Why choose SP2 over SP3? (split from RVM SP2 Pack thread)

Forum for anything else which doesn't fit in the above forums. Site feedback, random talk, whatever, are welcome.
Post Reply
User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Why choose SP2 over SP3? (split from RVM SP2 Pack thread)

Post by Stimpy » Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:10 am

Hi Ryan, If you don't mind, I would like your thoughts on the point of maintaining a system with SP2 over a system based on SP3...

Is there a tangiable reason why someone would prefere to use an SP2 install with your SP2 update pack, over a system with SP3 installed and your SP3 update pack installed?

Please don't take this as sarchasm, this is something I have been wondering about ever since you started your excellent SP3 update pack.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:24 am

There are some video drivers, mostly ATi and NV laptop drivers, that don't work properly under SP3.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:05 pm

Some corporations stick with older operating systems to prevent breaking their "in house" software, at least until they've had time to properly test and vet any incompatibilities with the new operating system (or service pack, in this case). In other cases, it may cost too much to properly deploy the update when there is no pressing need to do so.

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:15 pm

newsposter wrote:There are some video drivers, mostly ATi and NV laptop drivers, that don't work properly under SP3.
Except for a few system file updates, I do not see how laptop drivers would not be compatible with a new SP. I mean are the drivers really written *that* badly?

Anyway, just my two cents.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Wed Sep 10, 2008 2:08 pm

laptop manufacturers have been notorious for taking their sweet time to update their drivers. possible solution would be to use something like this http://www.driverheaven.net/modtool.php instead of waiting

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:36 pm

newsposter wrote:There are some video drivers, mostly ATi and NV laptop drivers, that don't work properly under SP3.
Examples? Because as far as I know, they work fine with SP3. FYI, we manage about 17,500 clients overhere...

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Thu Sep 11, 2008 3:39 am

I thought MS was lazy with SP3, and as a result of that, SP3 is about 95% made up of hotfixes that were released for SP2 users, and 5% new and mostly useless networking features.

And as far as drivers go, I have not found any that gave me problems on SP3, but ccl0's link should sort any issues with old ATi drivers.

I just dont understand why somebody would choose to run an updated SP2 install, over an updated SP3 install.

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Thu Sep 11, 2008 3:40 pm

If reinstalling windows from fresh I cannot think of a reason to put sp2 instead of sp3 either, drivers seems a strange one as its still the same OS, I dont know of any driver that works on SP2 but not on SP3.

dnoiz
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:11 pm

Post by dnoiz » Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:57 am

There seems to be other differences between SP2/3 pack. Or is this wrong? Some updates/fixes in SP2 are not in SP3. Is this because SP3 doesn't need those anymore?

Like, SP3,

Other Updates
Adobe Flash Player 9.0.124.0 ActiveX Control
Microsoft European Union Expansion Font Update 1.2
Microsoft Qfecheck 6.2.29.0
Microsoft Update 7.2.6001.784
MSXML 4.0 SP2 (Includes KB941833 Hotfix)

SP2 (has more),

Adobe Flash Player 9.0.124.0 ActiveX Control
Macrovision SafeDisc Driver Fix 4.3.86
Microsoft European Union Expansion Font Update 1.2
Microsoft Qfecheck 6.2.29.0
Microsoft Update 7.2.6001.784
Microsoft Web Folders 9.60.6715.0 (KB892211)
Microsoft Windows Script 5.7 (Includes KB951978 Hotfix)
MSXML 4.0 SP2 (Includes KB941833 Hotfix)


Regards.

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:58 am

Hi Dnoiz, we're not really talking about the differences between update packs, but rather the whole point of why some people are making fresh Windows CD's using SP2, and Ryan's SP2 update pack, as opposed to using an SP3 install base and Ryan's SP3 update pack.

I just can't see the reason why somebody would use SP2, and an SP2 update pack, now that SP3 has been around for a while, and Ryan's pack has achived maturity and stability.

But maybe somebody has a real reason for not wanting to use SP3, and or Ryan's SP3 update pack?

