[Release] Remove Unneeded Windows Components

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Wed Apr 05, 2006 5:24 pm

In Network Connection the Window's Firewall link is hardcoded in. Also the Windows Firewall/ ICS service i needed for Internet Connection sharing and without it your internet will most likely not work.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Fri Apr 07, 2006 7:13 am

I must remove my post about Removal_InternetExplorer_DeleteAddon.When I only use this addon work fine,but when I use it with other addons quick launch not work anymore :oops:

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:12 pm

IE Removal is not worth it, IE can still work.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sat Apr 08, 2006 6:55 am

keytotime wrote:IE Removal is not worth it, IE can still work.
Yes I know,but I like to remove at the most as posible IE files and that shell still working.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Mon Apr 10, 2006 5:09 pm

@keytotime

I'am still with IE removal and I have one guestion:
I made a new IE removal addon,but still have problem with quick launch bar.The folder for quick launch bar is not created during install,but if I manual create this folder:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch
and made in this folder some shortcut the quick launch bar appear at taskbar,so I like to ask you if is posible to add to removal addon to create this folder during install and name "administrator"change to defoult log on user with short cut in it for desktop and how I can do this?

Cheers!

I already find the way,now I must tested it.
Last edited by Rudi1 on Tue Apr 11, 2006 5:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Aserone
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Opioid dependent head.

Post by Aserone » Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:31 am

KTT_WindowsMediaPlayer_DeleteAddon_v1.5.cab don't work, I guess your're aware of this (posted in here before) just want to say that it doesn't work for me neither. It asks for some msnmsg disk.

If I delete msnmsg I can't enter gui-mode. Random stop Error.

Btw I never use nlite. Thanks for great "addons".

//Aserone

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Wed Apr 12, 2006 10:30 pm

Updated File and Transfer

FlyingGleek
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:13 pm

Post by FlyingGleek » Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:29 am

keytotime wrote:Updated File and Transfer
keytotime, thanks for this update... could you verify the MD5 hash is:

3C63FC1834721D51E8A56F4AE4F2701A

Thanks in advance,

Cheers!

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:11 am

Yes that's it. I forgot to update the md5: 3C63FC1834721D51E8A56F4AE4F2701A

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:23 pm

Background Intelligent Transfer&optional NetServices removal
needed if using windows upadate :rolleyes:

http://rapidshare.de/files/17918264/BIT ... n.CAB.html
sum: 2e9dd2ae609d4562f61cca3ec2607567

User avatar
gab
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by gab » Mon May 01, 2006 4:38 pm

ok, this is the right thread

(maybe sticky :) )

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Thu May 04, 2006 2:55 am

Rudi1 wrote:Sorry to say that,but I try your sif and have almost 40 errors
during setup and looks like all network inf files cannot copy during setup.Here is some files which one setup cannot copy:

Code: Select all

netevent.dll;netbrdgm.inf;netbrdgs.inf;netcfghlp;netcis.inf;netclass.inf;netdav.inf;netdefxa.inf;netdgdxs.inf;netbr2w.inf;netcicap;netcb325.inf;netcbe.inf;netcb102.inf;netce2.inf;netce3.inf;netcem28.inf;netcem33.inf;netcem56.inf;netcpqc.inf;netcpqg.inf;netcpgi.inf;netcpgmt.inf;netdlh5x.inf;
nete1000.inf;nete100i.inf;netjxmp.inf;nete1515.inf;nete1574.inf;nete15x9.inf.................................................
Image
Strangely, I got plenty of these same errors on an old machine, whether or not it's due to an old cdrom I haven't fully tested.

