[Abandoned] .net 1.1 & 2 integration addon.

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:21 pm

:lol:, now dgelwin knows what it's like being me :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:41 pm

lol. I think dglewin got scared. ;) haha! J/K.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Sun Mar 12, 2006 12:18 am

not scared just very occupied, classes in the morning work at night, and i have to say, knowing what its like that siginet and ryan goes trough, working, studying and maintaining addons, ad update pack and updating the integrator, you are Gods among men.
either that or your using some mix of viagra, ginseng, caffein and gingko biloba that i havent tried yet lol.
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Mon Mar 13, 2006 11:20 am

take a look at netfxocm.inf, it's an installation file for .net 1 written by ms, it's on the XPCD.

User avatar
maniaq
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Lithuania

Post by maniaq » Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:24 am

almost a month began after the first post :rolleyes:

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Fri Mar 17, 2006 2:17 am

yes ive been very busy, sorry about that, but as soon as i get a chance i will try to finsih this project.
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Fri Mar 17, 2006 5:35 am

dgelwin wrote:not scared just very occupied, classes in the morning work at night, and i have to say, knowing what its like that siginet and ryan goes trough, working, studying and maintaining addons, ad update pack and updating the integrator, you are Gods among men.
either that or your using some mix of viagra, ginseng, caffein and gingko biloba that i havent tried yet lol.
Nope... just Viccodin! ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Denney
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:25 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by Denney » Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:49 am

Hey dgelwin, I know you don't like to but would it be possible to upload what you already have so some of us can have a play around with it maybe try and finish it ourselves?

dazkrlauwste
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:53 am

Post by dazkrlauwste » Sat Mar 18, 2006 5:53 am

Indeed!

User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

error T-13

Post by twig123 » Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:09 pm

I as well got the following error:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
C:WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\aspnet_regiis.exe

This application has failed to start because the application
configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this
problem.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

any ETA or anything else we can help test with this pack?
I'm excited for the final addon :)

User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

Post by twig123 » Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:31 pm

I was able to bypass my previous error by removing the startup entie wich is fine for the time being, but I noticed that at the T-12 stage I get a command windows that looks to be registering .net 1.1 components and I get a bunch of 'Operation completed successfully'... for every entry. I can't find where to change these to make them silent, mayb soeone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
Dave

User avatar
Denney
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:25 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by Denney » Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:32 am

@twig123: Take a look in the cmdent.cab file in the I386 directory. Rename the first file to whatever.cmd and edit it in notepad. That's the file that registers stuff I believe.

I haven't tested this since it first came out because i've been waiting for an update so I can't remember off hand what the file is called.

Take a look in the txtsetup.sif file for the filename that needs to be renamed.

User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

Post by twig123 » Wed Mar 22, 2006 7:59 pm

... I just confirmed that the data that I was refering to that needs to be silent matches the data in the cmdent01.dll in the cmdent01.cab file....

@RaveRod - unfortunatly, I was not able to remidy the issue with the given advice.

...any other clues that might help to make the dll (above) silent (@ T-12 stage), instead of showing in a command prompt when they are entered successfully?

Thanks,
Dave

User avatar
Denney
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:25 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by Denney » Thu Mar 23, 2006 7:06 am

@twig123: If you have "cmdow" on your CD, just add it to the "dll" (which is really a .cmd file that gets renamed from .dll to .cmd during setup) file like you normally would (pathtocmdow\CMDOW.exe @ /HID).

That's how most command files are hidden these days.

User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

Post by twig123 » Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:19 pm

Thanks, that worked... I must have missed that the dll was being renamed to a cmd file

good looking out :)

User avatar
maniaq
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Lithuania

Post by maniaq » Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:01 am

another day another hope... :rolleyes:

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:23 am

I have a bad feeling that this project was abandoned. Am I right ?
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

BD5
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 1:17 am
Location: Perth, WA

Post by BD5 » Sun Apr 02, 2006 10:44 pm

not abandoned as such. A whole bunch of us live in eternal hope that dgelwin will come back to finish it, or at the very least, post up what he has done to date, so that someone much smarter than me can finish it off and release it to the masses. :lol:

Damo

User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

Post by twig123 » Tue Apr 04, 2006 1:37 am

any progress? I would really enjoy having this as a working addon...
maybe the creator or someone with more time/knowledge than me could pick up on this project...

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Tue Apr 04, 2006 2:32 am

give dgelwin sum break guys..he must be busy wit his personal life :) ..

User avatar
owikh84
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:13 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Post by owikh84 » Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:32 am

lol,..waiting...
Image

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Apr 04, 2006 9:38 am

Guys, drop it already. You making moronic "still waiting" posts does nothing besides boost your post count. I'm going to start giving people 1 day vacations if I see any more of those types of posts in this thread.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:58 pm

Work on it yourself it you want it so bad.. sheesh.

