use the Autoit help, it contain many more examples. I hope I have not missed something, and sorry for my bad english.

User avatar
pen25jf
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:22 pm

Post by pen25jf » Thu Jun 12, 2008 9:43 am

Great, thanks. That's a great tutorial and actually looks straight forward, I'll give it a shot on the weekend. Is the AutoIt the same as the one with Ryan's pack? I', running XP2 w/ Ryan's pack, plus Kel's runtimes, don't know if those codecs cover the app.

Thanks again!

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:08 am

In Kel's runtimes is only some dll's needed for running.

If you want to compile your own scripts you need to download Autoit installer and to install it.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:09 am

There is a much easier way, just do a administrative install of AcroPro8*.exe and update the MSI installer with the MSP updates

Code: Select all

msiexec /a NameOfInstaller.msi /update AcrobatUpd81*_all_incr.msp /qb
You have to do each MSP one by one in the correct order

First AcrobatUpd811_all_incr.msp
Then AcrobatUpd812_all_incr.msp

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:05 pm

Ah ha! So it is similar/the same!

Thanks, Rick!
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

User avatar
pen25jf
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:22 pm

Post by pen25jf » Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:18 pm

That's just like slipstreaming Office, sweet, thanks alot Rick

Post Reply