I'm currently setting up on a more modern machine and of course a newer cdrom, and first part of copying files to harddisk went through with no errors. let's see how the rest go though.

i'd also like to ask about the windows messenger removal, say i integrate with msn msgr 7.5, will it interfere?

iim currently using the following removals... i'd like to hear comments or possible issues that may come with them:

KTT_DiskCleanup_DeleteAddon.CAB
KTT_IndexSrv_DeleteAddon_1.4.CAB
KTT_WindowsHelp_DeleteAddon_1.2.CAB
Removal_Accessibility_DeleteAddon_v1.4.CAB
Removal_MovieMaker_DeleteAddon_v1.5.CAB
Removal_MSNExplorer_DeleteAddon_v1.7.cab
Removal_Srchasst_Deleteaddon_v1.2.CAB
Removal_WindowsMessanger_DeleteAddon_v1.5.cab
Removal_WindowsTour_DeleteAddon_v1.8.CAB

Please post feedback

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Thu May 04, 2006 3:11 am

2nd phase report. I think it's related to KTT_IndexSrv_DeleteAddon_1.4.CAB

When installing East Asian Language support, it asks for noise.cht and noise.chs

I have no choice but to press cancel and continue setup without them. Will this cause any problems? Will there be a fix for this?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu May 04, 2006 11:04 am

thumb rule :once setup gives you an error : it means u should start with a fresh copy
using escape button can't help cause the setup is allready broken :againe: once setup gives you an error its a chain of errors .
*leaving removals for :last: or if you want to test use an integrated update pack and backup the I386 folder to save some time
dont worry about noise.cht and noise.chs because ie installs lang additions just fine
Last edited by ENU_user on Thu May 04, 2006 11:22 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu May 04, 2006 11:08 am

removed
Last edited by ENU_user on Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu May 04, 2006 2:51 pm

removed
Last edited by ENU_user on Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Aserone
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Opioid dependent head.

Post by Aserone » Fri May 05, 2006 4:09 am

I've begun looking thru these. Found one broken del-addon sofar.

In KTT_WindowsHelp_DeleteAddon_1.2:

Code: Select all

HIVEDEF.INF|HKCU,"Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer","NoDriveTypeAutoRun",0x00010001,145|HKCU,"Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer","NoDriveTypeAutoRun",0x00010001,145<next>HKCU,"Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer","NoSMHelp",0x00010001,1||1
Too many "pipes" four of 'em, it's supposed to add not remove.

Fixed version here: KTT_WindowsHelp_DeleteAddon_1.3.cab
MD5: 32896346A7CE1EF6514328DAB1B436CA

Will keep looking. And hopefully expand on these aswell.
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Fri May 05, 2006 6:27 am

Nice post Aserone :lol: ,becouse looks like this stuff is no update anymore.
If you can improve this remove addons,maybae you can add some new one too :lol: I really like this remove addons,becouse I can integrate Ryan update pack and remove what I don't need and procedure is much faster then nLite!

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Fri May 05, 2006 8:02 am

I'm just busy. That is not a bug. It is used to set a policy that hides the help button on the start menu. It is needed unless you wnat a dead link on your start Menu. Please google before reporting a feature as a bug. There are no more updates because 1) I'm really busy. 2) What is there to update?

User avatar
Aserone
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Opioid dependent head.

Post by Aserone » Fri May 05, 2006 8:58 am

keytotime wrote:I'm just busy. That is not a bug. It is used to set a policy that hides the help button on the start menu. It is needed unless you wnat a dead link on your start Menu. Please google before reporting a feature as a bug. There are no more updates because 1) I'm really busy. 2) What is there to update?
Maybe you didn't read my post? I CLEARLY said you used to many "|" in that line, you should count them. (i'm weeell aware of what it's supposed to do). Which makes it a bug/error easily fixed by removing one "|" at the end.

Maybe you should read Defining Entries.ini or you could always google it. :rolleyes:

So you know what your talking about. I'm continuing to fix a couple more del addons.
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.

suhochunsah
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:54 am

Post by suhochunsah » Sat May 20, 2006 4:58 pm

the Tour removal addon has a minor bug I believe... I got the Tour notification in my system tray.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sat May 20, 2006 5:40 pm

If Keytotime add this reg key to remove addon,this baloon is gone :lol:



[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets\Tour]
"RunCount"=dword:00000000
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets\Tour]
"RunCount"=dword:00000000