Draknar
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:55 pm
Location: Twin Ports

Post by Draknar » Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:34 am

Found this webpage---->

http://sereby.german-nlite.de/index.php?cat=addons

And about halfway down you see a cab posted in german

.NET Framework 1.1 + 2.0 Addon-Pack

It been download 870 times.

I took look but files were way over my head.

File size is differnt than this one.

So did german's figure out this before us?

If it works, what will take change to english?

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:50 am

seems like they have done it... dont understand german :(

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:56 am

It's a switchless silent installer pack with both .NET versions. This isn't anything that hasn't been done a while ago.

Draknar
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:55 pm
Location: Twin Ports

Post by Draknar » Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:38 am

Thanks RogueSpear for clear that up.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:48 am

I should have been a bit more concise. It's pretty similar to what dgelwin made previously where .NET 2.0 is given a RunOnceEx entry.

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Wed Apr 05, 2006 2:35 pm

The thing that would be nice about dglewins is it will install much faster. .net 2.0 is very slow at installing... and it uses the runonce. So if dglewin perfects his it should save a lot more time and be hidden from installs. ;)

But obviouslly his life has something important going on right now. So please give him some space till he returns.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sun Apr 16, 2006 8:32 am

I've decided to take this over. I've removed all the obsolete file. The main problem is that the reg section is a mess and need's to be rewritten. So I'll probably release a beta version in a week.

john2003
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:39 am

Post by john2003 » Sun Apr 16, 2006 9:11 am

Great to hear your taking on this task, I have faith you can pull it off!!

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Sun Apr 16, 2006 9:16 am

Thanx, keytotime ! :D
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

superleiw
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:22 am

Post by superleiw » Sun Apr 16, 2006 3:51 pm

very nice, hope you won't encounter any difficulties

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:09 pm

I'll help you out Keytotime if you need some help. Been a while since I worked on any addons... but I think this would be one of the best addons to create.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:22 pm

agree.....

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sun Apr 16, 2006 5:45 pm

removed

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Sun Apr 16, 2006 8:14 pm

Maybe someone could change this really crappy (no offence) title of this topic? It looks very newbie-like and it's not easy to recognize.

@keytotime, you can delete your posts you know, instead of editing it to "removed". Keep up the good work.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Mon Apr 17, 2006 7:42 am

Newsflash. With no reg entry's I got .Net program's to work. I tried ATI CCC and a few other progs. I need some name's of .Net prog's that you guy's use.

User avatar
maniaq
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Lithuania

Post by maniaq » Mon Apr 17, 2006 7:47 am

keytotime wrote:Newsflash. With no reg entry's I got .Net program's to work. I tried ATI CCC and a few other progs. I need some name's of .Net prog's that you guy's use.
paint.NET,Adminstudio :P

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Mon Apr 17, 2006 8:19 am

A lot of .net programs come with enough of the library to run on their own. Desktop Sidebar is a good example also. What's needed are programs that absolutely require the runtime installed. I'm fairly certain that nLite still falls into this category.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:13 am

Ummmm nLite. Has to have .net installed.

Lets see:

Jcarles compression Bin.
MS TimeZone.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Mon Apr 17, 2006 5:14 pm

SyncToy :P

User avatar
maniaq
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Lithuania

Post by maniaq » Wed Apr 26, 2006 11:55 am

.NET Compact Framework Version 2.0 SP1 Beta is released http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Wed Apr 26, 2006 12:55 pm

The Compact Framework really has nothing to do with the .NET runtime 2.0. That link has to do with development of software for PocketPC's, SmartPhones and the like.

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Sun May 07, 2006 5:13 am

keytotime, any progress on this addon ?
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

Sereby
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Germany

Post by Sereby » Sun May 07, 2006 11:43 am

only that you know: i startet few months ago a project where i directly integrate all .net framework files into xp cd! but nothing helps! it dont work for me (more than 700kb reg tweaks) i think my problem was installing the assemblys. if anybody can tell me how to do that it could be possible for me :)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun May 07, 2006 12:38 pm

Windows 2003 Server was once called Windows .NET Server, wasn't it? Does it have .NET slipstreamed? If so, has anyone looked into how MS did it?

User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

Post by twig123 » Mon May 22, 2006 4:41 pm

^^ - I believe it was dubbed .NET Server...

User avatar
Denney
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:25 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by Denney » Wed Jun 21, 2006 5:47 am

Is there anymore progress on this?

I've tried to clean this up myself but it's just a real pain in the arse for me. I just can't seem to get it to work.

I've ended up giving up and now I've got .NET v1.1 and v2.0 installing via SVCPACK.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Jun 21, 2006 9:13 am

windows server 2003 sp1 has .net framework integrated in it. maybe someone can make a search on it...

Post Reply