WMP 11 and IE7 slipstreams

Forum to discuss Update Packs created by community members for the various Windows operating systems.
Post Reply
cleverswine
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:29 am

WMP 11 and IE7 slipstreams

Post by cleverswine » Wed Mar 05, 2008 9:07 am

I've been poking around the site for the last couple days and can find hide nor hair of WMP11 and IE7 slipstreams or add-on downloads, even though I've seen them referenced in forum posts.

Can someone tell me how to find these two for download?

User avatar
lespea
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:02 pm

Post by lespea » Wed Mar 05, 2008 9:24 am

WMP11 :: http://web.clicknet.ro/boooggy/


There are two different methods for integrating ie7, read both and choose whichever you like the best (they both work but you can customize the first one a lot more -- see forums)

IE71 :: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4289
IE72 :: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4847

cleverswine
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:29 am

Post by cleverswine » Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:05 am

Thanks very much. Could I ask for a link for slipstreaming .NET 3.0 or 3.5 (whichever is latest), too?

User avatar
lespea
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:02 pm

Post by lespea » Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:49 pm

Well that depends on what you're going to do with it. Are you going to be slipstreaming any apps that require .net 2.0? If so, then you will have to do it in two seperate steps because as of now, you cannot install .net 3.x until after windows is done setting up (after the second reboot).

ChiefZeke
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Victorville, California

Post by ChiefZeke » Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:54 pm

cleverswine wrote:Thanks very much. Could I ask for a link for slipstreaming .NET 3.0 or 3.5 (whichever is latest), too?
Go here: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5657 and download dotnetfxAIO and you'll be in business :D

cleverswine
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:29 am

Post by cleverswine » Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:02 pm

lespea wrote:Well that depends on what you're going to do with it. Are you going to be slipstreaming any apps that require .net 2.0? If so, then you will have to do it in two seperate steps because as of now, you cannot install .net 3.x until after windows is done setting up (after the second reboot).
I thought that installing .NET 3.0 is a replacement for .NET 2.0; i.e., apps that use 2.0 resources will instead make use of 3.0 or 3.5 (depending on which is installed). Is that accurate? In other words, if you install 3.0 you don't need to install 2.0 and 1.0/1.1.

User avatar
lespea
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:02 pm

Post by lespea » Fri Mar 07, 2008 4:50 pm

no, you have to have 1, 2, & 3 (& 3.5) installed.

It Is a Micro$oft product...

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:30 am

cleverswine wrote:I thought that installing .NET 3.0 is a replacement for .NET 2.0; i.e., apps that use 2.0 resources will instead make use of 3.0 or 3.5 (depending on which is installed). Is that accurate? In other words, if you install 3.0 you don't need to install 2.0 and 1.0/1.1.
To be more specific, at least some .NET apps require the exact version of .NET they were written in/for. So we're stuck installing all the .NET versions that any applications use.

A year or more ago, I noticed that under fresh XP installations, the ATI Catalyst driver installations would make use of .NET 2.0 if that's all I had installed, and therefore the driver interface would pop up quicker.

But if I then installed .NET 1.1 or 1.0 (because of some application that explicitely required it), the driver interface would then revert back to using it instead. It was retarded. I had written ATI about this issue but I was ignored as far as replies. I haven't re-installed my old main computer in almost a year now, so I haven't noticed if the driver package still does this.

AFAIK, the official .NET 3.0 installer also installs .NET 2.0. I haven't tried .NET 3.5 so I don't know what that all includes. I haven't actually needed .NET 3.0 on any of my XP machines, but I had noticed how extremely long it took to install, even besides the fact that it installs both 3.0 and 2.0.

Admittedly the computer in question can be called aged now; it's an Athlon XP 1700+, but I do run SATA RAID and have 512MB of RAM so it shouldn't be THAT bad!

Post Reply