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat May 20, 2006 6:27 pm

you can edit\copy this line to the end of entrie.ini to avoid notification popup

Code: Select all

hivesft.inf|HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets\DeluxeCD\Providers\Provider0001","ProviderLogo",0x00020002,"%SystemRoot%\System32\n2k.bmp"|HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets\DeluxeCD\Providers\Provider0001","ProviderLogo",0x00020002,"%SystemRoot%\System32\n2k.bmp"<NEXT>HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets\Tour","RunCount",0x00010003,0|1
cheers

suhochunsah
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:54 am

Post by suhochunsah » Sun May 21, 2006 5:26 am

Ah, I see.. if I add that line, would it be same method as nlite's tour removal?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun May 21, 2006 2:38 pm

yes : far as i know extra edits wroks with RVM_Integrator only
here is ready for use :
http://rapidshare.de/files/21037013/wTo ... n.CAB.html

User avatar
DeathKnight
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 1:57 am
Location: Utah

Post by DeathKnight » Sun May 21, 2006 8:17 pm

Thanks for your hard work keytotime it is great that took the time to do this for us, however, I am having an issue with during the installation of windows. When I integrate the Windows messenger removal addon it says that it cannot find msmsgs.msi during the installation. I was wondering if you could please correct this (or tell me how to compile my own so that I can correct it :P). I do Thank you for your time and hope a solution will present itself. If you request additional information please let me know!
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better id***-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning.
- Rich Cook

suhochunsah
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:54 am

Post by suhochunsah » Tue May 23, 2006 5:32 am

ENU_user wrote:yes : far as i know extra edits wroks with RVM_Integrator only
here is ready for use :
http://rapidshare.de/files/21037013/wTo ... n.CAB.html
Thank you very much, I will test it out with my next iso build

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Tue May 23, 2006 1:34 pm

ExtraFileEdits has a bug in it that will be fixed in the next release of the integrator. If you use any Environment Variables in ExtraFileEdits they are currently parsed. But in the next release they won't.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Wed May 24, 2006 12:53 pm

ENU_user wrote:yes : far as i know extra edits wroks with RVM_Integrator only
here is ready for use :
http://rapidshare.de/files/21037013/wTo ... n.CAB.html

Hmmm strange,when i use my reg in my ISO the try baloon is gone,but with your corrected addon the baloon is still there :rolleyes:

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed May 24, 2006 8:35 pm

changed to fit diff versions of xp with no Environment Variables in extraedits

Code: Select all

hivesft.inf|HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets",,0x00000012|HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets\Tour","RunCount",0x00010003,0<NEXT>HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets",,0x00000012|1
http://rapidshare.de/files/21310068/w.T ... n.CAB.html

cheers

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Thu May 25, 2006 10:52 am

Yeah,Thx ENU_user !Now works fine :lol:

Also I like to say about Siginet post of ExtraFileEdits bug.When the final Integrator will be out some remove addons need to be fixed.In the old integrator work well,but when this ExtraFileEdits bug has be fixed some remove addons will make a trouble.

Removal_AutomaticUpdates_DeleteAddon_v1.5.cab this is the one.If you use it with new Integrator will made a trouble with network connections or maybae depend on the other removal?

Cheers!

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu May 25, 2006 4:05 pm

AutomaticUpdates
updated to 1.6
36374E4A5526AB76A97F4A1F7C341D38

Wallpapers
desktop Wallpapers ;SamplePics; Music
10689BEE1273FFB0BA17C6B191D2DBA1

Accessories
wordpad;CharMap;Templates;Clipbook;Deskpaper;MousePointers;ScreenSavers
88B5FF9CC0E6F1406E51BDD4577424E1

[Request] can someone recommend a good wordpadAddon replacement that has file extennsion assoc within
tnx !

User avatar
Aserone
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Opioid dependent head.

Post by Aserone » Thu May 25, 2006 4:09 pm

ENU_user wrote:[Request] can someone recommend a good wordpadAddon replacement that has file extennsion assoc within
tnx !
Yeah, try this Abiword.