User avatar
pg.manq
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:55 pm

Post by pg.manq » Sat Sep 13, 2008 4:03 pm

I guess i have indeed experienced the problem with SP3. :(

It has to do with the ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe MB. This MB for some reason has problems with SP3. And solution are really work arounds that work on trial and error. Support for this 2yr old n largely popular MB had been with drawn a while back. So unless there is a bios update, which is unlikely, SP2 is what ill have to stick to.

Hence my thanks to Ryan for his work on SP2 updates. :D

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Sep 13, 2008 5:22 pm

I use an ASUS A8N-SLI Premium, which is nearly identical. I haven't heard of problems with SP3, but I've been running XP x64 for over a year now.

I'll agree that manufacturer support's been lacking. I'm using the latest (modified) beta BIOS, but it's still over two years old. The Creative X-Fi issue was never resolved. I have an expensive silicon paperweight to prove it; regrettably, it suffered a Fatal1ty. ;)

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Sat Sep 13, 2008 8:27 pm

pg.manq wrote:I guess i have indeed experienced the problem with SP3. :(

It has to do with the ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe MB. This MB for some reason has problems with SP3. And solution are really work arounds that work on trial and error. Support for this 2yr old n largely popular MB had been with drawn a while back. So unless there is a bios update, which is unlikely, SP2 is what ill have to stick to.
So, the problem is Asus, not SP3. I have a nForce 4 based SLI box as well, and it works flawless. However, mine is not an (overrated) Asus.

nessus
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 11:02 pm

Post by nessus » Sun Sep 14, 2008 3:17 am

There is a very popular chinese language input program called Chinese Star 2006 we use here in Malaysia that just won't run under SP3 but will run fine under SP2. The software is used most in Chinese language schools so if given the choice of using SP3 with Windows built in chinese input support or Sp2 with Chinese Star, most will go for SP2 here.

User avatar
pg.manq
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:55 pm

Post by pg.manq » Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:37 am

@5eraph - The problem is only on the A8N SLI Deluxe and A8N32 SLI Deluxe MB's.

I like wat beats said. :wink: Sometimes i have wondered if the extra expence was worth it. Thats limited to my experience with this partiular card though. And yes its a problem with asus.

Ms_Tamany
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:04 pm

Post by Ms_Tamany » Sun Oct 05, 2008 2:47 pm

Stimpy wrote:I just dont understand why somebody would choose to run an updated SP2 install, over an updated SP3 install.
Well, at my office, one day about two weeks ago, my computer wouldn't get to the network login screen at all, no matter what I tried. We had to call the IT guy. When he got there, it took him only a few minutes to identify the issue. he said he'd seen this already dozens of times in the past few weeks -- he uninstalled SP3 and I was back up and operating within 15 minutes.

The next day, another computer at the office did the very same thing. We called the guy back and he removed SP3 from ALL of the computers in the office. We haven't had any further problems.

After that, I started looking for a clean, non-SP3 source for my home system.
Tammy J Rizzo

Jay
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:38 pm

Post by Jay » Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:25 pm

I think its just an ongoing thing with Microsoft, they fix and they break and on it goes but at least it keeps us all interested. :D

fly
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:31 pm

Post by fly » Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:30 pm

Ms_Tamany wrote:
Stimpy wrote:I just dont understand why somebody would choose to run an updated SP2 install, over an updated SP3 install.
Well, at my office, one day about two weeks ago, my computer wouldn't get to the network login screen at all, no matter what I tried. We had to call the IT guy. When he got there, it took him only a few minutes to identify the issue. he said he'd seen this already dozens of times in the past few weeks -- he uninstalled SP3 and I was back up and operating within 15 minutes.

The next day, another computer at the office did the very same thing. We called the guy back and he removed SP3 from ALL of the computers in the office. We haven't had any further problems.

After that, I started looking for a clean, non-SP3 source for my home system.
We're working with that issue here. Ours is an 802.1x issue.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Nov 01, 2008 6:26 am

Forum maintenance - Thread moved from Update Pack Discussion.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sat Nov 01, 2008 6:14 pm

You would think that an 'SPxx' would be regression tested against a whole slew of scenarios.

It's apparent that XP/SP3 was not.

Post Reply