Default crusor question

Forum for anything else which doesn't fit in the above forums. Site feedback, random talk, whatever, are welcome.
Post Reply
User avatar
Nicon
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:23 pm
Location: The Underground

Default crusor question

Post by Nicon » Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:47 pm

Would anyone happen to know the resource file that contains the default crusor files? Im sick of lookin at em and i want to replace them all togeather.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:00 pm

Crusor, hmm yeah right.

Tried looking in %SystemRoot%\Cursors? :shock:

User avatar
Nicon
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:23 pm
Location: The Underground

Post by Nicon » Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:19 pm

yes, i have. Sure, its easy to just put more icons in but that doesnt fully replace the default cursor set. Say for instance...while installing windows you see the normal white crusors. I dont want to just add new cursor sets, i want to replace the shit all togeather. Aye?

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:36 pm

.CU_ files are simply in I386, you can overwrite the original ones I guess?

User avatar
Nicon
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:23 pm
Location: The Underground

Post by Nicon » Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:43 pm

Thats what im looking for, only problem is that there are no files in the I386 dir that have that file extention.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:18 pm

:?:

Image

User avatar
Nicon
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:23 pm
Location: The Underground

Post by Nicon » Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:21 pm

i know, i nlited those out of my setup, replaceing them doesnt change the default cursors.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:30 pm

Oh right, so you made and installed a new ISO in 38 mins to test that, ok. [/sarcasm]

Try and search on Google, I could find the answer in 5 minutes, but I am too lazy right now.

User avatar
Nicon
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:23 pm
Location: The Underground

Post by Nicon » Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:34 pm

o_O', this is something ive been trying to figure out for sometime now. and YES i can make and install a iso in 38 min. :evil:

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Mon Nov 28, 2005 4:37 pm

i can do it in 30, but then again i have a dual xeon proc with almost 4 gigs of ram :D
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Mon Nov 28, 2005 4:41 pm

The point is Nicon didn't do a reinstall. I know it can be done in 30 mins.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Mon Nov 28, 2005 5:43 pm

I would also like to know what .dll/.exe the default cursors are hiding in, will hopefully stumble accross them these days while reshacking the fat out of the gui related files. Explorer.exe down to 317KB... now it`s shell32.dll`s turn for the chop :twisted:

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Mon Nov 28, 2005 6:13 pm

how the hell did you get explorer.exe down to 317kb, did it give you any trouble after reshacking?
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
Daemonforce
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 3:56 am
Location: International Telcom

Post by Daemonforce » Mon Nov 28, 2005 7:18 pm

dgelwin wrote:how the hell did you get explorer.exe down to 317kb, did it give you any trouble after reshacking?
It gave me problems the first time I tried it, but I think having explorer running when saving it was mainly to blame.
Do you have stairs in your house?

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Mon Nov 28, 2005 7:45 pm

dgelwin wrote:how the hell did you get explorer.exe down to 317kb, did it give you any trouble after reshacking?
Got it down a little bit some time ago but, Desdicado inspired me to go further. It`s at 303KB now :twisted: That`s without the startmenu properties available though.

shell32.dll next, muhahahahahaaaaa

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Mon Nov 28, 2005 8:57 pm

The cursor's are found in user32.dll, if you replace them window's commit's hara kira.

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 pm

there is a way of replacing the cursors used during gui setup by adding the appropriate reg entries during txtsetup using a hive file.

all you have to do is create an inf and use this format

Code: Select all

[Version]
Signature=$CHICAGO$

[newhive]
;place all your reg entries in inf format here
;HKCU,"Control Panel\Cursors","Arrow",0x00020000,"C:\TEMP\ARROW.CUR"
and have your entries ini resemble this.

Code: Select all

[dosnet_files]
d1,currep.inf

[txtsetup_files]
currep.inf = 1,,,,,,_x,,3,3

[ExtraFileEdits]
rvmtemp\txtsetup.sif|[HiveInfs.Fresh]|[HiveInfs.Fresh]<NEXT>AddReg <EQUALS> currep.inf,newhive|1
now all you need is to replace all that reg entries that tell windows which cursor it using
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

Post Reply