Small efficient, and free. ;)
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu May 25, 2006 4:12 pm

fast reply!
thanks Foxy :P

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Thu May 25, 2006 5:56 pm

Congratulation ENU_user,now AutomaticUpdates 1.6 work fine! :lol:

ron2024
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 5:58 am
Location: IL

Post by ron2024 » Fri May 26, 2006 7:01 am

Hey Aserone thanks for the link to AbiWord, now maybe someone can turn this into a Program Addon with
all the plugins, hint, hint. Although some of the plugins might be somewhat challenging or have to be left out
since you have to be connected to the internet to finish installing them.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed May 31, 2006 9:59 am

Securitycenter+AutoUpdate+firewal
fixed firewall removal that was still showing up ,set security to disable blocking ports during setup
are local ports still being blocked on a real machine : not tested ,VM : ok
EF16CF9C97D6F80C7FD885A4035C03F5

QuickLaunchFix
when removing ie ,quicklaunch dir is not created
130D300CBA53B5E8A9BFA459E896B210

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Wed May 31, 2006 1:16 pm

Sorry to say that,but Quick launch fix not work for me,you must use this patch and then will work:
"%USERPROFILE%\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch"

also the windows update is still at control panel and when click in it run the IE explorer window even if I'am remove IE

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Wed May 31, 2006 2:49 pm

Anyone wanna make a notepad removal?

And as an additive, we can use notepad2 as a replacement?

It seems simple enough, but there's a matter of removing registry entries so that rt.click->print doesn't show up on text files (since notepad2 doesn't take kindly to "print").

fearphage
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Post by fearphage » Thu Jun 22, 2006 4:16 pm

Is there some utility or method used to get a list of the service's or component's file dependencies and support files? I am trying to make an addon to remove the telnet server service. I have a list of a few files that the service is using and uses but I'm not sure if this list is complete. Where would I find such information?
Where there is fear, wisdom cannot dwell.

Image

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:18 pm

You could probably use SysInternal's Process Explorer to get that information if you have the service running.

User avatar
Denney
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:25 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by Denney » Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:27 am

This is an awesome thread. I may contribute one day. I just want to say thanks to the authors of these plugins.

Removes my need to use nLite now (cause of the extra crap it removes...).

fearphage
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Post by fearphage » Fri Jun 30, 2006 3:57 pm

RogueSpear wrote:You could probably use SysInternal's Process Explorer to get that information if you have the service running.
This is not the case. Process explorer shows no relation of tlntsvr.exe (actual service process) to tlntsess.exe, tlntadmn.exe or even tlntsvrp.dll.

I am working on an addon to remove this. It is a security risk at best.
Where there is fear, wisdom cannot dwell.

Image

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Fri Jun 30, 2006 4:02 pm

This is actually one of the few things that I depend on nLite for now (telnet server removal). Disabling that service isn't enough for me depending on the role of the computer.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat Jul 01, 2006 7:26 am

these where incomplete or wrong
now updated

MSNExplorer
0E3E82C5C0F945DD8F0DEFB4A44AB666

wMessanger
402DDA05F90AF9FEE548C1AF54479D63

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:29 am

can sb update first post with newer releases, please.
thanx a ton for all effors spent on these removals guys.

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:47 pm

If KTT doesn't get to it and nobody else feels like it, I could do so.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:02 am

Zacam wrote:If KTT doesn't get to it and nobody else feels like it, I could do so.
Please do it Zacam,becouse the new Integrator 1.3 is out now and some remove addons really need to be updated and looks like that keytotime is a busy with his real life :)

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:57 am

Actually, Rudi1, I was referring to MrNxDmx's request to have the main post updated.

I'm contemplating having a go at the addons themselves, but I think there are other people perhaps more qualified and skilled to do that than I. Add to the fact that I don't want to overload myself either by bitting off more than I can chew. Suffice to say, I'm looking at them, and if it turns out I get one done before someone else does, I'll share it.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Thu Jul 06, 2006 4:35 pm

Zacam wrote:If KTT doesn't get to it and nobody else feels like it, I could do so.
glad to hear this, thanx

Post Reply